We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved out Stay”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Quebed City is such a great place to visit. Staying in the old town adds to the charm of the place. We recently stayed at Hotel Acadia (husband as well as my sister-in-law). My husband and I had a comfortable room on the fourth floor. It seems the hotel was originally and old house or houses that have been made into a hotel. The hotel has irregular narrow halls that meander about. Our room was actually two rooms; a bedroom and a sitting area. The bathroom was large with wonderful shower area and a big tub. The location was ideal. The only draw back to the hotel is the lack of parking. There is valet parking that we used as there was no need to use our car. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel. We did hear some late night revellers but it did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonita65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear guest,
we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Acadia. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 980 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We(2 people) stayed there for 4 days and we loved it. We had a small room(but it was totally fine for us) on the 5TH floor, but no elevator....we didn't mind. The hotel have different rooms on different floors, so you should call or e-mail them and explain yours needs(and do it again when you get there for the check in). The room and the bathroom(they have blow dryers) were very clean. The room had 2 closets and a little refrigerator. We had a DVD player in the room and you can rent DVDs at the front desk. Some channels were in English(They had TLC, CNN, FOX with lots of Sitcoms, some Kids channel and many others...very good selection) and some were in French(we understand French, so we watched the French channels). You can take your own DVDs...call or e-mail them just to make sure that they have DVD players in all the rooms. The AC was perfect...we turned it off at night...I liked to be able to turn it on or off. The staff was happy and very helpful. They have a ATM machine right by the front desk... It's very convenient. They also, had a little vending machine at the lobby. We had Free Wi-Fi in the room(huge plus for us) The breakfast is served at a little restaurant outside of the hotel(maybe half block away). We had breakfast there 1 day and it was simple but good(many options all over Quebec as well). The hotel is close to everything, but be prepared to go up and down hills....it just the way Quebec is. The city was very safe and so was the hotel location. We walked back to the hotel every night around 1am and had no problems(we were there summer time...don't know about the winter). We didn't need, but they had valet parking. We had to check out before 4am and the front desk is 24hs. It was very easy. When our cab didn't show after 10 min that they called him, the front desk person, without I have to ask, called the cab again...very on top of the situation. The hotel Acadia is great and Quebec is amazing!

Room Tip: They have different rooms on different floors. Call/e-mail them and explain your needs. Our room(501...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvia1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share such a nice review of Hotel Acadia. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself along with my husband, our two kids ages (4 yrs & 8 Months) stayed at this hotel with a large group of our family (11 in total) from July 2nd to July 5th.
It’s a great hotel, right in the heart of old Quebec City and about a 10 minute walk to all the main attractions that Quebec City has to offer. The hotel itself is a restored 200 year old house that is split into 3 sections. There are no elevators, so you would have to take the stairs if you had a room not on the main floor. The staff was friendly and very accommodating and I found the hotel to be quite clean. They also valet park your car on arrival. We found everything was within walking distance and we didn’t use our car at all, for the duration of our stay.

We stayed in room 221 which is on the ground level and while small, was exactly what my little family needed. It had a queen size bed and they brought in an extra cot for our 4 yr old to sleep on, which fit at the foot of the bed. The bathroom had a small tub and shower and the toilet and the sink was located in the room. The maid came in and cleaned daily, as well as left us extra towels because of our children.
I’ve stayed at this hotel before and I know that they have much larger, more modern rooms, but this one suited us just fine. We were there to see the city and our room was just used for sleeping, which we did quite comfortably.
Our family members that were travelling with us stayed in room 110 which was a beautiful updated modern room with a very large bathroom that had a shower that had several shower heads at various heights and gave you a full body shower. It also had a queen size bed with more than enough room to fit a few cots in it as well.
Another family member stayed in room 121 and also a basement room with a queen size bed, but had a full walk out patio and an updated bathroom as well.
We also used an open patio area on the third floor as a meeting spot for our family and a picnic spot for our lunch one day :)

Our package included breakfast, which is not served on site, but rather a 3 minute walk away at “Le Feu Sacre” Restaurant, which consisted of a buffet everyday from 7am till 10:30am. They served the same thing daily, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, crepes, baked beans, various breads, cereals, muffins, yogurts and bagels with cheese or cream cheese. Definitely a wide variety that everyone in our group was happy with.
My sister in law and I also tried the spa, which is also not on site, but directly across the road, Institut Nouvelle-France. We each were met by Michel at our booked times in the lobby of the hotel, escorted across the road through a small side alley that opened up into a large courtyard and gave us access to a small 2 bedroom house. Once inside, I had a one hour massage given by Michel which was wonderful, it was a combination of Swedish massage with oils, stretching and using the various pressure points on the body to help release tension and to relax all the muscles. Simply put, it was wonderful.
We ate out at various restaurants each night and the food and service was always wonderful, but the one place I will share with you, is a place we went one evening for dessert. It is located right at the Chateau Frontenac and is called “ the petite Chateau”. It is a small open air courtyard and I had a magnificent light crepe filled with fresh strawberries, French vanilla ice-cream and REAL milk chocolate drizzled inside it. It was like heaven on a fork. Definitely a must try when in the city.
We also went to the Citadel for the changing of the guard and a tour. Worth taking the time to see. We learnt so much about the history of the city and it is quite a fascinating tour. Our tour guide kept all of us, including a 2 and 4 yr old entertained.
Every evening we would also take the short walk down to the boardwalk and watch the various buskers perform. Some of them, really are quite talented and we usually found ourselves cheering and playing along. Then of course leaving a few dollars as a thank you for the show.

There is so much to see and do in the city, that I won’t get into all of that. It is worth the trip and this hotel is situated at the perfect spot to see it all. Just bring your walking shoes and your adventure seeking spirit and you won't be disappointed.
Like I said before, this wasn’t our first time at this hotel and it definitely won’t be our last ☺

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liezel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,
Let me thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel Acadia! We can see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our beautiful Quebec city. We hope all your family enjoyed their stay as well. Thank you also for giving tips about the city to other visitors! Hotel Acadia is located near all the main attractions of the city, boutiques, restaurants, cafés. You will find everything you need on Saint-jean st. or Saint-Louis st. We would be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a great little hotel that was in a great location considering the price. It is on a side street across from the very expensive Le Saint Amour restaurant and it located between rue Saint-Jean and rue Saint-Louis, both main streets for restaurants and shops that lead directly in and out of Old Town. It took 10 minutes to get to the Chateau Frontenac, which is also where the Terrasse-Dufferin is, as well as the stairs and Funiculare to Petit-Champlain and Place Royale districts.
We were upgraded to a Signature Suite upon arrival, which was a nice surprise. There are no elevators, and many stairs but this is everywhere in Quebec City. We were on the 3rd floor, and our room had 3 beautiful windows facing the street. The furnishings were antique style, but suited the hotel. The bathroom had a gorgeous whirlpool tub, as well as a stand up shower. Our room also had a desk, two chairs by the window, and two additional dressers with a flatscreen wall mounted. This is NOT a modern hotel by any means, but why would you want that in a beautiful old place like Quebec City??? It is rated 3 stars, and I would say that it is a solid 3 star hotel. Note that I have stayed at 4 stars which were not as nice as this hotel!!!
Valet parking was a nice touch, and our car was whisked away as soon as we got there and we never needed it again after that!! No idea where it went, and honestly I don't really care.
Now for some improvement comments. First, there was no shampoo in the shower, but there was conditioner and soap, so this was strange. I never asked for any, but rather bought some at the pharmacy on rue Saint-Jean. In addition, I forgot my hairbrush, and they didn't have any there that I could have/buy at reception. So I also had to buy one of those at the pharmacy. These little extras would have been nice. However, there were always lots of employees at the desk and all seemed to be extra helpful.
Breakfast is located around the corner at a beautiful restaurant called Le Feu Sucre. The location was brilliant, and the beautiful stone walls were gorgeous, but the breakfast was buffet and not the best. Cold eggs, lukewarm bacon and sausage, soggy crepes, cereal, juice, and yoghurt were your options. Even though it was free, we decided to pay for breakfast elsewhere the next day.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel to others, especially considering the price and location. It was perfect central location to everything, including the restaurants up on Grande Allee street as well. However, remember it is not the Chateau Frontenac, and it is not a modern hotel located in downtown Montreal, so don't expect it to be. Enjoy it for what it is!!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a room on the main level. Be aware that there are still a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hezz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and Quebec city. We will definitely take note of your improvement comments. Although breakfast is usually always good at Le Feu Sacré, we hope this was a one-time-only problem. Our hotel has indeed a great location near all main restaurants, boutiques and cafés, near the Château Frontenac and rue Saint-Jean, we hope you liked it! We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed one night at Hotel Louisbourg in an "Economic" room overlooking Rue Saint-Louis. It was a very small room with a double bed which was clean, quiet and comfortable with very reliable free wi-fi. However, if you are over 6-4 I would recommend upgrading (my head nearly touched the ceiling!). Location is perfect for exploring the Old Town area and going up to the Grand Allee which is the heart of Quebec City nightlife. A free breakfast was included at the restaurant next door which was good, especially the maple creme crepes! As mentioned, reception is around the corner but you have access to all of the amenities at the Hotel Acadia and they allowed us to store our bags for free after checking out. Should I return to this magnificent city I would definitely stay at Hotel Louisbourg again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaryCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your review of our Hotel Louisbourg. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Extra helpful staffs, amazing size room (two double beds, a living room and a kitchen), excellent location. I can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Book the basement which is amazing size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ying0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The centuries old buildings in this city are well preserved and give this city lots of charm. I loved the character and details in the rooms. The a/c and the internet worked very well. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to everything. Be prepared to walk up stairs if you get an upper room, there is no elevator but I was fine with that. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmdjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. As you mentioned, we have a great location near all the main attractions of Quebec city. We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Clarendon
#33 of 100 in Quebec City
1,530 reviews
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,035 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 100 in Quebec City
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,147 reviews
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#72 of 100 in Quebec City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $74 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing