We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service, central locale”
Review of Hippocampe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippocampe Hotel
Reviewed October 20, 2013

overall excellent. the place is very quiet and within walking distance (10~15 minutes) of many, many major sights and restaurants. my room actually had a bit of view of the old city, which was nice. as others have said, it's not really cruise-y if you don't want it to be. but it has everything if you are into that kinda thing. decor in the room is quite cozy. service is good; i asked the front desk person, danny, a whole bunch of questions and then some and he was more than detailed and friendly. he even volunteered a lot of unsolicited info about the city.

(and it's just a 15 minute walk away from the bus/train terminal, making hopping to/from montreal a breeze.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kawai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Hippocampe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was there during the Labor Day week-end, in fact I spent only one night in Québec City having gone on a whim on Sunday morning.
Rooms were all booked in the inn part but there was many roomettes available in the bathouse section.
For a gay person just wanting to spend a night on the cheap side this is more than ok i... You bring earplugs! Cost me around $25 for 12 hours and I had in and out priviledges.
Of course access to the steam room, dry sauna and whirlpool. Even if you are not on a cruising expedition and not looking for company that can be an interesting place to just relax, particularly your sore feet once you have walked all the ups and down in the Old City.

Room Tip: There are some double roomettes if you are a couple and cannot go to the inn.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hippocampe's main advantage is the location, which is a 10 minutes walk up from the bus & train station in Quebec City, and it's in the old town area just the back of Rue St Jean. The room is of decent size, nicely designed, with comfortable bed & pillows. This is not a B&B inn, so no breakfast is given. But two disposable coffee cubes are placed in the room, plus two bottles of water. On my second day, the housekeeper did not replace any of these items. There is no phone line, no reception in this hotel, but I got hold of the housekeeper who was doing another room. He promptly gave me 2 coffee cubes, but not the water. BTW, this is not a cheap hotel to begin with, so I expected more reliable service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I can't say enough positives about this hotel! Firstly, the location doesn't get any better-not only is it in old town, so close to all the sights and great restaurants, it is adjacent to a historic park on a quiet street. That alone made the room rate good value. Add to that a clean and well appointed room & common area - tastefully decorated with all amenities. On top of the location and room, was the great hospitality provided by Richard and his staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCR-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2nd-floor ultra clean & modern suite with bedroom & living room, with welcome air conditioning. Free Krups coffee and orange juice in the communal kitchen was a nice touch, something you find in the 4- and 5-star hotels. Staff was very friendly and spoke both English and French fluently, which was a relief to traveling Americans. 24-hour access to sauna / spa below is very convenient, and afternoons between 1pm and 5pm seem to be the sweet spot for group activities, but one can easily walk 20 minutes downtown to the other spa for a different crowd (note: ask if there are any "special discounts" at the downtown spa... as they go unadvertised). Hotel is located within blocks of the old walled fortifications of old Quebec City, and near all the major tourist attractions. Parking is convenient here at Hippocampe; just ask the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my second visit to Hotel Hippocampe and won't be my last, god willing. The hotel is located in the old city just a block from restaurants and shops. The hotel contains a sauna with steam and hottub and very friendly customers. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

I had a small suite with living room and bedroom and bath. It was right next door to the communal kitchen. Great coffee, water, and juice available. I meet several very friendly hotel and sauna guests and had drinks/conversations/plus.

Oh, that Hippocampe was nearer to where I live!!!

Room Tip: While I stayed in a small suite this time and a larger one last year, the single rooms are very nice...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnChamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner and I just spent a wonderful night at this hotel. The rooms were clean and modern with all the needed amenities. We took a Regular+ room which had a private bathroom with a great spacious shower. The room was quiet and well soundproofed. Coffee and Orange Juice were complementary. There is direct access from the hotel rooms to the Sauna facilities which include a whirlpool, a dry sauna, wet sauna, showers, lockers etc. The hotel rooms and suites are situated on the top 2 floors and have a separate entrance from the Sauna.
It was our first time at a Gay Hotel and we enjoyed it thoroughly, especially with the lack of kids, teens and large groups of tourists. It was quite peaceful and relaxing.

The location was fantastic. It was a 10 min walk from the train and located inside the walls of Old Quebec, on a quiet peaceful street but only a lock away from the main shopping street, Rue St.-Jean. It is also very close to the trendy Quartier St.-Roch area and the restaurants of the Basse-Ville (Lower Town)/Vieux-Port (Old Port).

The best part was the service. Each employee was wonderfully courteous and went that extra mile to make our stay feel extremely comfortable. They even offered to keep our bags and let us use the Sauna facilities on the house after we had checked out. We had walked around all afternoon on a hot day and it was great to be able to clean off before we travelled home.

We will definitely stay here again and we definitely recommend this hotel to all Gay male travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippocampe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippocampe Hotel

Address: 31 Rue McMahon, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hippocampe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hippocampe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippocampe Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing