We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff, great rooms, great location”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked Auberge St. Antoine for the Family Day long weekend which is also the Valentine's day weekend.

We originally were going to book at the Chateau Frontenac but they were all booked (in December). So I found Auberge St. Antoine and called them and booked the room with no issues. Concierge was very helpful and informed me that it is winter carnival and if we want any tips to where to go, someone will contact me. Which they did the following day.

We also told the hotel we were staying there because we are getting marry that weekend. A day before we were set to arrive, I called the hotel and asked them if they can steam our dress and suit for us because we were packing them in a suitcase (flying in from Toronto). They said to just call them in the morning and they will make sure to have it ready for us the following day.

Upon arrival, reception knew we were getting marry that weekend as they put everything in their notes. We asked if the company we worked at has corporate discounts and they said they will get back to us. That was also put in the notes for the next person to follow up on.

We went up to our room and there were cupcakes and a personalized note thanking us for staying at the hotel on this special occasion.

All the hotel staff were super helpful and very friendly.

The night of our wedding dinner, we were going to call a cab to take us to le Continental. They offered to drive us to and from the restaurant in the hotel car. They expressed they can do that only when it is not busy. Lucky us...the were not busy! Saved us some money on cab rides.

The room itself was very big. It's like a bachelor condo. The washroom is huge with a rain shower and a large tub. There is a Nespresso machine in the room and an assorted variety of coffee to choose from (which were refilled only once during our 3 night stay).

The restaurant Panache...was ok. I do not think it is worth the money we spent but the service was great.

I didn't get to use their gym or spa but we did take a quick peek and it looked very nice.

All in all it was a wonderful stay at the Auberge St. Antoine and I am glad I stayed there instead of Chateau Frontenac. Hands down Auberge St. Antoine's customer service is top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    215
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
297
1,370
44
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Auberge is in my favourite location, in oldest most charming part of town by the river, and close to sights, restaurants, shops, covered market, transport.

Despite large open spaces and a modern design, hotel felt very cosy with its fire places and couches, lovely original light fixtures, historic artifacts, busy fun lounge, pleasant welcoming staff… I am yet another reviewer who did not want to leave the place, our lovely room with river views and terrace. Also, we thought the saunas, gym, restaurant just wonderful and would love to return in the future.

When booking, I asked for a room with a view and that is what we got. Room #502 -- light, sunny, with large comfy bed, a couch, bathroom with tub and heated floors, snowy terrace with gorgeous views of dark blue river, ice flowing and ferry crossing to and from Lévis... There were nice organic teas and lots of complimentary coffee, robes, slippers, fine quality toiletries including bath salts, and the turndown service was lovely (more fresh towels, bottled water, nicely arranged room).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank innaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiersteadville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through from Ontario to New Brunswick and randomly decided to stay in old Quebec. Since this was rated the highest on tripadvisor we choose it and we have no regrets.
Valet parking, great assistance from all the staff.

The room, 218 was spotless and the mini fridge was fully stocked. We do have 1 dislike the tv remote wouldn't work from the bed when we got there so I went to the front desk and they got us another remote. Which they checked to make sure it would change channels before they left. After they left it did change channels but it wouldn't turn the tv off and we couldn't get to the movies menu. I didn't go back to the desk about this as it was getting late and we were tired. This normaly would lose a star for me especially since this hotel is not really a basic hotel, but I have no doubts that the staff would of come and rectified the situation for us had I gone back to the desk or called them to come fix it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fdfreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our travel agent recommended the hotel and the package that includes breakfast, and we were thrilled with her suggestions. Both the room and the meals were absolutely perfect. The bathroom was luxurious with a soaker tub for two, shower, heated floor, and large two-person vanity. The breakfasts were the most elaborate and innovative I've ever experienced in a hotel - which was the perfect start to full days of sightseeing and winter sports. We were disappointed initially that no rooms with king beds were available, but the queen bed was so comfortable and deep that we didn't end up minding at all. The bottled water bedside at turn-down was a particularly nice touch! The only thing we weren't thrilled with was that the room was warmer than we'd like, even after we first turned down the thermostat, and then turned the heater off altogether. The hotel seemed full of guests from warmer climates so we concluded the hotel must be heated for their comfort standards, which is fine - but my suggestion would be to bring lighter-weight clothes for inside the hotel (and particularly sleepwear) than Canadians would normally expect in winter. We were impressed with everything about the service but in particular the concierges at this hotel were amazingly knowledgeable and helpful. Since we were in Quebec for only four days, we wanted to make detailed advance plans to make the most of every hour. After connecting by email ahead of the trip, the concierges sent detailed packages of information about nearby attractions and restaurants, even including the number of minutes it would take to walk to each one from the hotel! We wanted to spend a day outside the city enjoying outdoor winter activities, and we ended up booking a day of dogsledding and Nordic spa in Saint-Catherine-de-la-Jacques-Cartier, complete with door-to-door transport, all arranged entirely by two of the concierges in perfect English. Both recommendations turned out to be terrific and we came home with wonderful stories and photographs of the amazing winter adventures we had in Quebec!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a sore throat and asked for some lemon and honey to be brought to our rooms two mornings. This was done quickly by great staff and we weren't charged. The room is very nice but the bathroom is superb. Loved the heated floor. Loved the complimentary espresso pod machine in the room and the herbal teas. Nice touch to leave weather forecast on pillow each night. And I've never seen smoother sheets and duvet covers in my life! Not a wrinkle in sight! Concierge was extremely helpful with dinner recommendations and making reservations. Thanks you!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WinterEve77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear WinterEve 77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and to share them on Tripdavisor.
We are happy to learn that even with a sore throat you came to enjoy your stay and that our staff looked well after you.

Kind regards,
Ingrid Lemm
Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely experience, starting with deceptively simple entrance on a cobble-stoned side street. Great rooms, some with river views. The bathroom has heated tiles which are lovely in the middle of winter. Room service breakfast doesn't disappoint.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear JereF1,
Thank you rating us on Tripadvisor! Our heated bathrooms are one of the preferred features of our guests and they add to the high level of comfort we try to provide to our clients.
You may want to come back in the summer and enjoy different features of our rooms?

Kind regards,
Ingrid Lemm
Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

WOW! Where do I start? This was just the best hotel we have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world (and we have stayed in quite a few nice ones!) We booked this as it seemed reasonably priced and nice. It was outstanding. They ahve thought of every personal touch at this hotel. 'The White Company' toiletries, heated bathroom floor, very big rooms, top end coffee machine, Bose sound system in the room, extremely friendly, happy and friendly staff, windows that you can actually open, huge comfortable bed with quality linen. In the evening turndown service they put bottles of water by your bedside (often in hotels you just get a bottle on your first night), dim the lights and put relaxing music on the Bose system. The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a really good area. The cafe restaurant food was really, really good and the cocktails were delicious! The cafe area is really cosy and there are a couple of 'inglenook' places to sit next to a fireplace, really intimate and cosy. The fine dining restaurant 'Panache' is also really very good. The food was exquisite and again, the staff were fantastic. The restaurant setting is wonderful, drinks are delicious, as is the food. When we checked out of the hotel we we given a small, beautifully decorated bag of two home made cookies and a fragrant sweet jelly - such a nice, unexpected touch!

Every Wednesday night the Price family who own the hotel, lay on a cocktail hour with free drinks and nibbles. Again, another really nice, unexpected touch.

As we arrived really early we did not expect to be allowed to check in but they did let us and infact they upgraded us to a better room. I dont expect this would always happen, it would depend on availability, but this was really kind of them and again, was unexpected!

All in all, a wonderful hotel that we will certainly be staying in again. Can't fault it at all, really good, quality hotel. One not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sally B.
Your post starts with a “WOW”!
This very much appreciated by the entire team of Auberge Saint-Antoine. Every single person of our hotel is trying to make a difference in the stay of our guests and reading comments like yours is very encouraging for all of us. Our hotel is beautifully designed and a lot of thought has been put in every feature you can see. Our owners are very present to listen to what our guests have say.
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts of Auberge Saint-Antoine.
Kind regards,
Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing