We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. When we arrived the staff was not overly nice but not unpleasant. When we noticed that the room that we were given was not at all what we had booked then the staff became rude with us, especially Emilly.

We booked a superior room with 2 double beds, we got a room with 2 double bed but if you look at the pictures (included with this post) that we were told we would get vs what we got there is a big difference.

I would highly recommend other hotels in le Vieux Québec before this one. This was way over priced for what we got.

We travel a lot and we rarely complain about stuff… The only time I complain is when I feel we were scam/robbed – This is the feeling I got from our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're really sorry to see that your experience with us was not up to your expectations.
As customer service is primordial for us, we take your comment very seriously, and will make appropriate effort to improve our performance. About the picture, actually all rooms are different in our hotel, because of the historical character of the building. That true the bathroom is smaller in this room but the room is bigger than other in the same category and is absolutely great.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again to change your opinion about our hotel
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 989 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Quebec City over the Labour Day long weekend in 2013. We booked Hotel Acadia based on reviews from past guests and value for money. Basically to sum up the hotel: location, location, location.

Hotel Acadia was near perfect (for us) for exploring Old Quebec. It's located on Rue Sainte-Ursule, so you are basically within decent walking distance of all of Old Quebec's highlights. Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk overlooking the river were only about 10 minutes walk, about 15 to the excellent Musée de la civilisation in Lower Old Quebec, less than 10 minutes to Battlefield Park and La Citadelle and so on.

There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms which is always appreciated and the staff were helpful and quick to give good advice especially when we first arrived at the hotel. The rooms are not huge by any stretch so probably not the best for families or groups as it would probably get pretty tight. There wasn't a refrigerator in our room (202) but the ice machine was nearby so we made due.

Grand Allee Est with all its bars and bistros is also very close, just outside nearby Pointe St. Louis and the Parliament building so you can expand out your range of dining options fairly easily as well. Check out L'Inox for good Quebec microbrews if you're looking for something different at happy hour.

All in all, it was worth it if only for the location and ease of access around the city.

Room Tip: -2nd floor rooms offer the smoothest access to/from the lobby. not sure if room size is any better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City.
About our rooms, we have many categories, because all rooms are differents. The best tip is to call us directly to book your room, so this way we really can recommend you what you need.
Hoping to welcome again during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm giving "service" a 2 because the valet guys were great. The front desk was TERRIBLE. Booked Hotel Louisbourg but received no direction to check in at Hotel Acadia. A woman through the intercom kept saying "Ursule, Ursule." Discovered later that she speaks English—so why no directions? A housekeeper was kind enough to bring us to a different hotel to check in. We checked in and they had us sign for room X, but gave us the key to Y. We didn't catch this until we had already settled into Y. We realized there weren't any towels in the room, so we went to the front desk to get some. They seemed totally flummoxed that someone would ask for towels, and made us bring them back to our room despite that we were on our way out. At this price point they need to bring towels to your room for you. We figured out that we were in the wrong room, and the front desk confirmed they had made an error, but then made us move our things from room X to room Y. Room Y was SMALLER, STINKIER, and less convenient. They offered no help moving, and made NO APOLOGY whatsoever. One night free parking at least? NOPE. We made 3-4 trips to the front desk. Not a big deal for two younger people but the front desk is not in the same building or on the same street as the hotel. Accommodations small but fine. Sometimes smelled from old carpets and laundry. Breakfast at Feu Sacre was awful. Undercooked scrambled eggs, watery fruit. Just give me a banana and a boiled egg and be done with it. Also, don't trust the pictures. Our room was no where near as nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saradonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
It is disappointing to hear that our Hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here take your comments very seriously and we eager to correct any failure on our part.
I will suggest you to contact our Lodging Director Mr. Sebastien Collin at sebastien.collin@hotelsnouvellefrance.com or at 418-694-0918 # 143
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel was located within the Old City walls itself. Everything in Upper Town and Lower Town is withing walking distance.

We stayed for 4 nights in early Sept 2012, in a 2 double bed room. The 2 beds faced each other, separated by a set of tables and chairs in the middle, making the room quite big. Heavy curtains block the sun (and prying eyes) from the room. The beds were firm and comfortable.
They had those soap dispensers in place of little toiletries bottles in the bathroom. Coffee-making facilities available.

There is no front desk in the hotel itself. Check-in and check-out was in another hotel named Arcadia some 30 meters away. Front desk staff speaks English, so no problems for me. You need a key to get in the front door of the building. On more than one occasion, I found couples who wanted to check in and were puzzled why the front door was locked; I had to direct them to Arcadia Hotel to do so.

If you drive, they can arrange for parking nearby (tight squeeze lots!) for $12/night. I had to park my rental for a night and didn't give them advance notice, but they were able to get me a lot. The street itself was quiet and you could find a self-serve laundromat, mini mart and cafes on the same street.

All in all, for the price we paid, we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: No lifts so pick lower floors if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Ermitage.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Part of a small group of hotels in Quebec City (Hotels de Nouvelle France). Hotel Louisbourg is located on rue Saint Louis; a very desirable location in Old Quebec. Check in is in one of their other properties; the Acadia Hotel which is just around the corner. The staff is extremely friendly and will valet park your car and bring baggage to the Louisbourg. Rooms are more than adequate and have everything you need. Who wants to spend a lot of time when in Old Quebec anyway. Given its location and friendly staff I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this nice comment about our hotel Louisbourg.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed everything about your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again on your next stay.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

When we turned down the street toward our hotel for the first time, I felt giddy. It was a beautiful side street running perpendicular to Rue Sainte Jean (major shopping and eating) and Rue Sainte Louis (more restaurants!) We were able to walk everywhere within the old walled city (which was gorgeous. We also had PERFECT weather). We enjoyed our room, which was the most high end room of their hotel but was in the basement. At first I was surprised, but then I ended up being very pleased. It still had outdoor access. The city and building are so old and everything was much smaller (shorter ceilings, for example), but our room was very nice and had modern amenities (glass shower, large soaker tub, flat screened tv, electric fireplace). There is also a decent breakfast included in your stay. You only have to walk around the corner to get to it, because it's at an actual restaurant seeing as there would be nowhere to set up breakfast in the hotel. The staff was so pleasant, and even conducted themselves as I witnessed someone being yelled at while we were checking out.

Room Tip: Signature Plus Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I traveled to Quebec City and stayed with my boyfriend at the Acadia Hotel on Canada Day weekend 2013.

The good:
-Location is excellent, we used the valet parking and walked everywhere in Old Quebec. Was very handy.
- Also we got a good rate because they only had the smallest room in their attic available.
-The staff were all very pleasant and a pleasure to interact with.


The bad: The room was tiny, not impressive, small outdated tv, and the toilet in our room ran constantly. We did notify the front desk about the issue with the toilet but it was never resolved.

I did see some pictures at the front desk of some of the other rooms, and there were some that looked really nice.

Overall it was not terrible, not great, it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the location.
As you mentioned, you have choose one of our two small economic room, next time try another category, to really enjoy the charm of the hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 101 in Quebec City
1,047 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
2,209 reviews
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#69 of 101 in Quebec City
256 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#78 of 101 in Quebec City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $75 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing