We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel du Monde
Ranked #33 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This B&B is an outstanding find right in the Old City. Almost everything is within walking distance from here. Our accommodations were in the carriage house behind the main building. It was very spacious and private. The breakfasts were superb. We parked our car in the municipal underground garage about seven minutes walk away ($17 per day, prorated). Our host was extremely gracious. We would heartily recommend this establishment and would stay here again on our return to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 126 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our three days at Castel du Monde. This is an old, historic town home on a quite street, in a great location in old Quebec City. The room was quaint and comfortable, with the decor eclectic (some furnishings charming, others more eccentric). The breakfasts were very good, with a different hot dish prepared each day. Depending on your room, be prepared for a long climb up the stairs (our room was two flights up, others were three). Also, the policy is cash-only, which required us to make several large withdrawals from the local ATM. Still, the value (compared to other hotel prices) is outstanding, and I can certainly recommend Castel du Monde.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintLouisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 4 days on this top noch B&B and can only talk wonders about it.
It is located in the middle of upper old town, with excellent restaurants in the near by area. The area around the house is very quiet.Our room, we stay on the Cartier Room, had beautiful views and beautiful furnishings . Breakfast are prepared with so much care that you look for this moment of the day to enjoy the food along with the background music.
Above everything, Yolanta, who is always ready for support and making your stay in the house a perfect experience.

Room Tip: Cartier Room at the back of the house on the top level, is peaceful and has excelent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guillermo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our children speak French due to an immersion program, & a 3 day trip to Quebec city was a wonderful experience. Madame Jolante's B&B is charmingly decorated to accentuate the unique characteristics of her lovely home. Our bedroom was spacious, comfortable and welcoming. Madame Jolante served us the best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B. Homemade omelet and veggie souffles, bread, croissant, cake, fresh crepes, fruit, cheese, ham, coffee, tea, yogurt - we did not need lunch! Madame Jolante also made our trip easy with great advice about what to do and where to go with a 9 year old boy and 16 year old girl. We will definitely go back to Castel du Monde when we return to North America's corner of Europe!

Room Tip: For a big family, "Frontenac" can sleep 5 and has it's own tub/shower bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tia_Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This gorgeous B and B tops any I've ever seen in North America! Jolenta the proprietess has an incredible eye and from top to bottom the inn is filled with magnificent antiques - not quaint garage sale cast-offs but exquisite furniture and artifacts. Every room is a gem - don't worry which you'll get because in the off season we saw them all, and each was positively brimming with unique beauty and character. As for breakfast - one word, which is WOW! OK, so you're staying in a gorgeous, spotlessly clean place with delicious food and a charming hostess,so all that remains is local......which happens to be right in the middle of every place you want to go in the Old City! Castel du Monde is nothing short of fabulous....lucky you for staying there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This recommendation is very overdue! We stayed at this great establishment in mid October 2011 for 6 nights and loved every minute of it. Our hostess and owner Jolanta (and daughter Natalie) went out of their way to make us welcome.Our room was terrific,the bed was comfortable,the overall ambiance was exceptional. Breakfast was really a treat a continental fare and so much to chose from it reminded me of Europe! We most certainly will return to the Castel du Monde again. My husband and I can't wait. Dave and Sofia (USA)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma91_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We decided on short notice to drive to Quebec City when Hurricane Irene scrambled our Labor Day weekend plans to go on a sailing vacation, so we were delighted when a cancelation enabled us to get a room for 3 nights here. I must admit that driving into the Old City late at night is somewhat challenging - especially since our Garmin didn't work in Canada as it was supposed to, and we had to depend on our costly iPhone GPS to find our way into the city late at night. Thankfully, hostess Jolanta had posted directions to local parking lots - you do NOT want to drive much in the city, and we cheerfully parked our car for the duration in a nearby underground garage.

Castel du Monde, also known by another name at the same address, is on a charming street very central to everything. The building is very old but immaculately kept. We had a room on the very top floor (photos show it) and it was absolutely gorgeous - exposed brick walls, period furniture, a nice firm European-style mattress, grand bathroom and shower. I have atrial fibrillation, which makes climbing stairs somewhat of a chore, but we paused on the way up, and made care to limit our need to climb to no more than 2 round trips a day.

This is truly a first class B&B by any standards. Towels were dense and very absorbant, windows with soundproof double panes. Wi-Fi was good, but not exceptional on the top floor - to be expected, alas, in all buildings with dense masonry walls. It also attracts a first class quality of guest, people who are friendly and easy to chat with. We met a large Canadian family there, the father of whom was undergoing major surgery in a city hospital, and breakfast with them was an additional treat.

Breakfasts were exceptional. Jolanta aims to please, and scores all the time. We don't eat meat, so she prepared eggs without the customary ham. I defy you to eat just one tasty croissant, and to pick just one of the many cheeses and pastries on offer. Coffee hot and well brewed, my partner assures me.

We walked almost everywhere. The Citadel is but a short walk away, as are loads of excellent restaurants, and virtually every treasure of the Old City. You can easily see all of Quebec City in 3 days, and you will not find a nicer "base of operations" than Castel du Monde.

For those of you who've enjoyed the cities of Europe, you will feel quite at home in Quebec City. Unlike Paris or Rome, it's not a place you feel the need to return to again and again. But if you find yourself needing a "fix" for the continental lifestyle without leaving this continent, it's well worth the time to visit Quebec City.

Room Tip: Try for a lower floor. If you have serious mobility issues, this is not an appropriate B&B for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel_StonehamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Le Vincent
#28 of 100 in Quebec City
768 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
213 reviews
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 120 in Quebec City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire
Chez Marie-Claire
#21 of 120 in Quebec City
158 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#10 of 120 in Quebec City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel du Monde

Address: 31B Ste-Ursule | Downtown, Old Québec City, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $108 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel du Monde is situated within the fortified walls and the most animated historic district of Old Quebec. Castel du Monde offers rooms of a unique charme each of them equipped with the following amenities: air conditioned, non-smoking, hard-wood floors private, en-suite bathroom, TV-cable, refrigerator, free wireless internet access, sitting area, desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Du Monde Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing