We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed two nights @ the Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis before boarding a cruise ship. A quick $30 cab ride from the airport delivered us inside the walls of Old Quebec City. We were cordially greeted by the long-time owner, Mademoissele Donais, and quickly made our way to our assigned room #8 so that we could begin exploring the city. Outstanding location...close proximity to very good restaurants & museums and approximately halfway between the Chateau Frontenac (easy 5 minute walk) and the Plains of Abraham (site of famous battle). Room #8 was very nice...clean, comfortable, and quiet (you'd be wise to close windows before falling asleep) on the 3rd floor with 2 windows to view the street below. Absolutely LOVED the owner's version of french toast for breakfast! After 2 wonderful nights, we exited the front door with our bags and walked about 20 feet (toward Chateau Frontenac) and waited for the Ecolobus to take us to the port in order to board the cruise ship. The Ecolobus is a small electric bus which operates in Old Quebec City and is a bargain for getting around this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for reviewing the Hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis. We're always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    87
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
385
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill,Ma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this beautiful city at this wonderful inn. It was a feeling when you walk in the front door that you take a step back in time...in a beautiful way. The home was located on St Louis street within walking distance of everything. A 5 minute walk through the arches and take a elevator ride (or walk down) to the beautiful old cobblesone streets of old Quebec at the boardwalk Frontenac and a spectacular view of the St Lawrence River. The terraces had just opened the night before and it was so hard to choose one restaurant over the other. The food was very pricey but delicious..it seemed the same on each menu for price. We took a horse and carriage ride around the city with a lovely young man Frederick. At only 21, he had all of the old history of this beautiful city and graciously shared it throughout the ride. The city was a buzz with graduations and proms and wedding celebrations. We sat at terrace for dinner and you could hardly eat with everything going on to watch around you. Our room (2 couples) were beautifully decorated old style with tall 4 poster beds and a small table with a beautiful teapot and cups. It had the old wooden shutters on the beautiful tall windows that you could shut at night.It was very quiet at night even with all the nightlife going on outside. The bathroom was very modern with a jacuzzi tub, very clean. The breakfast each morning was prepared by the owner of this lovely home, with soft music playing, she prepared the most delicious french toast and fresh fruit...it was so good I had it both days. We walked everywhere, enjoying several street performances including a harpist and guitar players. It was such a beautiful experience being there, we wished we could have stayed longer. We also visited St Anne's Basilica which was in the middle of a very busy business section about a 15 minute drive outside the city. There was a Mass going on and the choir was so lovely. We were glad we visited there. Overall, the best experience of our 8 day trip across Canada.

Room Tip: We had a room almost across from the desk and they shut a door in between and we never heard a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of our hotel and your experiences in Quebec City. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Le Clos St-Louis is a beautiful, character-rich boutique style hotel within the fortified walls of Old Quebec City. Located on a pretty street with great restaurants, it is only a 5-minute walk to the lovely views of the St. Lawrence River, the boardwalk at the Chateau Frontenac and the funicular to the lower City shopping area. Staying at Le Clos puts you central to the major historical attractions in the Old City, with an easy walk to the Plains of Abraham and the Parliament Buildings just outside the St. Louis gate. The entire staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and they were happy to suggest restaurants, check our travel arrangements, replenish supplies and even offered umbrellas for our use on rainy days. Mme. Donais, the owner, makes a fabulous breakfast in a pretty tea room located on the lower level. We had the opportunity to meet and chat with several nice couples who were also staying at the hotel, while enjoying our French toast, eggs and coffee in the mornings. We stayed in Room #7 on the third floor for 4 nights in June, 2013. The room was very clean with two chairs, a desk, good sized closet, dresser, TV and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious, with the added bonus of a magnified make-up mirror and a hair dryer. The room was serviced with its own air conditioner which we could control, and it worked extremely well. Overall, there was a lovely atmosphere in the entire hotel - warm, quiet, with an old world charm which enhanced the experience of being in a 400 year-old City. We thank everyone at Le Clos St.-Louis for helping make our visit to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_emmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Our entire staff was certainly pleased to have you as our guest here in the hotel and appreciate dearly the positive comments you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
253 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you want to get the authentic feel for Old Quebec City, this is the place. The room was perfectly done; right over the street, but the thick stone walls and double windows with wooden privacy shutters kept it extremely quiet for sleeping. Just steps from several good restaurants and right in the middle of the walled city. This is the perfect location for your stay. Room was bright, well appointed and very clean. Bathroom was large and had plenty of storage. Off street parking right behind the hotel for $20 per day; a must when visiting old Quebec; park the car once and forget it until you leave; if you feel that you need a car here, don't even bother going; the experience is in the walking and staying within the confines of the old city. Breakfasts were nothing fancy, but nicely done and tasty. Stairs are steep, but in keeping with the vintage of the building. Central air for some of the rooms was totally unobtrusive, as was the hidden TV in the armoire for those of you who can't live without one. Wi-Fi is available at no extra charge. Top notch at a very reasonable price (do be aware though that provincial and federal taxes will add an additional $50+ per day to your stay).

Room Tip: Request a parking space when making a reservation as they have only 11 total spaces. Don't be af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LochnessConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for five nights in this delightful hotel during the month of June. All staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very clean. The hotel was busy when we were there although we never heard any noise. The hotel is charming and has all the characteristics of the period it was built in. The rooms are tastefully decorated to provide your stay with the warmth and charm that you would expect. The owner provides and cooks your breakfast herself in a lovely breakfast room. You have several choices for breakfast and each one is delicious. Luc at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us with our dining choices for restaurants. The hotel is close to all major activities and restaurants. We loved our stay at the Hotel Le Clos Saint Louis and would not hesitate in recommending this fine establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights in June. Lovely place with nice, clean rooms. Breakfast was made to order and the location was perfect for walking to all the major attractions. The staff are just wonderful. Very helpful with recommendations on where to eat, sightsee, etc. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiccup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many very nice places but this was the best. The Victorian room was beautifully decorated and very spacious. Every detail was seen to. Everyone who worked there was helpful and friendly. Parking was close and convenient. The location could not have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing