We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Nearby Hotels
$215
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
L'Hotel Port-Royal(Quebec City)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$393
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sepia(Quebec City)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$259
$218
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$124
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
466
106
22
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
106
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench toastvictorian styletea setromantic hotelold quebec cityno elevatorwhirlpool tubbreakfast roomfirst floorwithin walking distancebreakfast is servedperfect locationevery morningour honeymoonmobility issueswithin the wallsbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 607 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel over carnaval weekend. We stayed in room 4, which was very romantic and cozy. It had everything you needed: bathrobes, bottle opener, big bed, tea set and so on. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and the common areas were very Victorian and charming. Ghislaine, the owner, was welcoming and paid close attention to all details. The only minor issue was that the internet didn't work in our side of the house. Not a big deal at all.

Room Tip: Room number four was my favorite - second floor, nice red colors, little seating area and very cozy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaffavoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Our appolgies that the wifi was down on your side of the building, but we`re glad to hear that your stay was otherwise enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Quebec City, and loved the old-style Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, along with everything else about Quebec City!

The inn's owner greeted us when we arrived. Her English is a bit hard to understand, as she speaks French, but we were able to communicate with her fairly well and she truly seemed thrilled to see us.

Our room was on the fourth floor, so it was a chore taking all of the luggage up the staircases, but we appreciated the charm of the building and didn't mind the trek upstairs.

The room (room 25) was very nice with a queen size bed and a spacious bathroom. It had one small window that you can open to allow a breeze in, but since the room was on the 4th floor, it often got warm. There is no thermostat in that particular room, so you're stuck with whatever the main thermostat is set at. I've read that some rooms have their own thermostat, however. The room was very clean and was decorated in a Victorian style, but not overwhelmingly so.

The hotel is located on Rue St.-Louis in Vieux Quebec, or St. Louis Street in old Quebec City. It's within walking distance of virtually everything in old Quebec City, and we even had a fairly easy walk to the heart of modern-day downtown Quebec City. This hotel is on the same street as the famous Chateau Frontenac, but located a few blocks up the street from there.

The hotel staff was very helpful. They gave us advice on how take the city bus to Montmorency Falls, for example. They also arranged a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport when we left. The morning we left, we had to leave for the airport at 7 a.m. The staff prepared coffee and muffins in the lobby just for us so that we'd have something to eat before we left. The owner even blew us a kiss just as the cab was about to drive off.

The hotel provides breakfast in a truly French style. The breakfast room is located in the basement, and they have a small menu of several different options. Once you choose the breakfast you'd like, it's prepared for you in the kitchen, located right in the breakfast area, and of course, when it comes to the table, it looks like something special.

This hotel does not have all of the modern conveniences that typical chain hotels offer, but it does have lots of charm, an excellent staff, and an owner who cares about her guests and tries to make the hotel stand out.

If we have the opportunity to return to Quebec City, we'll definitely look into staying at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so keep that in mind when choosing a room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGS_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to thank you for taking the time to do so. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Warm welcome from Ghislaine at our arrival! Very cozy and romantic. Every room is decorated with fine touch, super clean all over the hotel, you feel you are back in time in the Romantic era . You can feel the love and the passion from the owner(Ghislaine) trough the entered hotel. Every thing is beautiful and lovely .

Thank you Ghislaine for letting us into your beautiful place , you are a truly authentic and unique person. I will remember you !!

Room Tip: No elevator, so if a lots of luggage maybe pick first floor but exercises doesn't kill anyone! every room our fantastic and unique very hard to pick!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudinewebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, situated in the old Quebec, within walking distance to rows of restaurants, shops, the Chateau,and Funiculaire, the lift to Basse ville. Beautiful old house, nicely decorated room. What we love the most was the breakfast, it was a fabulous french toast!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j-lho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Manager at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote your review, we still wanted to take the time to thank you for doing so. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is situated in the old walled in city, near the entry point. Great access to all that Quebec City has to offer. The hotel is owned by a local woman, retired nurse, who works each day. She actually cooks the fabulous breakfast in the morning, French Toast is delicious. The care and attention to detail is evident in the furnishings and fixtures. Impeccably clean, very comfortable, large tubs, bathrobes and all the amenities you would expect in a first class hotel.
We had a delightful visit and will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taosmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Although it has been several months since you wrote, we still wanted to thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews