We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Paillard

Paillard
Ranked #1 of 29 Dessert in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Delicious pastries and coffee. The small chocolate chaud was tiny, so beware. The lady at the register was non too friendly either. But the pastries are worth it. Haven't tried for lunch, but the menu looked good.

Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We sincerely apologize if one of our employees sounded unfriendly to you! The language barrier is sometimes harder to overcome for some of our valued staff, but I can assure you that they are all trying their best. We sure hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,775 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was told that I should check this place out when I was in Quebec for the Carnaval. I went in to get a hot chocolate but I can't drink milk. I asked them to make one without it but they said they couldn't and told me to go down the street. I have never experienced anything like this.

    • Service
Thank scotianscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy a hot chocolate at Paillard. Since all our hot chocolates are prepared with a special blend of real black chocolate, fresh cream and milk instead of just cocoa powder, we are currently unable to substitute the milk for water in our preparation. I'm abolutely certain our staff meant well when they directed you down the street when they realized we could not accommodate your particular allergy, but if you would like to give us more details, feel free to email us at communication@paillard.ca

We'll be happy to hear from you! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food is not outstanding, average at best. The system of 2 lines makes for confusion @ the coffee bar. The staff don't have passion. Cleanliness lacking. Just a cafeteria that could be awesome but isn't. Macarons too heavy, not delicate as they should be. Pastry was so so.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank toronto23frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your interest in Paillard ! It's unfortunate that you didn't appreciate your experience here, we try our best to improve the quality of our service and products each day. For example, we take pride in the fact that our macarons are made with the lightest meringue shell, but always filled with a good quantity of high quality ganache. Since making ganache is expensive, other macarons you can find on the market can often be much lighter in terms of filling.

Nevertheless, we really hope you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is probably a chain, but, for all that, the food is good and fresh. We ate breakfast there two times, bought some pastries to take home as gifts, and even bought a cooking implement, or two. It's bright, and seems a bit commercial( a la McDonalds), but the variety of tables allows big or small groups, or even sitting next to strangers. The staff are pleasant, and quick.

Thank CabinMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your review ! In fact, our Café-Boulangerie is not yet part of a chain, but marrying the finesse of French cuisine with the speed and efficiency associated with American ‘fast food’ was one of the prime goals of our passionate owner, all in order to create a restaurant concept that is refined while remaining accessible to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Heavenly macarons, croissants and breads. Also, delicious soups, sandwiches and salads. Good price points on all items. Fun setting with long, communal tables. I wish every city had a Paillard!

Thank biggreencane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words ! We also wish every city had a Paillard ! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing