We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning- Not All Rooms Have Been Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Although the location is all that you can hope for, please be warned that the unrenovated rooms are very disappointing. After reading the wonderful reviews I booked two rooms at this hotel for a group of four woman. We called the hotel to be sure we could have double beds in each of the rooms. I was assured that this would not be a problem and that our rooms would be located next to each other. Unfortunately, the hotel failed to mention that double beds are only available in the unrenovated section of the hotel. The rooms were not adjoining and not acceptable. One room was in the cowboy motive with faded leopard print pillows and accessories. The fabric on the upholstered chairs was hanging loose from the furniture. The bathroom was tiny. Our other room was painted a very bright peach. In both rooms the tv was small and sat on a painted wooden box. The hotel management acknowledged the rooms were in need of renovation but they were not able to do anything about our stay. The disappontment was even more pronounced due to us meeting a couple at check-in who were looking for a room and were offered a suite for the same price as the rooms we had booked well in advance. The hotel did give us ten percent off the price of the rooms but I would not recommend you stay at this hotel unless you were in renovated rooms.

Stayed: September 2006
13  Thank lawrence44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2006

This is a wonderful little hotel. It is packed with interesting artifacts. The staff was excellent. Our room, one of the theme suites, was terrific. Nice feel, nice location, nice service. I've travelled all over and this was definitely one of my favorites.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank Explorer224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My wife and I recently enjoyed three fantastic nights at Auberge St. Antoine. The hotel is beautiful and ideally located for exploring this wonderful city. Everyone from the valet who parked the car to the concierge was friendly and eager to help in any way possible. We had a river view room which was large and comfortable. The whirlpool tub was a blessing after traversing the hilly streets all day. The only blemish in the room was a frayed arm on the couch and a few beverage stains. Traffic noise could be a problem for light sleepers but since we are early risers it wasn’t an issue.

We had one breakfast and one dinner at Panache, the restaurant in the hotel. The service and the food were excellent.

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We had a5 night stay in this fabulous hotel. The staff and hotel are first rate in every way, and I could not find one fault. Our room came complete with a terrace and fireplace. From the the terrace we could view part of the Frontenac and the river. We dined at Panache the first evening and the design of the restaurant, the wonderful attentive service and the food were superb. The concierge assisted us with restaurant reservations, tickets to Cavalia, and retrieving a camera which was left in a tour car the day before.
The hotel's close proximity to Rue Paul (antiques), shopping, other excellent restaurants and sites is a real bonus. The streets surrounding the hotel are very quiet.
This Relais and Chateau hotel hit the mark.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

My husband and I did a lot of research before selecting this hotel and it was absolutely the right choice. We were impressed before we even set foot inside. It has such a lovely exterior and is positioned right across the street from the St. Lawrence River.

We booked the reseveration online and requested a room on a top floor with a view. Not holding our breath, we were pleasantly surprised to find that they had accomodated that request. We were located on the 5th floor and our room opened up to overlook the courtyard direclty below and the river across the street.

The room had a luxuriously comfortable bed with a big comforter. The room was equipped with a boise radio and CDs to choose from as well as an umbrella, bathrobe, slippers, turn down service, etc.

This hotel has managed to combine historical treasures they found while renovating the hotel with modern and unique design.

We also took advantage of eating in Panache our first night there. What a fabulous restaurant! The food and service was top notch and the ambiance was like nothing we've experienced. You cannot get more romantic than Panache.

We spent 3 nights and were tempted to add on a fourth we were so happy with this hotel. We cannot rate it highly enough. It's not just beautiful - we felt we received real value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank NETravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Nice hotel in a great location. Two minute walk to restaurants, shopping and the funicular, it's close to everything. The decor was nice; rooms were clean, spacious, the bed was awesome. The bathroom was nice and had a good shower.
The staff was pleasant. We stayed here with our infant baby and they were ready for us with a crib set up in our room prior to our arrival. Although I would recommend this hotel for couples, I wouldn't say they cater to families.
The valet and front desk people were pleasant; the restaurant host came across snooty. I would recommend having breakfast down the street at the Auberge St. Pierre: less expensive, good food and very welcoming restaurant staff.
Overall a nice place, great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sollay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

I felt compelled to review this hotel after staying there for four nights over Labor Day weekend. Here's why:

Amenities: What luxury! Heated bathroom floors, oversized tub/rainshower, artifacts in the room (although it didn't feel museum-like), a lobby with small nooks, comfy couches, board games, and fireplaces, and a (free) private movie theatre to name a few. Very careful attention to detail, including an electronic button next to the bed to indicate whether the room is ready for service, so you don't have to deal with those pesky "privacy please" door hangs.

Staff: From check-in to check-out, we felt like honored guests in this hotel. We arrived on Wednesday, which coincidentally was the day of the manager's evening reception. Dave chatted with everyone personally and gave us some excellent recommendations for entertainment. The concierge was also extremely friendly and helpful - she directed us to a less-touristy Farmer's Market, where we bought fresh food and had a picnic on a hill overlooking the Chateau Frontenac!

Location: In my opinion, Vieux Quebec is the place to stay if you're on a romantic holiday. This hotel is right across from the Saint Lawrence River, tucked away beneath the Chateau Frontenac (therefore less touristy!), and nestled between art galleries and cobblestone streets. It was a 10-minute walk to the Chateau and a 2-minute walk to the boat cruise we took on the river. Great restaurants in the area as well. Downtown just can't compete with authentic French ambiance.

Price: I travel for work weekly and have stayed at many luxury hotels, but never have I gotten the value for my money as much as at the Saint-Antoine. I saw the rooms at the Chateau Frontenac during a tour of the hotel, and was not impressed at all. They were small, standard amenities, and the bathroom looked very old.

Restaurant: Panache, one of the best restaurants in all of Quebec (and I heard a rumor that it's top 100 in North America), is within the hotel. It's quite pricey, but we enjoyed an exquisite 4-hour dinner and felt like royalty.

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldTravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 101 in Quebec City
1,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $187 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing