We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Ranked #78 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We celebrated Christmas with friends (many friends) there from dec. 22 to dec. 26. The biggest advantage of this hotel is that it's close to both Qc-city center and Mt-Ste-Anne.
The room we were in wasn't in good shape, especially in the bathroom. There is no ceiling fan (seriously, isn't it an obligation by law to have one?). The sound isolation is VERY bad, as we could easily hear the A/C from our neighbors (and the elevator), especially at night. Our A/C wasn't working properly, so we had to work a little with the thermostat.
Windows don't open and the room is filled with a sour smell of chemical cleaners. Good thing we only stayed in the room for the nights and went skiing during the day.

One HUGE plus is a wonderful staff, that was able to accommodate us with anything, any time, keeping a nice smile and very positive attitude. This made a big difference in our overall experience.

This hotel has a very nice relaxing area by the pool, with a Jacuzzi and children's water play zone. We could use that area for our gatherings, eating, drinking and simply chilling.

I would recommend it to people that are not picky with the room quality, as the location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Bonjour, and thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We are glad you appreciated the location of Hôtel Ambassadeur, which, it's true, is very convenient.
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with sound isolation and that you could hear noise from outside your room. It is our first duty to provide visitors with calm and pleasant rooms, and we are very sorry you were not happy with yours.

Thank you for your comment about our staff members, they truly do everything they can to make life easier for each of our visitors, and they're always happy to know their work is appreciated. If there is anything they can do to accommodate a visitor, they'll do it ; including a room change.

Again, thank you for writing this review. We certainly hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 549 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I got for what i paid for. If you are a couple or new lovers, it's not really the place to be !!!!! Childrens running around the hotel hallway, waking you up at 7 in the morning,come on parents were on vacation, give us a break !!!!! The hotel room are perfect and the location, cant get better,only 5 min from old quebec !!! I almost forget, if you like taking a spa with 6 years old kids leaving you a surprice in it, think about it !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hello Jimmy S, and thank you for writing this review.

Our hotel is indeed THE perfect hotel for family, with its indoor pool and water games, and with its great choice of rooms for all budgets and tastes.
We are happy you were satisfied with your stay, and certainly hope to see you again with your little ones!

Thank you again, and au revoir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had booked 2 rooms in the new section, on the Inter-net for oct. 10./11. 2012, on checking in friendly Service, we got an up-grade for our rooms ! Our Friend from Germany used the pool: very clean and pleasant.
The Hotel as such is fine, but they should include a Continental Breakfast for the price they charge.
Since it rained the next morning we had breakfast at the Restaurant: at the entrance nobody to greet us, we took a table (there were in all 8 people) no menu so we started breakfast. I had two pieces of toast two cups of coffee.
My husband and our friend had the so called ''american deluxe breakfast'' (which we only found out later). The bacon/sauages were burned, eggs very tired looking; in short nothing looked fresh!
I went to the cash to pay, this experience cost us with tax $33.24 and I was asked o pay a tip ! When I ask for an explanation of the price, he told me we all had the DELUXE AMERiCAN BREAKFAST, how would he know that ? Since we only saw him that one time !
Then he had the guts to tell me the tip is not included, we are from Montreal and know about tips, but we never in all our travels (Europe/Amercia) did we had such a POOR SERVICE and BREAKFAST experienced.
We should have gone to Cora !!!
Who ever reads the messages from the Hotel: you have a fine Hotel(the new section), get rid of this Restaurant service (especially this particular waiter), include a Continental Breakfast
people will be a lot happier; and by the way on the Internet you call your Restaurant Greco or something like that...but this is not the name at your Hotel
Hille

Room Tip: New Section, forth floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello,
First of all, thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We take pride in our renovated rooms and amenities, and are glad you found your stay among us pleasant.
As for your experience at the restaurant L'Aromatik, we are very sorry it didn't meet your expectations. Please be sure we take notice of your review and will do everything we can to make sure such a disappointment does not happen again.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you again at l'Ambassadeur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Last year I visited Quebec on Christmas with my friends and we were staying in Ambassadeur hotel for a couple of days. Just wanted to say that the experience was great! Amazing beautiful facility, very friendly helpful stuff! So glad that we chose this hotel. This year I plan to visit Quebec on Christmas again and definitely I will stay in Ambassadeur again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello,
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at l'Ambassadeur and are certainly looking forward to welcoming you again. Québec City sure is a wonderful Christmas-holiday destination.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a really odd place, on a highway surrounded by fast-food outlets. It says it is a 5 min walk to Old Quebec but I'm not sure I would fancy walking it, there were a few interesting characters around!
There is a great view of Quebec City, if you can see past the neon signs of "Mike's" etc.
Parking is free.
We didn't have breakfast included so I can't comment.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms were big, the beds ok but not the comfiest mattresses and pillows in the world. There is a drinks and ice dispenser by the lift which is really noisy, I'd guess this would be audible from the rooms right by it. There was some scratched in graffiti on the lift, and the door of our room looked like it had been forced open at some point which made me nervous. There was no road noise.
The bar downstairs was setting up for live music and had disco lights and a dance floor, so if you're looking for somewhere with nightlife on your doorstep it might be for you. The bartender was keen to explain the tipping process of Canada to us though (which we already understood thanks!) so get your change ready!
At the start of the week we stayed 2 nights in Old Town Quebec in a lovely hotel, and were only really using this as a stop-off between Tadoussac and Mt Tremblant, but would have been really disappointed if this had been where we'd stopped to enjoy the city.
I would not stop here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delberto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for you feedback which we always enjoy. We are sorry you felt uncomfortable with the surroundings, and really happy you enjoyed our teams‘service. The music and dancing setup you have noticed was probably for a reception as our Hotel has nice reception rooms, but it is certainly not a “nightlife” hotel.
We will look through the ice-dispenser noise to make sure the rooms around do not hear it.
Hoping you had a great stay in Québec,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights in Aug.Three nights too long.This hotel has been left to rundown for way to long.Room was very old and tired, mould on bathroom walls, paper coming off the walls, hardly any paint left on windowsills , mould on window frames, stains as large as plates on the carpet, sheets that only covered the top of the bed !! No blanket on bed , just a thin sheet and the bedspread !! The lobby stunk of chlorine, enough to make u retch, tiles on the floor at front door were all cracked.This hotel is in worse condition than a youth hostel.Given it one star as the mattress was ok, that's why we stayed.Would not stay again, would NOT recommend

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank fizzengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello,
We always appreciate our clients leaving comments about what we should be improving. Most of our rooms have been entirely made brand new again now and the new management is looking forward to complete this long-term work. We are confident this change will bring The Ambassadeur Hotel its past luxury, and we are really proud of our new rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback, hoping you enjoyed your stay in Québec.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is good for someone wants to stay outside of city centre. It has a very comfy pool area with Wi-Fi. The ladies at the front desk speak English with very strong French accent. I wonder if they could hire a few English speaking person. If you don't like the breakfast in the hotel, there is a Cora beside it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowflower999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danniecaron, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion.
Our hotel is only 5 minutes from Old Quebec, it’s the best place for lovers and family thanks to our indoor pool & spa.

Hoping to see you during your next stay in Quebec city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#91 of 102 in Quebec City
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
540 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 102 in Quebec City
851 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec

Address: 3401 Sainte-Anne Boulevard | Beauport, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3L4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $62 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers 145 rooms where everything is close by. Located in front of St.Lawrence River, the Hotel Ambassadeur is only a five minutes drive to Old Quebec. The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers a surprising view on Quebec City and the Beauport Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Quebec Hotel
Ambassadeur Quebec Beauport
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing