We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee and Desserts”
Review of Paillard

Paillard
Ranked #1 of 24 Dessert in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Desserts”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by this place 3 times daily while visiting Quebec City. This is the only place to get a decent coffee. We ordered large Americanos and munched on croissants and other pastries.

Their prices are reasonable, and seating plenty, which accounts for the long lines for food. We'll worth the wait though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedRyder98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    781
    166
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

If you like croissants then go here!!! I'd you like Pantera ' s you'll love Paillard! We stumbled across this bakery while on St. Jean Street. I went back every morning for baked goods and coffee. You'll love it, I promise!!

Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“recommended for inexpensive French bakery experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Came here for breakfast with our family. My husband speaks French, having lived in France in his formative years, and the friendly staff spoke French or English or the mix! We had a croissant, a pain au chocolat, and some yummy bread and walnut thing. All reminded my husband of his youth. We were happy! Giving the restaurant a five for the friendly staff variety of options, and delicious baked goods for a reasonable price. If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place though!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiskyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery and patisserie”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I went with my husband for one breakfast and returned later for lunch during our trip. Very nice sandwiches and breads. For desert we liked the creme brule and the custard pie but not the ice cream. Very good and friendly service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well rounded, excellent options.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great selection of breads and pastry, we enjoyed everything we got from here.
Well priced.
well organized and easy to get around, it was like a dean and deluca/le pain quotiden hybrid.
Note, confirm the price of the bottled drinks, i got something that was more than i would have expected to pay.
great space and really friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing