We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hospitality”
Review of Castel du Monde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel du Monde
Ranked #33 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Quebec city. We found our way easily from the directions. Parking is close by and all the sites in the old city are within easy walking distance. We had a large comfortable room with a balcony. Breakfasts were wonderful and we enjoyed meeting the other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was our first time to Castel du monde and our first impression has improved after the first day.
Even if the owner was not home for our arrival, it was very well explained that we had to enter a code to open the first door and we found our keys in an envelope for the main entrance and our room. We felt like home going through the house as we pleased. Jolenta, the owner, made sure that we were comfortable and happy. The breakfast was super. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone except to people who have problem with stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DieppeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May and must say that our room was just wonderful. It was spacious and beautifully decorated. We especially admired the art on the walls. Breakfast was superb. We were very lucky to stay here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JandPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 4 fantastic days during Carnaval in Quebec City. Great location, walking distance to all restaurants, attractions. Our accomodation at Castel du Monde was excellent. Our room was spacious, charming and decorated with interesting art. Natalie was very helpful for advice, she gave us good tips on where to go and what places to visit. Our trip to Ice Castle was amazing. The buffet served in the dining room was very appetizing with fruits, cheeses, cakes, meat and hot dish changing every day. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minigagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had an amazing time at Castel du Monde. We loved sharing stories with other guest and tips on where to go for the day. Breakfast was great with many choices. Our room facing the street was elegant and super clean.
Location was walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants.
We slept wonderfully and the beds were so comfortable. I met the owner and her daughters and had a lovely conversation. I can't wait to visit Quebec City again. The house is in a great location and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoriaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Castel du Monde is a perfect locatation in the heart of the old city. A short walk to all the major sights. Jolanta is a fantastic hostess, she made time to answer all our questions! Very comfortable room, spacious and tastefully decorated. Excellent buffet virtualy everything home made. This B&B is right up there with the best. Highly recommended it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank olivier s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What can I say about Castel du Monde? Well, first of all, it is run more like a boarding house than a B&B. We did not even see our hostess for the first 2 days of our stay, and in fact, had no idea what to do with our payment. The first person we met turned out to be the owner's daughter, who breezed right past us, without so much as a "Bonjour" and began typing at a computer. When I asked her if she knew where we could pay for our lodging, her reply was that she did not work there, her mother owned the place, and if our room was open, then it was ready. OK? So, I've never had a more difficult time parting with my money. For some, this may be a plus, but for me it was an aggravation. It was not until breakfast of the second day of our stay there that a young Asian man, serving as a bus boy, was able to track down the hostess, so that we could settle our account.

Breakfast itself was a disappointment. Again, run much more like a boarding house. There is a small room with several cafe style tables. More than once, when we went down to eat, all of the tables were full. Again, the hostess was never to be seen.

Breakfast was self-serve, cafeteria style. Certainly OK for the price and there was quite a bit of variety, but nothing spectacular. My husband was a fan of the coffee, so I will give them that.

The positives about this place are that it is in an excellent location in Old Quebec City. The rooms are huge and romantic, if you are a fan of hardwood floors and a decor, as described in the next sentence: This place is an antique lovers paradise. The entire place a mish-mash of various woods, gold appliqué, ceramics, crystal chandeliers, porcelains, wainscoting, and colors whose combination would be extremely gaudy in less than the most artistic of hands.
Here, at Castel du Monde, there are paintings and vases and ceramic impressions at very turn, in a riot of colors, but it all works.

I was also very impressed by how clean everything was. With all of the bric-a-brac present, a supreme effort must go into keeping the place clean and dust free.

My husband would give this place another try. I am more reluctant. I was very happy to have a large, clean room in an excellent location, but this was not my idea of a bed and breakfast. I doubt that we will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveJBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Le Vincent
#28 of 100 in Quebec City
768 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
213 reviews
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 120 in Quebec City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire
Chez Marie-Claire
#23 of 120 in Quebec City
158 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#10 of 120 in Quebec City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel du Monde

Address: 31B Ste-Ursule | Downtown, Old Québec City, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $108 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel du Monde is situated within the fortified walls and the most animated historic district of Old Quebec. Castel du Monde offers rooms of a unique charme each of them equipped with the following amenities: air conditioned, non-smoking, hard-wood floors private, en-suite bathroom, TV-cable, refrigerator, free wireless internet access, sitting area, desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Du Monde Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing