We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at Georgette's”
Review of Au Bois Joli B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Bois Joli B&B
Ranked #1 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

When first driving to Au Bois Joli you begin to wonder how far out from the centre of Quebec can this B & B be. DO NOT BE ALARMED. The location will turnout to be perfect, situated in a quiet road in what many would describe as "millionaires row". The pristine house with only 4 or 5 letting rooms ( all immaculate ensuite) is a very simple bus ride ( tickets & timetable from your host ) to noisy,bustling old Quebec city & if you desire, only 2 minutes walk to Maguire Street, Quebec residents favourite road for restaurants & bars.
This house is spotless, tastfully decorated & with a very attentive host in Georgette but the highlight is breakfast. Georgette presents each course to the assembled guests with the same detail, enthusiasm & skill as you see on an episode of Masterchef, homemade juice followed by salmon, asparagus & herb ommlette, bread & jams, cake & finally maple pie made to her attentive partner Jean's mother's secret recipe. Nothing less than a zillion calories.
Tea & coffee available all day in the guest lounge & we opened 1 or 2 bottles of wine after an evening out with no objection from hosts.
We paid $115 per room bed & breakfast, a bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Au Bois Joli is located bang in the middle of a very nice, quiet, residential street/ neighbourhood and from the outside, you wouldn't have even noticed it was a B&B. It was nice to know that in running this business, the owners ensured that they didn't ruin the neighbourhood and made sure their house blended in with everything around them.

We had a car rental so it was nice to know we could park the car on the street without restrictions, right outside the house, free of charge. That was a huge plus for us. I'm sure if we had stayed in Old Quebec that we would have had to pay for day & overnight parking and it would have been a walk to any accommodation.

Jean and Georgette were also very welcoming and hospitable and personally made sure we could find our way around.

In the room were several printed itineraries which were perfect for us, one of which included Old Quebec, which was exactly where we wanted to explore.

If a big hotel with standard amenities is what you're looking for, then this place is not for you. If you're looking for a quaint, small, personable place thats clean and convenient to stay, you should stay at Au Bois Joli.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the very spacious "Garden Retreat" room. Don't be put off by the two double beds. My husband and I normally sleep in a queen, but found this equally comfortable for the two of us! We could not tell any difference. And there is always the other bed if you prefer to sleep separately! The room and bathroom are spacious, lovely, and immaculate. Two large windows overlooking the side garden and patio of the house. The location of this room provided absolute quiet and privacy and had every amenity we needed. We stayed 4 nights and so wish it could have been longer! Jean and Georgette have mastered the art of b&b hospitality, being so friendly and helpful, while maintaining such a professional demeanor, concerned that their guests are comfortable and every need provided for. The breakfasts are delicious and served in a beautiful bright setting with small touches that are missing in many b&b's. The two of them are a wonderful team in the kitchen! We liked the location. Only several miles from old city, and close enough to walk to Maguire Street where there were several good restaurants to choose from and a fabulous boulangerie! We hope to go back and stay longer and are recommending Au Bois Joli to anyone who will be visiting Quebec City.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room... though we were told by other guests all rooms were great. The home is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyMountainDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed in this lovely B&B located in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. Jean and Georgette were very welcoming and gracious hosts. Rooms were clean, warm and inviting. Breakfast was DELICIOUS, especially Jean's homemade maple pie. Would definitely return, and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitynefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I have never had a chance to stay at a B&B - we are now spoiled for life! We went to Quebec this past February - we had no place to stay that night and after much research on a great B&B, we were thrilled when Jean so graciously welcomed us into Au Bois Joli so last minute. We arrived far later than anticipated but Jean made us feel so welcome and made a reservation for us at a wonderful restaurant walking distance. The neighborhood covered in a beautiful blanket of snow looked as though it was directly from a postcard - the location was ideal. Au Bois Joli had the most incredibly warm and inviting atmosphere – by far my favorite thing was relaxing with a cup of hot tea by the fireplace - it is five star stay with coziest feel - truly beautiful! The modern rooms with the luxurious details are a statement to Jean and Georgette's close attention to their guests' needs. Jean was more helpful than we could have hoped for, giving as the best suggestions for a wonderful stay and his breakfasts were tres delicieux and exquisite! This was the highlight of our Canadian adventure and we ended up extending an extra night as we could not bear to part with a place that began to feel like home. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Georgette but we have found the perfect B&B and we will be sure to stay here in the future - we really forward to meeting her! Merci! Merci! Merci!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali8spangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple, spent two weeks in Canada, touring Toronto, Quebec City, and Montreal. Our stay at Au Bois Joli was a highlight of our trip! It is in a great location, in a quiet tree lined neighborhood with excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Bus service to Old Quebec was very convenient, just two blocks away. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and well furnished, complete with all the extras that Georgette includes that were so very much appreciated - the water, the chocolates, the wonderful itineraries and maps, and the toiletries. The sitting room with tea in the evening made us feel right at home. Jean and Georgette are very warm and personable and made us feel most welcomed. The breakfasts were 5 star quality and one must not miss Jean's maple pie! Service was impeccable and we all felt pampered. One member of our party was vegan and Georgette prepared special dishes to meet those needs. We hated to leave. The whole experience - magnifique!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were accurately depicted in the website pictures. All seemed lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 420Travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I were very nervous about our stay in Quebec City. We heard that staying in the old city was very run down and very pricey and this is why we ended up choosing this bed and breakfast and we are SO glad we did.
This B&B is located about 10 minutes from the old Quebec City (easily accessible via the local bus at a cost of $5.00 for a trip) It is set in a beautiful suburb, quiet with gorgeous tree lined streets.
The house it's is beautifully decorated, grand furnishings and the photographs on the website are exactly as they were in real life. We stayed in Room 1 and the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room and bathroom luxurious and spacious. Room 1 only has a spa however, so we definately indulged with a bath every night!
The hosts Jean and Georgette however were the stars of this B&B. They were so welcoming and personable. Georgette is SUCH an amazing cook- breakfast was devine- truly generous. We had 3 courses and Jean's Maple Pie is a must have (I think we ate nearly half of the pie between us).
This is a beautiful home and the hosts were beautiful people. Thank you both for a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room and bathroom luxurious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,323 reviews
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,870 reviews
Gite Confort
#2 of 120 in Quebec City
203 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bois Joli B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bois Joli B&B

Address: 2065, rue du Bois Joli, Quebec City, Quebec G1T 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Sillery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $70 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Bois Joli Inn B&B is well located, where you can enjoy the quietness you are looking for, just a step away from the heavy noise of the city. This beautifully decorated contemporary classic Inn sits in the heart of the most prized area of Quebec. Early coffee, full meal gourmet breakfast in a relaxed morning ambiance, itineraries that make sure you will not miss anything of the most unique european city in Canada, great restaurants at a 3-4 minute walk. Lovely, zen style romantic rooms with high quality beds, modern private bathrooms, Au Bois Joli has it all and you will not find such reasonable room rates with such high level of services. We welcome you with professionnalism, we make ourselves discreet, and we make sure to help you create what you expect of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Bois Joli B&B Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing