We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place close to the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
Ranked #7 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place close to the old town”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the lovely romantic yellow room. The room is clean, with enough space for luggage.
On the same floor there is a large beautiful bathroom, and a washroom to share with the other guests.
Breakfast is delicious with lots of home made jams and you can't miss Patricia lovely cooking.
Patricia is also a wonderful owner, always smiling, and helping us for everything we needed.
The B&B is not far from the centre, just 15 minutes by walk. The main road is also full of shops, bars, and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ombretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    41
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
112
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay, wish we had a couple more nights here. It is located on a back street near Rue St. Jean which has many restaurants and shops. The Inn is only short walk from the walled old town and its historic buildings. The shared bath was no problem as it is well maintained and there are only 3 rooms sharing both a full bath and a 1/2 bath. There is limited parking on the street, so we just paid to park at a nearby hotel and walked everywhere.
Patricia was a wonderful innkeeper, always smiling, and helping us with our very weak French. Her breakfasts were awesome (and not too heavy). We enjoyed bowls of creamy homemade yogurt, fruit juice blends in cocktail glasses, yummy French press coffee, and paper-thin crepes with preserves and Canadian maple syrup.
Her recommendation of Le Hobbit restaurant nearby for a dinner was spot on.
I would stay here again when we next visit.

Room Tip: The Blue Room was a nice choice, open window to an outdoor sitting area/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here for five days with my wife and daughter during our first visit to Quebec City, and we were all thrilled with Gite Au Croissant de Lune. This charming home is situated just a few steps from a major street brimming with restaurants and boutiques (including Tutto Gelato, a gelateria that so outshines our favorite in Chicago that we made it a daily stop), and it's an easy walk into the Old City.

Our accommodations, "The Green Room," were really two green rooms perfectly configured to allow my daughter her own space while my wife and I had a little privacy in the room above hers, at the top of the stairs in the converted attic. Though the full bathroom is shared, there is a powder room handily situated directly next to it, so any inconvenience was minimal.

Patricia was a lovely hostess, always smiling and helpful, accommodating to our late check-in, and adept at whipping up terrific (and not too heavy) breakfasts: we were greeted in the mornings with bowls of creamy homemade yogurt, festive fruit juice blends in cocktail glasses, hot mugs of French-press coffee, and paper-thin crepes with preserves and Canadian maple syrup.

We would definitely stay at this property again, and encourage others visiting Quebec City to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Necr0mancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highlights of our 3 day stay: The owner Patricia was welcoming and a good cook. Breakfast included French press coffee, homemade yogurt, and crepes which were all delicious. The B&B was very clean and in a great location. Only 10 minutes from the walled city and close to a small market, pubs, and restaurants. I would stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the end of June, I travelled to Quebec City by train from Montreal and stayed three nights at Git Au Croissant De Lune. Tucked away in street parallel to Rue St Jean the B&B is a gorgeous house with large rooms and a whole lot of charm. Patricia and her family are new hosts and were absolutely lovely - very helpful with what to do, see, and how to get around town. Breakfasts were delicious, particularly the crepes and the freshly squeezed juices. The location is fantastic. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and sights but also nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. I would recommend Gite Au Croissant de Lune to anyone planning to visit Quebec City and after a home away from home.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were some of the first people to stay here after the change in owners. I was originally a bit put off because we had not been notified that the owners had switched since we booked, as part of the reason we chose the place was the great reviews of the old owners! However the new hosts were lovely, and breakfast was delicious - I was not disappointed. The place was very clean and homey. It was also very conveniently located, and I was happy to be out near the trendy rue st. jean rather than inside the walls of the old city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed three nights, my 13 years old daugther and I, in early July 2013. We both truly enjoyed our stay. Mu daugther immediately said to me how good she felt in this place. It is a very charming place. The room and bed were nice and confortable. Breakfast was good (lovely juice!)and generous ! The place is quiet and perfectly located (right by 'les portes St-Jean'), We parked the car at a few streets from there for the whole three days and enjoyed walking to all the places we wanted to visit in the old town. The hosts are great and made us feel at ease. Since they are travellers, we had some great discussions! Strongly recommended ;-) !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Au Croissant de Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Au Croissant de Lune

Property: Gite Au Croissant de Lune
Address: 594 rue St-Gabriel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gite Au Croissant de Lune 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1996 in a quaint quarter of Quebec City. Nearby the St-Jean Street, lively thoroughfare of Old Quebec and located just beside the Convention Center. A bed & breakfast that makes the difference for your tourism and business travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Gite Au Croissant de Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Hotel Quebec City
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing