We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We spent four nights at this wonderful, small hotel over New Year's. We had what we understand was one of their smaller rooms, with a queen size bed, on the fourth (top) floor. The slanted ceiling gave it a cozy feeling. The room was spotlessly clean, and in very good (recently renovated) condition. Bathroom was clean, but small, with the sink in the bedroom. For a longer stay, or if you'd like a closet, I might recommend a larger room. There's a comfortable living room/common area on the ground floor with a computer and free internet access. There's no elevator. The staff was lovely -- the cleaning staff even waited till we woke up from an afternoon nap before running the vaccuum in the hall. Daniel, the personable owner (a Vermont native), learned our names and our interests immediately and went out of his way to make recommendations and dinner reservations for us and went above and beyond the expected -- chilling our bottle of champagne in the refrigerator and delivering it to our room, allowing us to check-out a few hours late, welcoming us to have breakfast after hours, etc. The continental breakfast is simple (hot, buttery croissant; fresh fruit; coffee/tea), served at the table by friendly staff. Parking is in a lot around the corner for $13 CAD per day. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2006

My boyfriend and I just returned home after a stay at Le Manoir. We loved this wonderful inn!

The staff was helpful the entire way of our experience beginning with promptly answering inquiries before we arrived. We were greeted upon arrival by Daniel, one of the owners. He was enormously helpful in assisting us in getting our bearings on the area, what to see, when things are open, etc. I am a vegetarian and he pointed us towards restaurants that would be accommodating - we dined at all of the places he recommended and did not have a single bad eating experience. Our room was not to be ready until 3 p.m., but our luggage was stored for us while we went out exploring. Our luggage was waiting in our room upon check-in.

Le Manoir is in a fantastic location, just inside the Old City walls, and convenient to walk to sights such as the Quebec Parliament, the Citadel, Grande Allee, Rue St. Jean, Chateau Frontenac, etc. It is also safe - we walked all around at night and never felt uneasy (we are from the city and are used to keeping aware when walking big city streets). There are also a huge array of restaurants serving a variety of cuisines nearby Le Manoir, so you will not go hungry.

Le Manoir is decorated in art deco style. Continental breakfast is served in a small dining room in the back of the hotel. The breakfast consists of orange juice, coffee, fresh slices of fruit, and a warm flaky croissant. The croissants are the best I have ever tasted--one day my boyfriend was tickled because they gave him a second one as they had extras.

Our room (#9) was cozy, immaculately clean (I am a clean freak, so this is huge for me), and quiet. The room had a staircase leading upstairs to the bathroom, which included a tub (my understanding is that all rooms do not have tubs) and detachable showerhead. The bathroom and room itself were large and had enough closet and drawer space to hang and store our clothes. The room also had ample mirrors, a hair dryer, iron, and ironing board.

Guests have free use of a computer with a superfast Internet connection in the lobby. The staff booked a reservation for a romantic dinner for us at St. Amour, conveniently located around the corner from Le Manoir--and gave them the heads up that a vegetarian would be in our party. They also reserved a taxi to the airport for us on our last day.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and before we got on the plane home we were discussing when we could possibly come back to Quebec City and stay at Le Manoir!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sojourner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

My wife and I spent a week at this small hotel inside the Old City. We rented the "Edith Piaff" suite, room 8.

This is a quaint small hotel, more like a bed and breakfast, run by an expatriate American couple. They have been renovating it room by room after buying it. Our suite was tastefully decorated and furnished, immaculately clean. The bathroom alone was larger than entire 4-star rooms we've stayed at in Paris.

Breakfast was a top-drawer croissant, some fruit, jams and jellies, and unlimited coffee or tea served by an owner.

The owners are bilingual, the guests were predominatly Francophones. We received excellent advise on attractions, restaurants, and scheduling. Indoor parking was an easy walk to a well-lit municipal garage.

Rated a three-star hotel by the Corporation de l’industrie touristique du Québec (---), we'd rate it a four-star experience and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marty_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I brought my bicycle to Quebec to ride on the local trails, which of course, arrived late. However, once it arrived, Dan made sure I had a place to assemble and store it in their garage. Absolutely all of the staff was kind, friendly, and attentive. I intend to be back on a bicycle trip next year, and this will certainly be my home base.

As well, the hotel location is great on a reasonably quiet side street facing a park strip just inside the wall. Really great place to walk from to everywhere in Old Quebec, and close to some of the other popular areas outside the wall also.

My room was spacious, quiet, and all my expectations were exceeded. Thanks Dan and Linda for a great stay. I hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fdtrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I went to Quebec last month with my fiance and we had a wonderful time, not only for the city, but for the staff and the owner of the hotel, who were very nice and helpfull. Besides this hotel has a great location, close to the main streets of Old Quebec, but quite at the same time. Congratulations and merci
Daniel

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northport, ME
16
Reviewed June 29, 2006

If you would like to stay in a qaint bed and breakfast in Quebec City, while at the same time experience the elegance of a larger old hotel, then the Manoir d'Auteuil is definitely for you! Located within the walls of Old Quebec, yet not on a busy/noisy downtown street, the staff of the Manoir d'Auteuil take a personal interest in all their guests experiencing the best that Quebec City has to offer at a most reasonable price. My two friends and I were absolutely delighted with our spacious and pretty room that included an equally large and beautifully decorated bath. We would highly recommend a comfortable, relaxing stay at the Manoir d'Auteuil where the accomodations are lovely, the staff are delightlful, and the cost includes parking and a tasty continental breakfast.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

Just returned from six nights at Le Manoir d'Auteuil. From our initial contact regarding reservations/trip planning through our stay, Dan, Linda, and the staff treated us with grace (professionalism is an inadequate description) and hospitality. The hotel itself was impeccable-beyond clean, comfortable, and inviting. The location just inside the walls of the old city allows for easy access to upper town, lower town, and the area outside of the walls. Any question we had was answered with a thorough knowledge of the area and every suggestion regarding restaurants or what to do in the area was superb. Le Manoir is a small hotel with a bread and breakfast feel, the best of both worlds. I recommend Le Manoir d'Auteuil highly and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deepfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $111 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing