We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular cafe outside the city walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Krieghoff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cafe Krieghoff
Ranked #72 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Popular cafe outside the city walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Smoked salmon bagel was impeccable but not cheap at 12.95, washed down with a glass of good rose at 6.50. Eggs benedict at 14.95 was good, but again rather expensive. Not the only cafe in the neighbourhood, but certainly the most popular. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
27
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booking this one last minute I was worried as I hadn't been able to do research prior to arriving. I was very pleasantly surprised and content. In a very safe and active street in a walk up to the 2nd floor from the restaurant. The room was more than adequate and although the private bathroom was across the hall this was a none issue. Although fully booked, I couldn't hear the other guests. Walking distance to the Old city.

The restaurant below is fantastic! I ate there for dinner and for the included breakfast. Wonderful!

Sure the bathroom isn't the most modern and you won't be wowed by the interior or the walkup if you have luggage (its steep). BUT, with the pluses mentioned and the lower price which includes a great breakfast, you won't be disappointed in this little gem of a B & B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottogetaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I travel to Quebec City regularly for business. I booked two rooms this summer out of desperation - my usual places were all booked up. What a pleasant surprise! The rooms were quite spacious, amazingly clean and recently renovated. The neighbourhood is popular with locals yet within walking distance of many main attractions - if you are a good walker, that is :-) It is very quiet at night. Breakfast is served at the downstrairs restaurant. Not the cheapest hotel in town, but it strikes a nice balance betwwen the charm of the old and the comfort of the new.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel with few rooms. The "staff" can be found in the restaurant below. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1963_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have been coming here to the Café Krieghoff for years, but have been there for the last time. We ordered Montreal Smoked Meat with fries - both were cold and in small portions, Club sandwich - made with poor quality ham and cold toast, and a yoghurt-based breakfast (average, at best). We were charged $2.00 for an extra plate so that my 80-year mother-in-law could share with us - an affront to her dignity to say the least. Service, while good, did not stand out in a city known for its excellence. Québec is known for its cuisine and service - you can do better by going elsewhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adsum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Being used to hotels with ground floor receptions and elevators, it came as a shock one very wet May evening in Quebec city when our cab stopped outside Hotel Krieghoff and we saw the outside stairs up which we had to lug our transatlantic weight cases. Things didn't get off to an auspicious start but it got better.
This bijou hotel and cafe/restaurant is somewhere we would recommend, a real jewel in a city that took us by (pleasant) surprise. Its quirky (most bedrooms appear to have non-suite bathrooms - we had room 3) we expected tea and coffee facilities (although it was free in the first floor reception in the mornings), there weren't any wardrobes to speak of yet its somewhere we would stay a second time.
The cafe on the ground floor is superb and the included breakfast was to die for, the only short falling being that the proprietress doesn't allow laptops or tablets in the verandah area.
Bed was comfortable, WiFi free and good, food excellent, reception and service second to none, location wonderful (in a street of boutique style shops) and it was only a mile outside the historic centre of Quebec City itself.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, don't go, but if you are happy with them then all rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in the Café Krieghoff for some sightseeing in Québec City. We liked the surrondings of the B&B: The neighborhood is very lively with a lot of restaurants, cafés, boutiques and bars. However, it is not directly close to the major attractions (the walk to the old city is around 20 min). With some luck, free parking is possible in the nearby streets (only from 3:30 pm to 10:30 am). Café Krieghoff offers accomodation above the café/ bistro. Our room was big, quiet and nicely furnished incl. a modern bathroom. The view to the backyard was not "scenic", but ok. The cleanliness could have been better - the bathroom floor was sticky, the bedroom was ok. The room rate included a breakfast in the café below of up to 10$ pp, which covered a good continental or even hot breakfast. All in all, it was a good choice, but in comparison to other hotels/ B&Bs in Canada (incl. Montreal and Toronto), we found Café Krieghoff quite expensive (179,-$ + tax).

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

10 minutes walking from the heart of Quebec city this amazing place with a cafeteria is the perfect place to choose.
Rooms are neat and tidy with all that you may need for a perfect staying, bathroom is really like your own and bed are very big and comfortable.
Suggestion: ask for room #2
cafeteria downstairs is a very nice place for a perfect breakfast to kick off your day
The chef is good and eggs, croissants, muffins are all delicious
Staff is kind and polite

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Manoir De La Tour
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Montcalm
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Relais Charles-Alexandre
#19 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Le Widor Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Krieghoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Krieghoff

Property: Cafe Krieghoff
Address: 1091 Cartier Ave | near Fraser, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Montcalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cafe Krieghoff 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cafe Krieghoff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Krieghoff Hotel Quebec City
Cafe Krieghoff Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing