We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Two nights stay for three people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #54 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two nights stay for three people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me , my mom and my sister went for this hotel for two night from September 1st to 2nd 2013. We had a king bed and a chest-field bed for my sister. The room is very clean and the beddings are really comfortable ( as for someone the bedding and mattress are really important for my sleep) . They put the king bed in one side of room and the chest-field bed at the other side of room ( In between is the washroom). We had a great time in this hotel. There is also a Mini fridge. the only thing is they do not have a Kettle in the room but we managed to use a coffee machine to make a cup of tea or coffee. The staff is very friendly and there is only one staff working at the reception counter. The breakfast is not buffet. on the menu, there is one is free , worth $5 ( which calls " continental " and includes crossie, danish, fruits, bun, coffee and orange juice ) , if you want to choose another breakfast in the menu, you only have to pay the difference of ( for example, I ordered " 1 egg" which is $ 7.5, compared to the " Continental" of $5 , you only have to pay $ 2.5 for " 1egge" . the server who works at that restaurant are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The room that I stayed in is on the 4th floor and I found it is really quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruochen_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for writing this amazing review on the Hôtel Royal William!
We are delighted to read you enjoyed the hotels location and accommodation.
We truly appreciate all of your positive notes and providing all our tripAdvisor readers wonderful information about the hotel surroundings.

We look forward to see you on your next trip to Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    105
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
65
117
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although you have to park two blocks away (is not a bad walk at all), the hotel is immaculately clean and comfortable. It was good to find a great place to stay really close to old Quebec City. Although the day I stayed the restaurant had just one employee for everyone there, that guy was hustling and bustling. He made me feel as if I was the only person once he was in front of me. Order correct, and with a smile. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The room I stayed was overlooking at the parking lot, so the view was not as good as I would have wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alrivera01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,
It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the Hôtel Royal William location and the cleanliness of our accommodation. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdivor. We hope to see you on your next trip to Québec City!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The front desk people were the most helpful and answered all of my questions and gave wonderful suggestions to this first time visitor to Quebec City. The continental breakfast was delicious and your entire staff were friendly . Your hotel was my favorite one during the entire trip and I will chose the Royal William again. John S

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated from noise, very comfortable bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor, it's really appreciated ! We are really pleased that we have been your favorite hotel during your vacation. We hope to see you again in your next stay in Quebec City ! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Roayl William was a pleasant surprise. The overall impression was one of elegance and class. We were very surprised with the luxurious room and even though the room faced Boulevard Charest the noise was very minimal. The staff were accommodating and smiled at our attempt to converse en Francais. They quickly switched to English for us. The hotel is well-situated just minutes from Old Quebec and there are plenty of shops adn restaurants 'just around the corner' within walking distance.The only thing to note, for transparency, is that the 'free breakfast voucher' is really a $5 voucher towards the breakfasts that are availabile at the on-site restaurant. There were good options available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to see that you had an excellent stay with our hotel. The entire hôtel Royal William team will be thrilled to see such positive feedback.

Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pulling into the Royal William, I thought I had chosen a Quebec City hotel with a poor location. Boy was I wrong. It's a longish uphill walk to old Quebec City, but just an around-the-corner walk to some great restaurants and bars. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated. The lobby and rooms are very neat and clean. The beds were comfortable as well. Additionally, the front desk staff was very kind and more than willing to give us food recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the Hôtel Royal William accommodations. It is always our goal to make sure every service provided is personalize to meet all of our guests' expectations and to make sure every guests have a more than pleasant stay. I am happy to hear we were able to do so for you during you stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdivor, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Quebec City !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

All of the front desk clerks we met were friendly and easily switched to English for us. The hotel was in a good location, about 15 minutes from Old City (most of it seemed uphill for those who may not want that much exercise on vacation). The rooms were clean, some items in the bathroom seemed outdated and the carpet a bit worn but the bed was firm and the linens were clean. There is a great continental breakfast option in the restaurant and I would stay here again since it was easy to find and parking was convenient. Air conditioner did not seem very efficient or effective

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it's really important for us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is a priority and be sure that your comments are noted seriously. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again !
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

my wife and i made reservations to stay at this hotel for three nites in july 2013, while whlle we vistied quebec city and the old city . the holtel looked good on the internet, the price was good, we looked at at map on line and the hotel was ablut the same distance from the hilton hotel to the city. when we got there we noticed the we were in the lower city and it was a hike to get to the old city , there was a tall cliff between us and the city. we took our car after checking in to get our bearings of the city and confirmed to ourselves that this hotel wasn't the rite choice for what we wanted to do here. on the second morning , we checked out with the help of the front desk person, she was very help full and called the hilton hotel and made our reservations for us. the hiilton was much more expensive, but we were very pleased with our move when we got there, it was only a short walk to the front gate of the old city. the hotel royal william was a charming hotel, the rooms were good sized , they looked updated, the bed was good and there was good water preasure in the shower, very comfortable. the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephscalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review! It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and our rooms.
Our priority is to provide the best service for all our guest and we are so pleased that we were able to do this for you ! Thank you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel PUR Quebec
#44 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Hotel Le Vincent
#14 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#72 of 108 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#48 of 108 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Property: Hotel Royal William
Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal William 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Canada and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing