We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT SO GREAT”
Review of Paillard

Paillard
Ranked #1 of 24 Dessert in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“NOT SO GREAT”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food is not outstanding, average at best. The system of 2 lines makes for confusion @ the coffee bar. The staff don't have passion. Cleanliness lacking. Just a cafeteria that could be awesome but isn't. Macarons too heavy, not delicate as they should be. Pastry was so so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toronto23frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Paillard ! It's unfortunate that you didn't appreciate your experience here, we try our best to improve the quality of our service and products each day. For example, we take pride in the fact that our macarons are made with the lightest meringue shell, but always filled with a good quantity of high quality ganache. Since making ganache is expensive, other macarons you can find on the market can often be much lighter in terms of filling.

Nevertheless, we really hope you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,264
    719
    153
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bright and commercial, but nice”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is probably a chain, but, for all that, the food is good and fresh. We ate breakfast there two times, bought some pastries to take home as gifts, and even bought a cooking implement, or two. It's bright, and seems a bit commercial( a la McDonalds), but the variety of tables allows big or small groups, or even sitting next to strangers. The staff are pleasant, and quick.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CabinMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review ! In fact, our Café-Boulangerie is not yet part of a chain, but marrying the finesse of French cuisine with the speed and efficiency associated with American ‘fast food’ was one of the prime goals of our passionate owner, all in order to create a restaurant concept that is refined while remaining accessible to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic bakery and restaurant”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Heavenly macarons, croissants and breads. Also, delicious soups, sandwiches and salads. Good price points on all items. Fun setting with long, communal tables. I wish every city had a Paillard!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggreencane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words ! We also wish every city had a Paillard ! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome quick lunch”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was just shopping around and decided I needed a quick lunch because I was getting hungry. I knew this place was going to be good when I looked inside and it was packed. The large tables and benches were neat I thought, I have no issues sitting with other at a big table.

For lunch, I ordered the Ham and butter on a baguette, brocolli cheddar soup and a Eska sparkling water. It was ready within minutes and it was delicious. The fresh baked bread and home-made soup really hit the spot, all for under $15 bucks! Soup is hearty and tasty without feeling there is a carton of cream in it and the fresh baguette was delicious - it reminded me of when I was in Paris.

Definately will come back here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CecefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaillardQC, Public Relations Manager at Paillard, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're so glad to know that you liked the Paillard experience ! We hope to see you again soon ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best macaroons ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything looked delicious, so it was really hard to decide. I settled on a variety of macaroons-they were all delicious, but the raspberry macaroons were the best I have ever eaten!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing