We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Art Deco boutique hotel with a warm, thoughtful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool Art Deco boutique hotel with a warm, thoughtful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time here--stayed for 4 nights. Everyone was genuinely kind, thoughtful, and helpful and the chapel room was lovely for 2 friends traveling together. The breakfasts were healthy and got us off to a great start for sightseeing. Anyone who is considering a stay in Old Quebec would be well advised to choose Manoir d'Auteuil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chencelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bonjour! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Word of mouth is so important to a small business such as ours. I am thrilled you enjoyed the former chapel of the manor with the two single beds. I am a huge fan of the art deco period, and love to hear from other clients that enjoy the art deco as much as we do. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    176
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
127
722
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this hotel and can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Quebec City. We arrived in a downpour but quickly set off to explore, armed with umbrellas and restaurant suggestions from lovely Nancy at the front desk who could not have been more helpful. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with perfect croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereal, hard boiled eggs, awesome breads and juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We were lucky to stay in beautiful room 8 with the fun blue bathroom-- it was so comfortable and charming that I had to talk myself into leaving to go sightseeing. The location is perfect and although it was nice to leave the windows open to hear the horse-drawn carriages at night, it was also extremely quiet once the windows were closed. Everyone who works here clearly takes pride in keeping this lovely hotel running smoothly, and they do all they can to accommodate their guests. I can't imagine a better hotel experience and am so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bonjour, and thank you so very much for writing a review. You are correct, we do all take pride in our little hotel, and I am so glad you appreciated it as much as we do. Your room, number 8, is the Edith Piaf Junior Suite, a true vintage art deco gem. When you do close the windows, yes the street side does become very quiet, but still, for anyone who is not used to city noise, a room on the back side would be a safer bet. The junior suites are really fabulous, and if you can afford to splurge a little, I highly recommend it. You are not paying much more for considerably more real estate. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast as well. We bake our croissants fresh daily and make our own fruit salad. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July, 2013. From the moment we arrived the staff at this hotel could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We had the good fortune of being checked in by Nancy who is probably the nicest person I have ever encountered at a reception check in. Not only did she provide a warm and welcoming reception but quickly told us of some events we would not want to miss during our stay in the city. Ray was also there to grab our luggage and provide us with direction on where to park, which was appreciated after our long drive.

Vivian was a welcoming face at breakfast each morning, always stopping to chat and provide us with more information on what was going on in the city during our stay. She was able to direct us to where we might obtain tickets for a show which was greatly appreciated.

Oriana was also very sweet and helpful. There were other staff members on during our second and third days there however we did not require much interaction with them as the original staff had been so informative. I am sure they also live up to the service level provided by these 4 members of the team at Hotel Manoir d'Auteuil.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The air conditioner was exceptionally quiet. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and thank the staff for making our visit to Quebec City so great!

Room Tip: Because we arrived a day earlier than planned we stayed in a room on the 4th floor for one night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Bonjour Pat, I want to thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us. I am thrilled that everyone you encountered during your sejour in Quebec helped to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I will pass along your kind words, as they will no doubt make everyone's day! I have to agree with you, as I look forward to working with everyone on our team each day. With such a long stretch of high humidity and heat, we were very pleased that the air conditioning system worked so well. This is our first summer with the new system, and we are exceptionally happy with it. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for your support. We truly appreciate it. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Fl
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were fiven room number 1 on the main floor. It was very large and comfortable, but we were concerned for noise levels during the week of the Music Festival. However, this hotel was very well insulated and there was no noise at all, I spite of its great location right on the Esplanade.

Lucia and Linda were very helpful, and all recommendations were outstanding-both restaurants and activities. We were even provided free of charge, leftover passes for all Festival events.

The Hotels location is very convenient, staff was outstanding, and the rooms very clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Insignia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were lucky this year, as our departing clients were kind enough to leave us their festival passes when they checked out. How generous! We had several rooms that were able to see some pretty amazing performances as a result. I am delighted you enjoyed your room and stay with us. You had the Omer Marchand Junior suite, which is a true Art Deco gem. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and I hope we will see you again in the future. It was a pleasure meeting you both! I will pass your kind words along to Lucia. I am glad you got to meet her on your arrival. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great -- the location can't be beat (inside the walls and close to everything yet on a quiet street), the hotel is charming, the room was quite nice and spacious (we had one of the junior suites), the bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. We would stay here the next time that we go to Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeJenD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would come back again. Our junior suites are definitely our more spacious rooms, so if size of the room is something that is important to you, please be sure to mention that you prefer a deluxe king or junior suite room. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights whilst he attended a conference in Quebec City. The hotel was ideally located for him to make the short walk across the park to the city's conference centre each morning and for me to explore the old town from within the city walls. It is located at the top of the upper town so guests should be prepared for a short but steep walk back to the hotel but don't let this put you off as walking around the old town inevitably involves hills. We also really enjoyed the fact that we could easily walk to more restaurants and bars located outside the city walls on boulevard Renee levesque and rue st jean. The citadel and plains of Abraham are also just a short walk away. Our room was located on the ground floor next to the bar which at first we thought would be noisy and intrusive. Actually, it was very quiet and there are two doors leading to the bedroom for further sound proofing. The room was spacious, very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the antique style furnishings provide tasteful decor and character. The bathroom was modern and clean. A buffet style breakfast is provided and was the same each day consisting of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast and excellent croissants. It is soon to be served on the ground floor which will provide a more modern and airy environment to eat in. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in providing advice on where to go and what to eat and all were bi-lingual so communication should never be a problem for non French speakers. Parking is available at a cost of $18 a day but as the hotel only has 4 spaces we recommend requesting this in advance of your arrival. All in all this hotel is good value for money in view of the location and amenities and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the old town.

Room Tip: Room 51 is on the ground floor so avoids having to take luggage up stairs. It is next to the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Bonjour! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. I am thrilled you liked your room as well as your stay with us. When we decided to move the dining area upstairs, we paid special attention to soundproofing in the new addition, which includes lead sheeting in the walls, along with the extra buffer of the second door in the entrance of your room. I realize that when you first arrive, you may think that it will be noisy given the location to the new dining room and bar, but it is a very quiet and private room. The bar and dining area are only open to clients of the hotel. I imagine you chose to stay with us in part because of our close proximity to the Quebec City Conference center, which is just a few minute walk from the hotel. I am delighted the location worked out so well for you and that you were able to mix pleasure with business. It was a true pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and again, thank you for your support. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

As a "treat yourself" portion of our trip to Quebec, we stayed in one of the suites at Manoir d'Auteuil. The room was a loft with a nice big tub overlooking the room and outside. (However, our one disappointment was not getting one of the rooms with a large art deco bathroom.)

Everyone was very helpful and we had a very nice stay.

I'll always remember this room because while we were there, my partner asked me to marry him in the room. (I said yes.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Congratulations!!!!!! Love must be in the air, because during your stay, 4 couples got engaged! Wow, we are so excited for you both. I am delighted you enjoyed your room and stay with us. You were in one of our contemporary art deco junior suites. The Amyotte and Edith Piaf junior suites (rooms 7 and 8) have the vintage art deco bathrooms. If we know in advance your preference, we will do our best to assign you that room, but no doubt, you had a lovely room. This was the perfect occasion to splurge and treat yourselves to something special, and we are delighted that we could be part of the special moment. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I would like to wish you both a lifetime of wonderful moments and memories together. À la prochaine, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing