We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in "La Basse Ville" (Quebec City)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #68 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Looking for a place central to vieux Quebec but with large rooms, is inexpensive and includes a free breakfast? The Hotel Royal William is the place for you. Park overnight in a lot at the corner of Charest and Dorchester for only $7. Got kids? Benjo is just down the street - a must shop!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunteshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the Hôtel Royal William accommodations. It is always our goal to make sure every service provided is personalize to meet all of our guests' expectations and to make sure every guests have a more than pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdivor, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Quebec City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 329 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is in downtown Quebec City. It was very clean, very modern and very nice. Thanks to Sophie, the manager, we were given an upgrade in our room. We had a suite. The room was huge and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place.

For the location and the type of hotel this is, prices were very reasonable.

Make sure that you take into account that you have to pay for parking in an underground garage across the street. You get a parking pass at the front hotel desk and pay for the parking when you pay your bill at the hotel. It ran us $16.00/night plus tax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

First, I would like to thank you for your great review! It's an absolute pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is much appreciated to know that the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms were up to your expectations. I hope to see you again in your next visit in Quebec city ! Thank you and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Quebec City with another couple for Carnavale de Quebec and stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Royal William.

The hotel itself was very good with an excellent downtown location near a number of good restaurants (which I shall review as well). The location was about a 20 minute walk from Old Quebec and the walk back on Saturday night after the night parade was a little treacherous given the snowfall. That being said, having the hotel in a safe area with plenty of dining options was a real plus as we had spent the whole day walking.

Parking our cars was $16/day in a garage across the street and the indoor parking was pretty key given the time of year we were visiting. We booked through Expedia and got a "free" continental breakfast but this was pretty minimal with the other option being $5 off the breakfast menu.

Overall a great experience in this boutique hotel, friendly staff and very nice clean hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanucksFan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and you found the hotel is in a perfect location for your visit in Quebec city ! We hope to see you again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you on you next stay ! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the RW on our way home to Ottawa. Very good hotel, comfortable room, beds. Renovated rooms etc. La Queue de Voeux restaurant on site was also very nice. RW is well located 2 minutes from Le Vieux Québec by car, 10 minut walk. I would recommend this boutique hotel. It was in the middle of a cold snap, so the indoor parking was appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ-Kville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review, it's really important for us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is a priority. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again !
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal William. The room décor was modern, bed very comfy, and the bath modern and clean. A continental breakfast was included, not much, but adequate. Parking was located directly across the street in a garage. While not included, the fee did not seem very expensive. The walk to Old Town is about 20 min which isn't too bad, except for the hill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in you next stay in Quebec City !
Bets regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Located a short distance by escalier or ascenseur to the main tourist areas, but directly adjacent to great local bars and restaurants, this hotel is perfect for those wanting to get a taste of modern Quebec. The room was large, with sleek, spare design, a comfortable bed and plenty of in-room amenities. The restaurant was convenient for breakfast, and while we did not have dinner there, it was a popular location as it looked full each night. The desk staff was patient with my rudimentary French and willing to help me practice my language skills. A very nice place in a fun city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenfr155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

First, I would like to thank you for your great review, it's really appreciate !
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in your next trip in Quebec City ! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Service was great and rooms were clean but quiet dated. Pretty far walk from the tourist sights and straight up a mountain to get there. Be aware that free breakfast only is for like 6 Dollars and that you will get charged the difference if you order something more expensive than the bare basic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renva72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a nice review. It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of our accommodation. Be sure that we consider all your comments. Thank again for your time ! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vincent
Hotel Le Vincent
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal William 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing