We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the place to stay in Quebec City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in June 2013. While the weather was cold, wet and windy, the hotel and staff were wonderful. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are large and well appointed. We stayed in a king room with a view of interior garden area. The room was very very quiet. We did not hear people in the hall talking or doors banging. The bathroom was very large with a great shower and heated floors. It had a small refrigerator, tea pot and Nespresso coffee maker. There is a CD player with a selection of music. The location is perfect for a visit to the city. It is on the lower level near the water, but a short walk from the funiculla that goes up to the ramparts level by the Frontenac Hotel. There are wonderful art galleries, restaurants and stores nearby the hotel. The farmers market is within walking distance too. The people speak French, but quickly switch to English and are very friendly. Of course, it is always good to learn a few polite phrases to show respect for their language. It was terribly windy up on the higher level. We were so glad we were staying on the lower level. The hotel has spa services available, but we used our time for shopping and sight seeing. Things are generally expensive in the city. We went to smaller, less expensive restaurants after the first day. It is an incredibly beautiful city. We wish the weather had been better so we could have walked around more. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: You don't have to get the most expensive room to have a really nice one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoy the best Quebec City has to offer and treat yourself to a stay at the Auberge Saint-Antoine. Located in the historical lower part of Quebec City with its boutiques, restaurants and galleries. Absolutely charming and welcoming, very high end but you feel so very welcome and cozy. The rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms luxurious. The historical building offers a glimpse into the past and there are artifact collections throughout the hotel, even in the rooms. This was my second successful business trip there, we held meetings in their stunning board room and a working lunch in their quaint dinning room. The staff aim to please and are very pleasant. I would definitely coordinator another meeting there without any hesitation. The Auberge is attached to one of the best restaurants in Quebec City, Le Panache, worth the splurge! If you plan a trip to Quebec City for business or pleasure, you can't go wrong staying at the Auberge. My spouse and I found it outranked the Chateau Frontenac, having stayed there as well for pleasure. The Saint-Antoine is a great getaway and not a tourist attraction like the Chateau.

Room Tip: There are 2 portions to the hotel, an old and a newer building. I've stayed in both and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon_IGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at -- great location in the lower part of the Old City, wonderfully charming and helpful staff, excellent food. We got upgraded to a room with a deck and it was just delightful. Not cheap, but I've paid as much elsewhere for experiences that weren't nearly as nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel as our honeymoon romantic destination of choice after reading many trip advisor reviews. We loved it! In the dead of winter this warm and quant spot was perfectly appointed and had a wonderful story to tell. The staff was very friendly and even allowed us to reserve the theatre for a special screening of my wife's favourite movie. They made me look like a hero! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Thanks Trip Advisor for the reviews that led to our choice to stay here rather than Chateau Frontenac or Saint-Germain.This hotel is close to perfect in every way.Other than a glitch with our reservation, we arrived early and our suite was not ready, so we did some touring and when we returned were brought to a standard room.At first, we were told there were no suites available the first night, but could move us later in our stay.Good thing I had a good record of names and times I had talked to reservations.As some guests had not checked in yet, we were upgraded to a better suite than originally booked and a very nice apology dish of fresh baked goods and natural spring water were delivered to the room with a note from the manager.That is the type of classy service expected from a Relais&Chateau property and every single aspect of our stay was perfect from then on.Concierge Charles was especially helpful with resrvations at Toast, one of the hardest tables to reserve in the city and suggestions to visit the Marche Vieux Port for the best maple syrup directly from the farmers and also special herbs from the salt estuaries and cheeses were all available at this huge, bustling local farmer's market.One tip, bring canadian cash.We enjoyed a cheese and fresh bread lunch on the park on the St. Lawrence Riveiere.Breakfast and dinner at Panache were excellent,a little pricey.sommelier could have been a little more attentive, but his recommendation for wine for our dinner was very good.Have recommended hotel to many friends already.

Room Tip: Suites on rue St.Antoine side are good location,in oldest section with great antiques and a huge mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knife_n_fork32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in beautifully restored premises and an incredible amount of work has gone into in incorporating the various pieces of excavated pottery and suchlike into the décor. The overall effect is very classy.

On the practical side, the de luxe room was a good size with an excellent bathroom and there was a pleasant deck on which to sit and look at the St Lawrence. The bar was a very welcoming place for light meals or just for a drink. Service was friendly throughout and the hotel manages to achieve an air of sophistication without the snobbery that is so often found in high end hotels.

The location is great - just away from the touristy area but within easy walking distance of many good restaurants.

Room Tip: The bed and breakfast package was real value with no restriction on menu choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel after our St Lawrence Seaway/New England Cruise. It is so close to the boat we walked to it ( even my 81 year old dad was able to!) The hotel & staff could not have been nicer. Perfectly located to make walking around the old town easy. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We requested a high room facing the river and thats what they gave us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tutub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $186 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing