We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gite Confort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gite Confort
Ranked #2 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Gite Confort is situated approximately 15-20 minutes drive from the city centre. My husband and I particularly liked the location, which was in a quiet, residential area. The first thing that caught my attention was how clean the house was (which was kept to the same standard for the entire duration of our stay). Each morning, we were served a rather varied continental breakfast, and Mario even made really yummy french toast for us on the weekend! The best thing about staying at a place like Gite Confort was the interaction with the hosts and the personal touch that they brought to our very first Quebec city experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennieP218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just have reserved by phone for a long weekend a room in that B&B in Quebec City. Because we wanted to try the number-one B&B of Quebec City. On the website of Gite Confort the owners had shown many pictures of the Old City of Quebec and we had the impression, their B&B is just in walking distance to the historic quarter.

But as we arrived in the afternoon at about 4 PM, we drove directly to this B&B. The rush-hour did not help us to find the adress. It was written, the B&B "gite confort" is situated in the center of Quebec City. But finally it took more than one hour to find the adress.

The B&B itself is situated a long way outside in an residential area, where they don't have any boardwalks. Let's say in the wilderness. In addition the house itself was like a workers class weekend house, no welcoming decoration outside. We just turned our car instantly back to the uptown-city, where we found another nice B&B in that beautiful city of Quebec.

Still nobody has still mentioned any single word about their situation. Because we travelled a lot and, for example, if we travelled to London/UK, we didn't want to sleep in Barnet, if we travelled to Rome/Italy, we didn't wanted to sleep in Ostia, if we travelled to Munich/Germany, we never booked a B&B in Dachau and when we travelled to Toronto, we didn't want to rest in Oshawa or for a last example - in Paris/France neither in Torcy nor Montmorency.

All that to say that the B&B is too far away from the city, there were no restaurants in walking distance, no shops, no pharmacy, no convenient stores, only trees - it is neither helpful for a comfortable accomodation nor for a pleasant stay. We just wanted to correct that wrong information policy of this B&B for other guests, exspecially from outside Canada.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
17 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Propriétaire at Gite Confort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Google Translation
Nous trouvons dommage qu'un voyageur ( dont l'avis avait déjà été retiré 2 fois auparavant ) qui n'a jamais mis les pieds chez nous, puisse laisser un avis sur le point Emplacement et Qualité/Prix. Et ce, pour la 3e fois.

Pourquoi cette fois-ci n'est t-il pas retiré comme les 2 premières fois ? À force d'essai, même un avis excessif peut donc passer ?

Comment quelqu'un peut juger de la Qualité et du Prix s'il n'a jamais ouvert la porte de notre gîte ?

Concernant l'emplacement, Peter T. affirme que notre site donne l'impression que nous sommes tout près de la vieille ville de Québec et qu'on pourrait y aller à pied. Il n'y a rien de plus faux. Dès la première page, nous indiquons bien que le Gîte Confort est situé à 14 minutes du centre ville de Québec et à moins de 4 km du Lac Beauport dans un site entouré de nature.

Désolé que ce genre d'avis soit accepté sans que le voyageur n'ait habité le gîte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The house is situated in a quiet neighborhood, very close to the highway but not so close to have noise. You can get to the city center in a few minutes. It is near the Boulvard du Lac with mountains and spas all around, and near an excellent cafe and boulangerie. Part of the reason to visit another place is to meet the people, and it was a pleasure to meet Richard and Mario. The accommodations themselves are clean, beautiful, well-organized, and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfklein13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed 3 days with my 2 sons at Gite Confort, and could not have had a better experience. Richard and Mario are wonderful hosts, thoughtful, well organized and reasonable. They could not do have done more to make us feel at home. They have arranged an entire section of the house for their guests so as to include a kitchen, dining and living area which they encourage guests to use "as if they were at home". They have obviously given a great deal of thought to how the space is arranged and decorated. and they maintain it meticulously. They are very thoughtful. I mentioned that we were spending time in Quebec partly to allow my sons some exposure to the French language and Richard very graciously and patiently conversed with us in French though it was very clear his English was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jia-daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were looking for a place in Quebec City to stay for a couple of weeks so our daughter could practice her French. We found Gîte Confort and were not disappointed. We rented 2 rooms but were given an entire side of the house that included a large deck, a living room, a breakfast room with full size refrigerator, microwave, oven, etc. Our fridge was re-stocked EACH DAY with ice cold juices, milk, water, and yogurts for the entire 12 days of our stay! The home is meticulously maintained and beautifully decorated with many of Richard’s artworks. Every room is spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The Gîte is also equipped with a massage room – we took advantage of the professional masseuse and were very pleased with the convenience. From our arrival to our departure our hosts were not just gracious but extremely generous, attentive but not intrusive.

Per our request, Richard and Mario took time out of their busy schedule to sit with us for breakfast every morning so that we could practice our French (A gesture that was greatly appreciated!) We felt completely at home from the moment we walked in to the time we had to say good bye. A very pleasant stay that totally exceeded our expectations.

Richard et Mario, merci pour votre accueil si chaleureux et un séjour merveilleux dans votre maison, très belle, très propre, très agréable. Tout a été au-delà de nos attentes. Chambres hyper confortables et chics, nos petits déjeuners étaient vraiment délicieux. Vous avez pensé à tout… et tout est parfait!

Si l’aventure nous étions amènes à revenir un jour au Québec, il ne fait pas aucun doute que nous passions encore quelques… semaines :) chez vous!

Nous recommandons fortement ce gîte, sans hésitation.

Room Tip: Every room is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cbVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was a great pleasure to stay at the Gite Confort the place is beautiful very very clean and talk about been spoil the host were just wonderful . I recommended this b&b to everyone who deserve a weekend of pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This B&B was a complete delight. Immaculately clean, our host was very gracious, charming and completely delightful. Attention to detail - great breakfast, lots of snacks/movies/anything you could want. Felt completely at home. Richard even shoveled snow out of the driveway for us! Perfect place to stay to sightsee Quebec as long as you have a car. What a pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kantrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Le Gite du Hu-Art
#4 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Confort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Confort

Property: Gite Confort
Address: 30 rue Audubon, Quebec City, Quebec G2M 1A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gite Confort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Lac Beauport, this bed and breakfast (B & B)is a place for relaxation.Nearby are many exciting activitiespracticing both winter and summer.Whether the room 1 or 2, each of which offers a comfortwith a large closet with shelves, bathrobes, work desk,HD LED TV with Blu-wired Ray connected to the Internet.You can book a room for $ 85 per night, including continental breakfast,or select 2 for $ 160 and have exclusive access to the cottage.Please contact us for our special prices for several days.Full kitchen: stove, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, microwave oven,cookware, dishes and more, allowing you to use the cottage as a cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gite Confort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Confort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing