We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very nice, but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #53 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Hotel Acadia. We paid a bit extra to get the superior room (210). As some noted, the sink was in the room, that didn't bother us. We had an electric fire place and an awesome shower. The shower was ultra modern with very good water pressure. The room was good size for the two of us, our suitcases and ski gear. The room was a bit hot, but that was great for drying wet clothes after playing in the snow.
Room 210 is on the first floor facing the street and next the the office, so the noise from both locations bothered us, but did not ruin our vacation. We could hear road trucks and cars on the street. If you wanted to take a nap during the day, as we did upon our arrival, the noise in the lobby and office was a bother. Thus, I would recommend getting a room at the higher floor and not facing the main street.
The location was great. The hotel is in the old city close to main attractions, but not in the mids of it, which we found good for us. We did not have a car with us, so we walked everywhere.
The staff was very friendly and spoke both French and English.
The room was very clean, especially the bathroom.

Room Tip: We tried the jacuzzi one day. It was nice. They limit number of people to 6, so ask in advance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NM0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    242
    119
    49
    30
See reviews for
94
339
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friendly helpful front desk. Good size room with a lovely spa to soak away the aches of a days walking. No lifts but plenty of stairs to get the attic. Buffet breakfast around the corner well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackwidows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e.freetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our 1st time there & it was clean, warm, parking of car was right there at the hotel, made it nice
will be back. Ask for a room on the lower floors & was given room 202 which was very nice, see
u in th spring.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_freetownMacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Acadia in October 2012 and loved it!! The location is perfect as you are right in side the walls of the city. We found it to be very quiet even though we were right by the stairs. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. We went to a restaurant right around the corner from the hotel for supper. we ate at Cafe de Paris...wow!! The service was excellent and the food was delicious!! I had the veal and it was so tender I could cut it with my fork. It melted in my mouth. For breakfast the next day we went around the corner again for a complimentary buffet. The crepes were fantastic.
You have to pay for parking at the hotel but they let us check out and leave our car there for free during the afternoon. We really thought that was really nice as there is no such thing as free parking in Old Quebec City.
I left my cell phone in the the public washroom at the hotel after we finished exploring Old Quebec. And didn't realize I had left it until a few hours later. We called the hotel and they had found it. They held onto it for me until we cold make our way back to the hotel.
We would definetly stay there again!! Thanks again to the wonderful staff at Hotel Acadia!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you loved your stay at our Hotel Acadia! As you mentioned, our hotel is located near all the main attractions of the city and in a historic neighborhood. Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is one of the cutest "small" hotels in Old Quebec but you must be in great shape because of the stairs unless you are taking a room on the first floor. Old hotel - no elevator. The location is perfect, close to St-Jean street and Chateau Frontenac, the people are great and the room we had was very nice.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms - but the one we had on the 4 floor was great and had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancineZia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Acadia. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival, reception chaotic and disorganised. Informed that the Superior room reserved 4 months in advance was not available, we would be given a "larger room", which turned out to be a dilapidated, scruffy and very run down "studio" with air conditioner unit in "living room" and none in bedroom, where the sheets were too small for the bed. There was a winding (and dirty) staircase going up 2 flights with 2nd floor landing used to store cleaning equipment. We asked for a change of room but were told none was available, not even the one we had booked! Breakfast was served in a restaurant round the corner, where the food was unedible and when I asked for a second pot of tea was told I had to pay for it. The attached photos show the state of the windows and frames - and for this we paid CAD 671,46 for 3 miserable nights. We are great rravellers and know our hotels but this one in no way merits a 3-star rating, we have stayed in better 1 and 2-star hotels. To add insult to injury, Hotels Nouvelle France sent us a cheque for CAD 100 for our next visit - no skin of their nose as we live in Europe (where they sent this cheque...).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I had our original honeymoon in Quebec City 1985. We went back in 2000 and stayed at the Chateau Frontenac, and we returned again in September 2011 for a Third Honeymoon.
This year we decided to try a different Style of Hotel.
We chose the Hotel Acadia both for it's location and the style.
Booking entirely online, you never know if it will meet with your expectations.
I must say it did that and more. We had a very large room with exposed brick and stone from the original building. Large Windows ( 10ft ) with a three foot deep windowsill.
A large whirlpool bath finished out the room.
The staff was quite helpful, and the parking attendants could not have been better.
If I ever go back to Quebec, I will stay at the Hotel Acadia, or one of the sister properties.
I agree with one of the other reviewers......skip the Free breakfast and head down the Hill to Cape Breton...Get the French Toast Yumm

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, These are much larger and have a bit more charm....Try on the same floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose Hotel Acadia for your third honeymoon! Thank you for taking some of your time to review your stay. We're happy to see that our hotel has met your expectations and we would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
#20 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing