We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Old Québec city”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had been to Québec city before, even in Old Québec, but staying right there and walking all over the place was fabulous. Even the rain couldn't damper our spirits, we just huddled under the umbrella! :D
The Maison du Fort and our hostess Marielle made our stay even more unforgettable. Her warm hospitality is contagious and she made us feel welcome.
I will recommend this to anyone I know who plans to travel to Québec city. We would really love to go back.
Thanks Marielle!
Gisèle & René

Room Tip: We had room #5 and really enjoyed although my first choice would have been room #10. Maybe we'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jzel_Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 796 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from a glorious weekend here - can't say enough wonderful things about our experience in Quebec City and our stay at the charming Maison du Fort. This lovely home is in an excellent location, it's super clean and has so much personality! Thank you, Marielle, for your hospitality - we look forward to returning to the Maison du Fort when we next visit your lovely city!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was a fantastic hotel, super romantic and charming. The wife and I loved it and it was worth the stairs for the view. Cant wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Park your car in the convenient garage and enjoy the walled city on foot. Two blocks from the river and only a few blocks to the funicular, shopping and restaurants. We came for the Winter Carnival and we will be back, to the Carnival and the Maison du Fort. Marielle and her hotel are gems!

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 . . . it is large with a bay window filled with morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mcteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was a wonderful find for our winter 2012 vacation. The house is located just behind the Chateau Frontenac and within view of the Saint Lawrence River. We just parked the car for the duration of our stay and enjoyed the convenience of being right in the heart of Vieux Quebec and being able to explore the city on foot. It is a truly engaging city.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, each room having its unique colour scheme and feel, and each immaculately clean, newly decorated and comfortable. We stayed in Room 10 on the third floor which is a large room with great views - highly recommended. Marielle, the owner is delightful and makes you feel so at home. Having lived her entire life in Quebec she is also a fund of information which she willingly shares. She goes out of her way to make your stay memorable, which ours was, and we definitely intend to revisit in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room 10 is spacious and being on the 3rd floor is high enough to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Amanda777_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

There was a three-floor climb with our suitcases, there was a 5-minute walk from the car park, and the street sounds were a bit noisy for us rural folks the first night. Everything else was well over the top and the hotel was a most pleasurable place to stay. We will stay there again!
The walking accessibility from here around the old city was perfect -- didn't need the car for three days! The proprietor was most helpful and enriched our stay. We chose the room on the top floor because we fell in love with it from the online info and were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: The top floor was the most expensive but not by a whole lot and it really was gorgeous! The views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MGB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Just the same great place as it was four years ago, except the weather is better! My family has stayed in the large room at the top of the hotel both times, and loved every bit, from the decor to the beds you just do not want to leave, not to mention the great hostess. This hotel has trancended ordinary hotels so become something so much more, a perfect home away from home and base of operations for exploring Quebec City.

Room Tip: Top room is worth the 52 stairs needed to get up to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $140 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing