We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

For our first visit to Quebec City my husband and I stayed at the Auberge St. Antoine from June 3 thru June 5. Our experience was excellent. Our room was comfortable and quiet overlooking a small courtyard and the bathroom was very luxury. The hotel's location is in the lower part of town but only a three minute walk from Place Royal. The personnel we encountered were very courteous and helpful. I had wanted to stay in the Chateau Frontenace but in hindsight was glad not having had that option. I would definitely stay in the Auberge St. Antoine again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Quebec City.

Room Tip: We had room 912 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    206
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
283
1,343
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we arrived by car from Montreal we were greeted by 2 very nice gentlemen who addressed us by name even though we were early for check-in! They helped us with our baggage and got us settled into our very comfortable and spacious room. All of the staff was very pleasant and always helpful! There were 4 of us in our party (2 rooms) and we all agreed it was the nicest hotel on our trip which included 4 other hotels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveFrance27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Public Relations Manager at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear IloveFrance 27,

Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely reveiw about our hotel that we are pleased to share with the rest of the team.

We hope to have the pleasure to have you back one day,

Kind regards,

Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel was great with wonderful rooms. We booked a King suite with a terrace- very comfortable beds, pillows, and sound proof walls. Bathroom was quite luxurious and the shower lived up to the raving reviews. The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful.

Unfortunately, on our first night we had poor room service- ie no replacement of a dirty bath robe, no replacement of shampoos/shower gel/coffee/cream/sugar/napkins/etc. The bed was done like someone had a 30 second time limit. However, this was rectified immediately by someone who appeared to be some sort of manager. The room service that night was 2-star but because of the overall experience being so great, I still want to give a 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was very nervous that Tablet rated this as the "traditional" hotel and Le Germain was the "buzzy" one. My experience was the opposite. I am all about buzz.

Busy place and not just old people. My room had a terrace that was meant to be city view but actually had river view as well (I suspect any room with terrace is good (I had 605) - I could see them all from mine in a good way).

When I booked the famous restaurant was full. They got me in and I stayed so late they carried my drinks to the hotel bar and we took our bottle of wine with a bit left to the room. As it should be.

In the morning my girlfriend had the cap on her tooth come off (she is 28!!!). The concierge Evelyn Charest called 15 dentists, found us one at our next stop, rented us a car and helped with out hotel. She also got us the best rates for the car. This is beyond the call for a boutique hotel.

We had a problem with our movie and the hotel made it their problem - so rare.

Putting aside the perfect location - I was nervous about the nouveau (Ikea) physicality on the web. I was wrong - others have said it, but I am very critical of "getting it right". QC is small and I promise, this is the place to be. I am a snob in terms of wanting to be in the right place not for "snob appeal" but centre of gravity (and action?) and this is it.

As always with Boutiques, I made the decision to aim for a good room ($350/night). So at this price in a small town you want to get everything. I did - as always, if you don't get a great room you may always be better going for a lesser hotel with a bigger room. I was so unsure of my choice I actually went to the Chateau Frontenac first and they refused to show me a sample room instead saying they were going to renovate soon and Le Germain which was church like in action (dead).

Don't get me wrong - QC is so small many places will work and they will all be well located. Life is about expectations and this place won't change your life (it is port town in QC versus Stockholm) if you are well travelled - but if you are well travelled it is 5 star international standards.

Room Tip: 605 is perfect with City and River views (even though sold as only city)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A wonderful hotel. Fine location. Very helpful staff. Room (501) was comfortable and attention was paid to functionality in its design. Nice view of the river with access to sitting area on terrace. Bathroom was spectacular.

Room Tip: This was the only room we saw. View of the river is lovely if no cruise boat is in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Most perfect location in lower old Quebec. A sophisticated retreat from the tourist crush. Extraordinary service and facilities. Front desk and bell hop team are top notch and on the ball. Near best dining in city including their restaurant Panache. Definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Treat yourself for view or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A frequent traveller to QC, I have stayed at pretty much every hotel. This is by far the best. First, the welcome is warm and inviting. The lobby is nice, unlike the Dominion where there is virtually no lobby. The room we had (#501) was well appointed with Frette linens, a beautiful bathroom, and a fantastic terrace (patio) overlooking the river. You just can't beat this hotel for location, quality of the amenities and service. The concierge is fabulous and helpful. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing