We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acadia Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acadia Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is one of the cutest "small" hotels in Old Quebec but you must be in great shape because of the stairs unless you are taking a room on the first floor. Old hotel - no elevator. The location is perfect, close to St-Jean street and Chateau Frontenac, the people are great and the room we had was very nice.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms - but the one we had on the 4 floor was great and had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancineZia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Acadia. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    263
    130
    56
    35
See reviews for
105
364
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival, reception chaotic and disorganised. Informed that the Superior room reserved 4 months in advance was not available, we would be given a "larger room", which turned out to be a dilapidated, scruffy and very run down "studio" with air conditioner unit in "living room" and none in bedroom, where the sheets were too small for the bed. There was a winding (and dirty) staircase going up 2 flights with 2nd floor landing used to store cleaning equipment. We asked for a change of room but were told none was available, not even the one we had booked! Breakfast was served in a restaurant round the corner, where the food was unedible and when I asked for a second pot of tea was told I had to pay for it. The attached photos show the state of the windows and frames - and for this we paid CAD 671,46 for 3 miserable nights. We are great rravellers and know our hotels but this one in no way merits a 3-star rating, we have stayed in better 1 and 2-star hotels. To add insult to injury, Hotels Nouvelle France sent us a cheque for CAD 100 for our next visit - no skin of their nose as we live in Europe (where they sent this cheque...).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I had our original honeymoon in Quebec City 1985. We went back in 2000 and stayed at the Chateau Frontenac, and we returned again in September 2011 for a Third Honeymoon.
This year we decided to try a different Style of Hotel.
We chose the Hotel Acadia both for it's location and the style.
Booking entirely online, you never know if it will meet with your expectations.
I must say it did that and more. We had a very large room with exposed brick and stone from the original building. Large Windows ( 10ft ) with a three foot deep windowsill.
A large whirlpool bath finished out the room.
The staff was quite helpful, and the parking attendants could not have been better.
If I ever go back to Quebec, I will stay at the Hotel Acadia, or one of the sister properties.
I agree with one of the other reviewers......skip the Free breakfast and head down the Hill to Cape Breton...Get the French Toast Yumm

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, These are much larger and have a bit more charm....Try on the same floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose Hotel Acadia for your third honeymoon! Thank you for taking some of your time to review your stay. We're happy to see that our hotel has met your expectations and we would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed there a few weekends ago. It is in a great location in the Old City and the staff was very accommodating. The rooms vary greatly in size. Ours,( a Superior I think) was large, newly renovated, very nice but downstairs and a little dark. Our travel partners was quite small and on the 4th floor.

Overall it is a charming hotel and a good choice. The other reviewers are right, the free breakfast at the restaurant around the corner was definitely worth missing. Book online, save a couple of $$ and go have breakfast somewhere else. Very limited selection...better at the Concierge Lounge of your average Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoyaBAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Acadia. Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. We're sorry to see that you didn't appreciate the breakfast, it is usually liked by our guests. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaventure
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have always loved this hotel but hadn't been back for ten years - we usually stay with friends in Québec but decided to have a treat at an old favourite. I booked on-line and used a booking site to do so and didn't read the fine print.
We knew that the place was enlarged and much changed but were welcomed warmly and really liked our room, but on the first morning found that the breakfast wasn't included - seems to be a particular policy of theirs toward third-party bookings: the first time I have ever come accross this in all my travels. Annoying but we had a great breakfast at our favourite place that is much nicer than the restaurant that the hotel uses.
A small detail to some but enough to make us not want to come back or to recommend it - so many hotels in Québec have been taken over and turned into tourist traps - it seems that the Acadia is going down the same path.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lennee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassalboro, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

we have stayed at Hote Acadia every October for many years, and love it. Yes, the stairs are steep and the corridors narrow, but every room has its own charm, the amenities all work well, and the place is quiet and well located.
Skip the free breakfast, though, and go to Casse Crepe Breton, down on rue St. John.
We will be there next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a Queen, and try for lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
We look forward to welcome you again next year! We're pleased to see that our hotel meet your expectations. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staying within the wall of the city is sometime unaffordable but very romantic & of course convinient! Here we have a european style hotel in an old building so expect tight hallways and tiny rooms but who stay in their rooms while visiting Quebec? This is not a luxury hotel so forget the pool, fitness center etc... It is quaint but very clean and confortable. Centrally located, valet parking which in the area is very usefull since you do not need the car, just walk ! this is Quevec city. The bathroom was tiny but efficient and while the breakfast was buffet style the service was acceptable and friendly. I would recommand this establisment. without hesitation!

Room Tip: Inquire for the different rooms with the front desk it goes from small no view to large appartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Acadia and that our hotel has met your expectation. We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#63 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing