We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place. Very clean and comfortable. Parking available in back of Inn was much appreciated. Breakfast was delicious - you must try the French toast! Location could not have been better. You could walk to all the restaurants and sights. The owner was delightful, she gave us great suggestions on what to see and do. Weather was perfect, people very friendly, food delicious and atmosphere perfect. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is always so thoughtful when customers take the time to express their satisfaction about their stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 568 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent the weekend with my brother and sister-in-law and were delighted with this beautiful inn. Ghislaine was the perfect hostess. The room was cozy, the breakfasts delicious and the location ideal within walking distance of everything. We can't wait to come back with more family and friends.

Room Tip: We recently spent the weekend at this lovely inn. Ghislaine was delightful - the perfect hostess...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely common rooms, breakfast room leaves a little to be desired but the breakfasts were fresh, fast, and tasty. Our room was nicely appointed, complete with A/C which we did turn on once and it rocked. Our room faced the back which was quiet, but the front rooms are probably pretty quiet, too. Easy walk to just about anything you want to visit in the city. Parking is nice bonus (and added cost).

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great old hotel located in Old Quebec City. Clean rooms, welcoming staff, walking distance to all of the sites of Old Quebec. Rooms have retained their history with authentic antiques and decorations. Would definitely stay again, perfect for taking in Carnivale

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ironbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Sorry for our late reply, but we just wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located right in the middle of everything. It is VERY easy to find~ right on the main street once you enter the "gate" into the upper city. Upon arrival we parked on the street in front of the hotel and went inside to check in and drop off our luggage. Luc at the front desk (who is lovely) told us where to park at an underground parking lot under City Hall (5 minute walk away.) We were there 4 nights and parking was about $62 CAD.

The photos of the rooms on the Hotel Website are wonderful, but they are even prettier in person and bigger then I expected. We had Room 22~ I was in love with the exposed brick & stone walls and the wood beam ceiling. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are super clean. There was hair dryer and bathrobes in the bathroom and they supply you with all the amenities you could need or want. They even have slippers for guests to borrow that are warm and comfy~ we took advantage of them!

Breakfast is served downstairs and cooked by the owner herself~ she is very sweet. We tried just about everything on the menu and enjoyed it all, the portions were a good size too. The owner/staff makes the hotel feel like your home and even provides you with keys to the outside door in case you stay out late. If you have any questions on what to do or see in the area, the staff will point you in the right direction.

The hotel very much has an "old world" feel to it, which is why it is so special. On that note, it is an old house so no elevators, lots of stairs and tiny spaces (like the entry way) which adds to the experience in my opinion, but may be factors to consider when booking.

So Overall... The Le Clos St-Louis is a lovely hotel with a "Once-upon- a-time" feel, super friendly staff, a tasty & filling breakfast, in the heart of the city. You will not be disappointed if you want to capture the feeling of Old Quebec~ promise!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JCScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Sorry for the late reply, but we still wanted to thank you for your review. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel over carnaval weekend. We stayed in room 4, which was very romantic and cozy. It had everything you needed: bathrobes, bottle opener, big bed, tea set and so on. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and the common areas were very Victorian and charming. Ghislaine, the owner, was welcoming and paid close attention to all details. The only minor issue was that the internet didn't work in our side of the house. Not a big deal at all.

Room Tip: Room number four was my favorite - second floor, nice red colors, little seating area and very cozy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaffavoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Our appolgies that the wifi was down on your side of the building, but we`re glad to hear that your stay was otherwise enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Quebec City, and loved the old-style Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, along with everything else about Quebec City!

The inn's owner greeted us when we arrived. Her English is a bit hard to understand, as she speaks French, but we were able to communicate with her fairly well and she truly seemed thrilled to see us.

Our room was on the fourth floor, so it was a chore taking all of the luggage up the staircases, but we appreciated the charm of the building and didn't mind the trek upstairs.

The room (room 25) was very nice with a queen size bed and a spacious bathroom. It had one small window that you can open to allow a breeze in, but since the room was on the 4th floor, it often got warm. There is no thermostat in that particular room, so you're stuck with whatever the main thermostat is set at. I've read that some rooms have their own thermostat, however. The room was very clean and was decorated in a Victorian style, but not overwhelmingly so.

The hotel is located on Rue St.-Louis in Vieux Quebec, or St. Louis Street in old Quebec City. It's within walking distance of virtually everything in old Quebec City, and we even had a fairly easy walk to the heart of modern-day downtown Quebec City. This hotel is on the same street as the famous Chateau Frontenac, but located a few blocks up the street from there.

The hotel staff was very helpful. They gave us advice on how take the city bus to Montmorency Falls, for example. They also arranged a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport when we left. The morning we left, we had to leave for the airport at 7 a.m. The staff prepared coffee and muffins in the lobby just for us so that we'd have something to eat before we left. The owner even blew us a kiss just as the cab was about to drive off.

The hotel provides breakfast in a truly French style. The breakfast room is located in the basement, and they have a small menu of several different options. Once you choose the breakfast you'd like, it's prepared for you in the kitchen, located right in the breakfast area, and of course, when it comes to the table, it looks like something special.

This hotel does not have all of the modern conveniences that typical chain hotels offer, but it does have lots of charm, an excellent staff, and an owner who cares about her guests and tries to make the hotel stand out.

If we have the opportunity to return to Quebec City, we'll definitely look into staying at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so keep that in mind when choosing a room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGS_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to thank you for taking the time to do so. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $166 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing