We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed three nights in Sept. 2012. The location is excellent being inside the walls. The hotel is on a great street with many good restaurants. The old city is small so any location inside the walls puts one within easy walking distance of all the major tourist sites. The small crew spoke English well and was very accommodating. The room was immaculate. The furnishings were authentic and tasteful. The breakfasts were superb. We were on the second floor, no elevator, on the street, and it was not particularly noisy. In fact we liked being able to watch the weather and activity of the street from our room. The bathroom was modern. We have friends who were staying in the Chateau Frontenac and we visited and compared each others rooms. The Frontenac room did not have nearly the character or size of ours, but did have a much higher rack rate (and elevators.) If we return to Quebec City, and I hope we will, we will try to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #21 and would be delighted to do so again. We did look in several others while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Mr. David W.

Greetings from Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis!
Thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that you would consider retrurning to our establisment.
Once again Thank you and we invite you with plesure.
Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is indeed a gem! Wonderful location as it sits just inside the wall. Very quaint and as you'd expect cosy. The sometimes eclectic rooms are very clean with beds that make you want to stay in them all day long.... The staff have the greatest wit and sense of humour this side of the St. Lawrence. Breakfast's were first rate, lots of choices; all the items were fresh and especially tasty. However, consideration should be given to those who fear stairs as there is no elevator; but the climb to the second or third floor will beckon you into a happy state. We recommend this place to all!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear LnB56;

We are pleased to read your review on our establishment and that we have kept up the standard of this 4 star hotel.All the staff work hard to maintain the house in it's high quality requirement.
Once again thank you for sharing with other TripAdvisor readers. We invite you to come back to visit our beautiful city.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is beautifully decorated and even my husband who normally does not care about decor, commented that he was impressed. The hotel is close to everything in Old Quebec. The rooms on the street side can get a little too loud with windows open; otherwise, no problems when we had the windows closed. Breakfast was delicious.
We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaFW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Maya FW12;

Thank you for writting a wonderful review on our hotel and the experience you had in Quebec City. Comments like yours help us maintain the high quality of our establisment.
Once again thank you and come back to see us soon.
Ghyslaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location, awesome breakfast. We were there for our 20th anniversary. Quebec is a wonderful city - loads of history and charm. Our room was on the street side but still very quiet. Very clean and neat. Everything was perfect! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emlax_mattsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Emlax_mattsoccer;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor and share your experience with other people here. We work hard to maintain a wonderful hotel and comments like yours encourage us to continue the ongoing effort to maintain our house clean for our guest's enjoyment.
Thank you again
Ghyslaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are always coming once a year to Quebec for a romantic week end and we are always staying at the Clos Saint Louis. This time, it was for a business trip and I suggest to my collegue to stay here too. And I was not disapointed. The owner, Ghislaine, is always very nice and attentive to your needs. She was able to make this place look like home full of antique.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Mr. EricMToronto`;
Thank you for your comments and your wonderful works in my regard. It is always a pleasure to receive repeat customer's to our hotel. Most of all that we maintain the quality of service that our guest deserve.
Thank you for your referral also since publicity from customers do make a difference. We appreciate this nice gesture.
Once again Thank you and look forward to your next stay with us.

Ghyslaine Donais
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice , authentic, beautifully decorated. Location could not be better. Water pipes very noisy when you sleep, and people use it at every time of the night . We live close to Quebec city and like to go for a night once in a while this is not the best we tried but we liked it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieandr_ep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great hotel location within walking distance to all the restaurants and downtown. Very clean and friendly staff. Breakfast was very good, too. The only negative is that there is no elevator, which proved a little difficult for my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriemcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Valeriemcn;
Thank you for your writeup and your appreciation of our hotel. We do our best to maintain a high quality service for our guest and do appreciate your feed back.
Thank you again.
Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $165 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing