We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel Within Walking Distance to the Old City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Raymond, Maine
2 reviews
“A great hotel Within Walking Distance to the Old City”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Royal William Hotel turned out to be a fantastic find within walking distance to the old city of Quebec. The walk itself will take you past some great shops and restaurants as well. The room we had was huge, modern, comfortable and with a bathroom I wanted to take home with me! The staff was especially polite and helpful and made suggestions of excellent restaurants close to the hotel when we had walked the city for hours and just wanted to dine close to the hotel. We found the price reasonable, the service excellent and the quality of the room outstanding. We will return here on our next trip to quebec city!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Bonjour Dale K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Royal Williams fantastic location and accommodation. We truly appreciate all your positives notes and I’m sure our team will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

We look forward to see you on your next visit to Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    112
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
67
124
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Royal William. The hotel is immaculate and beautifully renovated. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. There is a $16.00/day charge for parking in the garage across the street. It would be helpful to know in advance that it is easier to drive around to the rear of the building to unload prior to check in, rather than cross the busy street with luggage. The front desk person can then open the door. Much easier!!!! It is about a 15 minute walk to St Jean Street. We enjoyed it, but it might be too much for an elderly person. Rate includes a nice breakfast, which can be upgraded for little money in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner there 1 night, and it was one of our favorite dining experiences.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Charest Blvd have nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Bonjour Robert L,

I am so please to here you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and you have experienced great service from the front desk staff and the restaurant. I do apologies for any inconvenience from the parking. The full front and back side of the hotel Royal William is an unloading zone, it is intended to accommodate our guest to unload their luggages and stay parked for 15-20min. I will definitely take your suggestion in consideration and put a note on our website about parking access.

Thank you for sharing you wonderful feedback, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Old town Quebec City was exceptional: more amazing than we had expected. From the moment we booked into the Royal William Hotel, with upscale modern accommodations, we engaged with friendly, helpful people. The hotel staff went above and beyond to help us make our time in Quebec City most memorable. The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious. With hotel provided complimentary maps of the city, we walked to restaurants, shopping and festivities which included fireworks and midnight old town tours. This city oozes with history, french ambiance, and delicacies too numerous to mention. It is a place that we loved visiting and hope to visit again to explore further. A truly awesome time!! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

I am so please to hear you enjoyed the City and the Royal Williams accommodation. I am delighted that you experienced excellent service from the team, they will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

Thank you very much for this amazing review. We hope to see you again during your future stay in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

not in the tourist area , but even better in the real people quebec, a real French city; a 15-20 minute walk up to the tourist mecca.
A quiet elegance to the rooms a 1920's-1930's feel to the furnishings and space

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allensandraalexmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind note. We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient locating and found the Royal William had plenty of charm.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The parking is 16.00 and you have to park across the street!!
It should be free for all that hassle!!

The room was Not setup for 4 guests as booked, had to wait for front desk to bring towels cups, coffee, etc up.

The rooms air conditioning was not working properly was too warm.

No pool!

Other Comfort Inn and Quality Inn's had full breakfasts, only contential here?? It cost more too!!

Room decore and hotel lobby and hallways were nice! Beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!y
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Royal William. It is feedback such as yours that we always work on improving our services and hotel facilities. In regard to your comment on the air conditioning, it was indeed a very HOT day outside I am truly sorry for any miss comfort it cause you; I would like to assure you that all matters raised in your review are being dealt with.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the décor and that the room accommodation was comfortable. We greatly apologize for the disappointing experience you had in the hotel and hope you would give us a chance to provide you the full Royal William experience on your next visit to Quebec City.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Royal William. The location was an interesting walk to the main core. The location of the hotel has lots to offer as well. Great pub type eats as well as a great Mountain Equipment Coop store. Our room was roomy and very clean. The staff were very helpful and seemed to enjoy dealing with their guests. Breakfast was also very nice. The parking is in an enclosed garage directly across the street...very safe. A very nice stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad that you chose our location for you past stay and are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation. I see you had a chance to visit a bit of the area. I couldn’t agree more with you that our location is very convenient for business and leisure travelers; we have many restaurants, pubs, boutiques, grocery store even a small park all within a five minutes’ walk from the Royal William.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Quebec City. This was our first time staying here and we liked it so much that we plan on coming back on our next trip to Quebec. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful--always a smile. Both the young lady and the young gentleman were very nice. We enjoyed our continental breakfast in the hotel dining room-- the food was delicious and the young gentleman who was our server was very nice. Our room was immaculate and cozy. We loved the fact that the old city was within walking distance and walked all 3 days we were there--the scenery was beautiful. We were amazed with how friendly EVERYONE was in the hotel and in the city. A great experience and I have shared our experience with family, friends and coworkers. Thanks:)

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maineyankee062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this excellent review! It is wonderful to read when a guest writes that they look forward to returning to the Hotel Royal William on their next visit to Quebec City. I am so happy that you and your husband enjoyed the hotels accommodation, the team will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

Can’t thank you enough for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel PUR Quebec
#46 of 102 in Quebec City
445 reviews
Hotel Le Vincent
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
465 reviews
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
246 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Property: Hotel Royal William
Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal William 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing