We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restoration with attention to detail for guest comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming restoration with attention to detail for guest comfort.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful 3 night stay we had at Le Manoir D'Auteuil within the walled city of old Quebec. As always, I had researched widely, looking for that charming boutique hotel which would remain "special" in my travel memories. From the attentive and exceptional service from Michel who manned reception and served as a brilliant bartender, our needs were always met in an efficient and professional manner but with a caring and friendly attitude. The location is perfect, opposite a lovely city park and easy strolling distance to places of interest, restaurants and shopping. We were in Room 35, which was very comfortable, especially the king bed, and furnished in lovely retro 30's style. It was a very quiet room facing the back of the historic building. Breakfast was more than adequate with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, breads, croissants, juices, eggs and great coffee. Oriana, who looked after guests at breakfast was delightful and a gracious host.
If you are looking for somewhere with ambience and difference from the norm, this is the place for you! Will recommend to all friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank highflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Bonjour, and thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review. Our entire team, is absolutely thrilled that you both enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted we met your expectations. Room 35 is one of our more spacious deluxe king rooms, situated on the back side of the building which allows for a very quiet stay. Our european and classique queen rooms are smaller and quite charming, Our rooms all vary is size and feel, as the Manoir was originally a private residence and was converted into a hotel in 1953. I think that ads to the charm of the property, as each room has a personality of its own! I remember you both very well, and let me say, it was a true pleasure meeting you. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in North America and have a safe and pleasant trip home! Merci, and thank you so much for the support, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    182
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
137
779
50
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Quebec City in October. We were so happy with our choice of hotels after finding it on Tripadvisor! The owners were so welcoming and friendly. They even called us on the second day while we were out sightseeing to tell us that they had a vacancy in a room with a view of the park if we were interested, and gave it to us for the same price as the room we were staying in. This room was amazing! The marbled floor bathroom was at the top of a stairway with a huge tub and large glassed in shower. We heard the clip clop of the horses pulling the carriages at night, very romantic. In the morning, we had freshly baked delicious croissants, and very fresh fruit. They had an assortment of other things to choose from also. The owner and her daughter were the ones serving us and they were so friendly visiting with guests. There were many repeat guests there, and I can see why. They treated everyone like friends and family. The building itself is very historic and has so much character. Thank you for helping to make our trip to Quebec City so memorable. We have already recommended your hotel to 2 of our friends who are planning a visit, soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LVYKBCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Bonjour, and thank you so much for the review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you enjoyed your view room. We always take note of our client's preference in room choice: view side with city sounds, or back side which is quiet. At the time of reservation, we cannot guarantee which you will receive, because we would never ask another client to play musical rooms during their stay, but we will do our best to assign you a room based on your request at arrival. To ensure a view room, you can always reserve one of our historic junior suites, as they ALL have Parliament hill views.(This was a junior suite you stayed in on the second night of your stay with us.) Additionally, because we are an historic property and do not have a lift, please let us know if stairs are an issue so that we can assign a room on a lower floor.

Again, many thanks for sharing your experience with the travel community. And thank you for telling your friends about us. We truly appreciate it! Un gros merci, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again in the future.

Au revoir, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Dale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent a week here attending the Winter Carnival. Most noteworthy is the very friendly and helpful staff. They made a point to make sure we were enjoying our visit and did indeed give us some very good advice about eating places and sights. Our room was very comfortable and had a very good bed. Would have liked some heat in the bath, but we didn't complain. We would most definitely recommend Le Manior d'Auteuil!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Bonjour M. Donald D!

I really want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Le Manoir d'Auteuil. Being small, we really depend on word of mouth as we do not have the advertising budget that the big guys do. So thank you!

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. As I recall, I had the pleasure of meeting you and your wife the last morning of your stay. I am delighted that everyone was so attentive. You were in one of our classique queen rooms, situated on the back side with a stairway that leads to the mezzanine bathroom. This is one of two rooms in the hotel that has not had an individual bathroom heater installed yet. We are working on it!!

Again, thank you for your kind and helpful comments. It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. We wish you happy travels ahead! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here while in Quebec City for the Winter Carnival, and it was wonderful! Dan and Linda were gracious, friendly, and very accommodating hosts, and went out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as it could be. From parking to luggage storage to suggestions, everyone on staff went the extra mile for us. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. The location for Carnival events was perfect. We hope to have the opportunity to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 11, which faces front. The Carnival music from the live stage near the Ice Palace was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Bonjour and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are definitely front row to the Ice Castle, Fireworks and Carnaval Celebrations, so yes, it can be loud until 11pm on the weekends during Carnaval. But I think that is just part of the Winter Carnaval experience. I am delighted you enjoyed it so much. Dan and I really enjoyed meeting you, and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us here again. Room 11 is one of our classic queen rooms with the Parliament Views. For a quieter room, a room on the back is a great option, but you do give up the view. Take care, et un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of January and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very proactive in communicating with us from the time we booked to the time we checked in. Great service and attitude from the staff who helped us book a taxi to the airport and recommended some great restaurants. The breakfast was super and definitely worth the price. Location of the hotel is great, within the walls of old Quebec. If you care about the view from your window, you can ask for a room facing the park and the Parliament. We stayed on the 4th floor which is a couple of flights of stairs up so keep this in mind if you have trouble with stairs. The room doesn't have a closet and refrigerator but it fitted our needs because we were leaving very early the second morning for the airport and just needed a simple place to stay. I rate it 5 stars due to its great location and hospitality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Bonjour Mme. Lin, First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your suggestions about the stairs and views are great insights to share with the travelling community. You were in room 43, which is one of our european rooms, and is the smallest in that category, thus no closet. Even so, it is probably my personal favorite in the european category and is perfect for a short stay in Quebec City. I am delighted everyone on our team was so attentive. I will be sure to share the review with everyone, trust me, your comments will make them all smile today! Enjoy the upcoming year, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you here with us once again. Encore, un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was looking for a hotel not too far from the conference center, and it would have been a fine commute except for the very cold weather and ice on the sidewalks. Live and learn.

The hotel was very charming. No lift (again; live and learn) but the people there couldn't have been nicer and the small bar on the ground floor was a godsend at the end of the day. And for the times I was able to get into Old Quebec, it was very well located for this as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 40 doesn't face the street and the morning traffic wouldn't wake me up - very nice of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Bonjour, and thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we did indeed assign you a room on the back side of the hotel, as you were here on business, we knew a solid night's sleep would be important. I am thrilled the room choice was the right one for you. We are just a short walk to the conference center entrance, but this year, the entire North East experienced some VERY SEVERE weather. This winter was quite exceptional as far as cold is concerned, so yes, I realize going outside was not fun. We are the closest hotel to the Conference center that is located within the walls of the old city, so we definitely get a lot of conference goers. I am glad you were able to take some time to visit the old city, and get a little sight seeing in as well. Thank you for your support, and for having chosen to stay with us. We really appreciate it. Have a wonderful 2014 ahead. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Lovely little delightful boutique hotel. Excellent location right near great restaurants, shopping and sights. Our room was large and bright, the bed was very comfortable with lovely plump down pillows and the bathroom was newly renovated. The shower had good water pressure and was nice and hot….and the tiling was new and shiny and clean. The best part was the extremely charming front desk staff who went WAY out of their way to take care of any need or request with kindness, warmth and professionalism. We would like to return to Quebec City in the summer for hiking and kayaking and look forward to a return visit to Le Manoir d'Auteuil. Highly recommend!
Thank you to all of you at the hotel! Aimee and Bill

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bonjour Aimee and Bill, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Everyone on our team will be thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am not sure just which room you had stayed in, but all of the rooms have been updated and renovated. I am really tickled that you liked the room decor and tile work in the bathrooms. We have kept the historic art deco tilework in the historic bathrooms, (it is just too beautiful to change), but in all of the other rooms, we went with classic marbles and granites, as we felt it stayed true to the art deco history of the building. Glad you liked it! The european style rooms are our smallest, all the way up to our very spacious Deluxe King rooms and Junior Suites. I hope we will be able to welcome you with us once again for a summer visit! Take care et un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing