We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Le Clos St-Louis is a beautiful, character-rich boutique style hotel within the fortified walls of Old Quebec City. Located on a pretty street with great restaurants, it is only a 5-minute walk to the lovely views of the St. Lawrence River, the boardwalk at the Chateau Frontenac and the funicular to the lower City shopping area. Staying at Le Clos puts you central to the major historical attractions in the Old City, with an easy walk to the Plains of Abraham and the Parliament Buildings just outside the St. Louis gate. The entire staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and they were happy to suggest restaurants, check our travel arrangements, replenish supplies and even offered umbrellas for our use on rainy days. Mme. Donais, the owner, makes a fabulous breakfast in a pretty tea room located on the lower level. We had the opportunity to meet and chat with several nice couples who were also staying at the hotel, while enjoying our French toast, eggs and coffee in the mornings. We stayed in Room #7 on the third floor for 4 nights in June, 2013. The room was very clean with two chairs, a desk, good sized closet, dresser, TV and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious, with the added bonus of a magnified make-up mirror and a hair dryer. The room was serviced with its own air conditioner which we could control, and it worked extremely well. Overall, there was a lovely atmosphere in the entire hotel - warm, quiet, with an old world charm which enhanced the experience of being in a 400 year-old City. We thank everyone at Le Clos St.-Louis for helping make our visit to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_emmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Our entire staff was certainly pleased to have you as our guest here in the hotel and appreciate dearly the positive comments you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    91
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
393
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
255 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you want to get the authentic feel for Old Quebec City, this is the place. The room was perfectly done; right over the street, but the thick stone walls and double windows with wooden privacy shutters kept it extremely quiet for sleeping. Just steps from several good restaurants and right in the middle of the walled city. This is the perfect location for your stay. Room was bright, well appointed and very clean. Bathroom was large and had plenty of storage. Off street parking right behind the hotel for $20 per day; a must when visiting old Quebec; park the car once and forget it until you leave; if you feel that you need a car here, don't even bother going; the experience is in the walking and staying within the confines of the old city. Breakfasts were nothing fancy, but nicely done and tasty. Stairs are steep, but in keeping with the vintage of the building. Central air for some of the rooms was totally unobtrusive, as was the hidden TV in the armoire for those of you who can't live without one. Wi-Fi is available at no extra charge. Top notch at a very reasonable price (do be aware though that provincial and federal taxes will add an additional $50+ per day to your stay).

Room Tip: Request a parking space when making a reservation as they have only 11 total spaces. Don't be af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LochnessConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for five nights in this delightful hotel during the month of June. All staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very clean. The hotel was busy when we were there although we never heard any noise. The hotel is charming and has all the characteristics of the period it was built in. The rooms are tastefully decorated to provide your stay with the warmth and charm that you would expect. The owner provides and cooks your breakfast herself in a lovely breakfast room. You have several choices for breakfast and each one is delicious. Luc at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us with our dining choices for restaurants. The hotel is close to all major activities and restaurants. We loved our stay at the Hotel Le Clos Saint Louis and would not hesitate in recommending this fine establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights in June. Lovely place with nice, clean rooms. Breakfast was made to order and the location was perfect for walking to all the major attractions. The staff are just wonderful. Very helpful with recommendations on where to eat, sightsee, etc. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiccup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many very nice places but this was the best. The Victorian room was beautifully decorated and very spacious. Every detail was seen to. Everyone who worked there was helpful and friendly. Parking was close and convenient. The location could not have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a lovely little hotel. More like staying in a B&B right in the heart of town. Great location; walk to everywhere in the old city. The owner is friendly and accomodating, and her breakfasts are great. The room we had (#6) was beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. Highly recommended for a romantic stay in Quebec City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Very nice and helpful staff. The rooms are decorated very tastfully and are quite comfortable. Beautiful old building with a lot of character. If you have mobility issues try to get a room on the lower level. The winding staircases could be difficult for some people. We stayed in room 8 and would love to stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey_C_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#43 of 102 in Quebec City
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing