We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights, on the third floor. (there is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your bags up.) The location is excellent, just inside the old city walls and close to all the sites in the Upper Town. Walking to the Lower Town only takes 15 minutes. The room was an adequate size, and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Didn't care for the fact that the sink/mirror/vanity was outside the bathroom, but that was a minor inconvenience. Breakfast was served downstairs in a nice size room and was good, with homemade croissants, fresh bread, hard boiled eggs, great fruit bowl, yogurt, and granola. I do wish that they had some other cereal, however. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Parking was closeby, in a nearby lot, for $18/ daily. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I wish I had a chance to meet both you and your wife during your stay, but I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you noticed our high quality mattress and bedding. Those are two items that are very important to me, as well as cleanliness and location when choosing a hotel. I see you have written many reviews, so you are most definitely well travelled!

Because we are a heritage property, each room is unique and different. Some rooms have the sink and vanity outside of the bathroom, whereas others will have them in the bathroom. Likewise, due to historic preservation rules, we cannot install an elevator. We are most definitely there to help carry your bags though, so please, do not hesitate to ask. It helps us to keep in shape!

Again, my sincerest appreciation for your support. Being a small business, we truly depend on word of mouth from clients like you. Merci beaucoup, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    176
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
127
727
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found this hotel via Tripadvisor and loved it. We were right downtown in Old Quebec City, and within walking distance of the Citadel and great shoppin. Price was very reasonable, and the staff were very warm and attentive. We found it charming, even though we had to climb stairs (no elevator) but the front desk staff helped with the bags. The bar was nice - low key and comfortable, and good restaurants within an easy walk. The breakfast available in the basement dining room was very good: help-yourself to coffee/tea/juices and a table of pastries (try the chocolate croissants for a real treat), toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit salad. Delightfully friendly staff. The room was also comfortable and well appointed. Parking was awkward, but that seems to be the norm in the old city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour et Merci! Thank you so much for your review. I too love the freshly baked chocolatines, but being around them on a daily basis, I have to limit my indulgences. It makes my day that your enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your kind comments. They will most certainly put a smile on everyone's face.

Thank you for commenting that we do not have an elevator, as it is very important to contact us directly to reserve so that we can designate a lower floor room should anyone have difficulty with stairs. We are most definitely there to help anyone with their bags though, so please do not hesitate to ask.

Again, my sincerest thanks for the review, and for having chosen to stay with us. We truly appreciate your support. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay at this lovely gem of a hotel. The location allowed us to walk to most restaurants, attractions and areas of the city. Be prepared that there is no elevator, but there is always a willing and helpful staff member (and owner) to assist you with luggage. The owner is present and the staff is fluent in both English and French and they are knowledgeable, professional and, best of all, warm and welcoming to the guests. Nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mntaormina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour, and many thanks for the kind words in your review. I truly appreciate you taking the time to inform travellers about our hotel, and yes, I agree, it is a true "gem". I really believe that the little heritage hotels one finds in Old Quebec are some of the true treasures of this Old City. You can stay at a large chain anywhere, but there are very few places in North America where you can still experience a stay in such an historic area and property. I am delighted you appreciated it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your experience with the travel community. I hope we will have the chance to welcome your here with us again some time. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days in August. Top floor 'European' room; lady on reception helped with our bags: no lift! Brilliant location in the old town, but on a quiet street. Very nicely equipped and furnished. Excellent 'continental' breakfast served in basement. Good bed and linens. Great location for 'wandering' - old town, citadel, parliament area. But noisy fan in bathroom (room 42).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuartB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour M. Stuart, Un gros merci! Thank you for the review. I did not have the pleasure of meeting you during your stay, but I love how you cut to the chase! I am thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us, and maybe we will be lucky enough to welcome you again one day.

You did stay in one of our european rooms situated on the 4th floor. I hope you did receive our email after reserving concerning the 4th floor rooms, because we do not have an elevator. We really try to communicate that with everyone, so that we can assign the appropriate room for our clients. Being historically protected, we cannot add a lift, but yes, there are days I sure wish we had one. It keeps me in shape though.

Again, my sincerest appreciation for the review. Take care, and enjoy the rest of summer! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The welcome we received from the young lady who checked us in was wonderful and this continued with all the staff we met. Our room was lovely, very clean and although the window faced the back the view was quirky and pleasant. The breakfast room was spotless and the breakfast very nice and relaxed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celesius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour, and many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I wish I knew which room you were in so that I knew just which view you were referring to. However, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to thank you for your support and for choosing to stay with us. I realise that many people choose to stay with us because our location truly is perfect, but it makes my day when we meet the expectations of clients like you. Again many thanks for the review, and I am guessing that is was Nancy that checked you in at your arrival. She is truly a delightful person and I am glad you had the chance to meet her during your stay. You came a long way from home to visit us in Canada, but I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to Quebec City one day. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed three nights in the hotel. The staff was great and the location was wonderful. We were in room 9 which is a very comfortable room. The only surprising thing is the bathroom was up a flight of steps. The light for the steps was at the top of the steps so it meant going up and down them in the dark if the bedroom light was off. Also I didn't find an outlet in the bathroom but there is a closet at the top of the stairs with an outlet, hair dryer and mirror which was fine for doing hair. None of these things took away from our experience as we really liked the hotel and staff a lot!

Would we stay at the hotel again? Definitely! Would we say in the same room? Originally I would have said definitely but after seeing some pictures of the other rooms, we might decide to upgrade.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have problems with stairs make sure you tell them when making your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily4112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour and thank you so much for writing a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that a total of 4 of our rooms do indeed have a stairway that leads to the bathroom. It is one of my personal favorites as far as decorative features in the rooms, but I can definitely understand that it may not be for everyone. While room 9 is situated on the 2nd floor, I do not recommend it for seniors or anyone who has difficulty with the stairs. However, if you love art deco, this is an excellent choice. The italian marble in the bathroom dates from the 1950's and the high ceilings are a real plus.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you again in the future. It is very nice that you had the chance to visit the various rooms, so during your next reservation, be sure to talk to the reception over the phone so that we can assign you your favorite room. You mentioned upgrading, and I definitely think that it is well worth the expense should you have the budget to move into a deluxe king or junior suite. Again, many thanks for your support and for having chosen to stay with us. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just come back from a two night stay in Quebec City at this beautiful hotel. We arrived early to check in but this was no problem and the receptionist was helpful suggesting local restaurants and places to visit. Our room, number 4, was spacious and had a lovely exposed brick wall. We also had a small terrace with two chairs. Everything was clean. The hotel is well situated for shops, sights and plenty of cafes and restaurants.
Quebec was a pleasant surprise and we would recommend the city and this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour Mme. Sue! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. We have three rooms with exposed stone walls, and your room, room 4 is one of them. This is a classic queen room, situated on the first floor on the back side of the building. Although you do not have a view, the back side of the hotel is very quiet.

Again, my sincerest appreciation for your support. I will pass your comments along to the staff, and I know they will be thrilled. Enjoy the rest of your summer, and I wish many more wonderful travels ahead. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing