We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but very spotty wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Modern style hotel on the north side of Quebec City. Very helpful desk staff, providing directions and parking possibilities for the old city. Breakfast buffet included a wide variety or breads, bagels, chocolate pain, yogurt, granola, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, baked beans (for the British), fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea. There were traditional toasters but most folks were using the large open gas grill to grill their toast. It was very tasty. My one complaint is that the wifi connection was spotty at best and very slow. It would drop out regularly. Frustrating. But we slept well and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write a post about your last stay at Hôtel & Suites Normandin. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here. It is always a pleasure for our team to help our guests discovering our great city without difficulties! As you mentioned, our expanded continental breakfast formula offers a great variety of items and I’m pleased to know that you appreciated it. I am sorry to find out that you got problems with our wireless internet connection. As we put a lot of effort into providing the most effective and efficient Internet services, I will make sure that the problem you did face was a temporary problem.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hôtel & Suites Normandin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 656 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel & Suites Normandin on September 26, 2013, prior to boarding a cruise ship. Lovely hotel, nice service, and very clean. A breakfast was included (which was OK). Keep in mind that Quebec City is French-speaking and that while the hotel personnel speak English, not all the workers at the neighboring restaurants, etc., do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. I hope you had a great cruise! It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hôtel & Suites Normandin. As you mentioned, most people speak French in Quebec City, but we make sure that our team can provide a service as great in English as they do in French. Indeed we can’t assure the same thing for the surrounding business but folks in Quebec are normally known to be very friendly and hospitable people. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 27 - 29 September 2013 in a king studio room.

Room was huge, well appointed and comfortable with a kitchen area containing a microwave and fridge. Breakfast was included and ok, but nothing special. Internet worked fine.

The internet site we used to book had got our dates wrong but reception honoured the correct booking when I showed my receipt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken few minutes of your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Studio room. Indeed, it is very spacious and convenient for an extended stay of more than one night. I am sorry for the misunderstanding with the dates; happily we had the room for you despite of the error.

We hope to see you again at Hôtel & Suites Normandin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an event at the Manoir Montmorency and wanted a hotel nearby. Excellent choice that friends suggested. Room was spacious, clean, nice furniture and a quiet hotel...you could barely hear anyone walking around or talking. The hotel was full so it was not a question of few guests. The Normandin restaurant just a few feet away served very good food...family oriented. Great all-inclusive breakfast included in price of the room. We would return anytime.

Room Tip: We had a room beside the elevators and never heard a sound. If you want a little more of a view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you followed your friends’ suggestion and come to Hôtel & Suites Normandin. Indeed, we make sure to put all the efforts necessary to provide spotless rooms and public areas. I’m pleased to know that you appreciated our expanded continental breakfast formula which is very complete for its category. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Easy access to highway 40 (east-west) and highway 73 (north-south to old Quebec). Need a car if you are going to stay there. Friendly staff. Clean big rooms. We rented the room with two queen size beds and stayed on a Thursday night. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Clean floors. Really good continental breakfast. Easy walking distance to some restaurants.

If you do not want to hear the highway noise and morning commute, ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel and away from Blvd Pierre Bertrand. The front of the hotel faces highway 40, however compared to other hotels in the area, this one is not right 'on' the highway and in my opinion is quieter.

We will book again at that hotel at our next visit to Quebec city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north-east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuncanColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a post on Tripadvisor. The comments of our customers are important for us. This is helping us in always staying above of our guest’s expectations. I am glad to know that you found the comfort you were looking by choosing our Urban section room. Indeed it doesn’t really matter if you are staying in a room in front or in the back side of the building as the hotel is not right next to the highway. But for people who don’t want to take any chance it’s a pleasure for us to assign them a room that will meet their preference.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back during your next stay in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was super clean and nicely updated. The staff was nice and spoke English. The breakfast was above average and location was only 10 min drive to downtown old Quebec. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gosia363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your good comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit at Hôtel & Suites Normandin. Indeed, our breakfast is one of the most complete you can find in the category of “continental breakfast”. I am glad you enjoyed it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you when next time you visit Quebec City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Easy access to highway. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. On the end of bike path for cyclists. Location was not well situated for visiting old Quebec. You still needed to drive in. Add the cost of parking and traffic (road construction on hwy 175 into old quebec) it was pretty tough to enjoy. Breakfast was continental. Nothing special. Overall, I thought it a bit expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Responsable commercial at Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on our Tripadvisor page. As I did answered following some guest reviews, our hotel is not walking distance from the Old City. Indeed you need to drive in to get to the Old Quebec. As many other major cities you need to be prepare to pay for parking space and sometime deal with some construction. I am glad that overall you did find the comfort and warm service you were expecting at the hotel. Of course rates during the high season are a little more expensive than during the low season, that’s why I suggest people to book as soon as possible to make sure they get the best rate available.

Sincerly yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 100 in Quebec City
910 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,999 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
4.6 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 100 in Quebec City
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec

Address: 4700, Boul Pierre-Bertrand, Quebec City, Quebec G2J 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $110 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Normandin
Normandin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing