We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is part of a group of hotels called "Les Hotels du Parc" - my boyfriend's family and I visited for a wedding in town and we were able to take advantage of a group rate of $100/night.

I stayed three nights in this hotel - two with a party of 4 and one with just the two of us. We had a room with two doubles booked as part of the group rate - it would seem that though we had the "group rate", we were still billed roughly the same as if we had not - there was a fee of $10+/night (not sure the exact figure) for each additional person in the room, and many ammenities which would normally be included in a hotel room were not included (iron/ironing board, coffee maker) - some members of our party had a mini fridge, walk in closet, etc, for the same price we paid, and likewise, we had a large television while other members in our party had very small ones, etc - the features of the room were not standardized. The bathroom was small, with a 3/4 bathtub.

We did love the decor and the feel of the room - beautiful stone wall and a chandelier and four poster beds - they were able to accomodate our request for a 1st floor room as we had our grandmother with us the first two nights. The continental breakfast was just down the street a ways at one of the other hotels, Beau-Site, I believe. Coffee, orange juice, toast, croissants - the only thing I would have changed was that two mornings, I grabbed a plum and they were bruised. :(

The proximity to everything around it was just about fantastic - they were also able to offer us parking for $14/day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have been to Quebec on a number of occasions and have stayed at several of the small townhouse hotels that line the Jardins des Governeurs across from the Chateau Frontenac. Unfortunately, Manoir Ste-Genevieve was the most tired of the bunch. Peeling wallpaper, tiny bathroom (I am tall and could barely fit in with the door closed), century-old drapes, saggy bed, and no toiletries give you a good idea. In addition, check in was at nearby Hotel Fleur-du-Lys and breakfast was served a block away at Hotel Beau-Site. On the plus side, of course, the magnificent location in the Old Town diagonally across a park from the Chateau Frontenac at a fraction of the cost. The hotel was not as good as it was reviewed in my travel guide and though disappointed, if this was the only option for a future stay, i would be willing to go again based on the excellent location.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C, so specify when making a reservation. Ask for a room for the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovepug87
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

If you are wanting something romantic that will take you back in time. This hotel is for you. I felt like I had reverted back to the elegance of the 1800's. The lobby is like nothing but pure elegance beginning with the wood and elegant stairway upon entering. The room made me thing of the old days even though the bathroom has been modernized. There is even a small kitchenette. I do think it is a little over priced, but everything today is over priced. The hostess was very helpful even through the language barrier. We didn't speak French. The location was perfect as what we wanted to see and where we wanted be was just down the hill. You are even given a voucher toward your breakfast in the heart of all the action. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just be prepared to pay $130.00, per night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovepug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
426 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Arriving in Quebec City without reservations in the late afternoon of June 16th, we stopped in the upper old city section inquiring about lodging. It took only a short while to find the Manoir Ste-Genevieve. The manager was wonderful and cheerful as she checked all her inventory for several B&Bs to find us 3 rooms for 3 couples. Her English was pretty good and our French not so much, yet we were able to communicate.

Like us, you have to like charming old hotels with creaky floors, house noises, and somewhat dated decor to like this B&B. You also have to like lugging your luggage up a few flights of stairs. All our rooms had private baths and air conditioners (it was actually warm in June). One of the rooms had kitchenette and another had a view of the Hotel Frontenac (both on the 3rd floor). Our room was located on the 2nd floor but did not have a view. All rooms were very large and accommodating. You receive a $5 breakfast voucher to be used at a local restaurant. Our voucher was for the Cafe Paris Restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and service there.

The B&B was excellently located within a short walk of the Hotel Frontenac, boardwalk, La Citadelle, restaurants, and all the upper city sights. Since we didn't spend much time in the B&B we thought the location was worth the price. Parking is limited in the upper city therefore we did have to pay $14 to the B&B to park in their parking lot next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

I go to Quebec frequently, and generally avoid the higher priced hotels in favor of a less pricey and more personal experience. Au Manoir St Genevieve has a great location on a quiet street a block away from Terrace Duffferin and the Chateau - couldn't be better. It's a fine old house, possibly once serving as lodging for military officers in days gone by given the proximity to the citadel.

We booked two rooms and found both clean and comfortable - I would recommend asking for rooms off the ground floor since rooms on upper floors are brighter, prettier, and seem to have nicer architectural details. (I don't think there is an elevator though.) Our two double rooms were $100 Canadian each (or about $80) - not too bad for the height of the season - and we had a parking voucher for $11 Canadian per day - parking was about 2 blocks away at City Hall.

Both rooms were spacious and had TV and AC. In both rooms, sinks/vanities were in the main room, and separate bathrooms with tub/shower & toilet were small but adequate. My room on the 2nd floor had beautiful moldings, lovely windows, and was quite attractive.

The proprietress and staff were helpful and pleasant. Coffee, OJ and a lackluster croissant were available in the morning, but we preferred to breakfast at the wonderful Conchon Dengue in Lower Town.

This may not be the place for people who are accustomed to luxury digs or who prefer full-service hotels and cookie cutter comforts. This is comparable to many of the European small hotels that are often long on price/value, cleanliness, and character, but that don't offer the predictable amenities that add to price. I enjoyed it as did my friends and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2004

We followed Fodor's recommendation for a "quaint and elaborately decorated" hotel and booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Manoir St. Genevieve (Aug 11 & 12, 2004). We stayed for only 1 night and were lucky to find another hotel at the Chateau Bellevue for the following night.

Room #1 is right to the left as you walk into the hotel. This room should be a living room or guest sitting area instead of an actual bedroom. Room #1 does have a Victorian frilly look to it but it smelled musty, the air conditioner didn't work, and the bathroom was tiny. It definitely was not "plush" nor did it have "stately English manor furnishings."

The entrance to room #31 is outside on the side street. This room was even worse than the first. The furniture was 1950's formica special. The mattresses sagged so badly they should simply be thrown out and replaced. Although clean, the bathroom was very dated. There was an additional double bed in a bedroom that doubled as a kitchen - very strange. As with room #1, it smelled musty, old, and not well taken care of.

Although vaguely polite, we got no help or even vague recommendations about visiting the old town from the receptionist.

Breakfast was horrific. Although the house has a large kitchen, it was filled with boxes and bric a brac. In fact, the hotel has no dining facilities and breakfast consisted of a plastic cafeteria tray with a cup of coffee, a stale croissant, 1 tiny square of jam, no butter, and an airplane-type orange juice container. We had to take the tray back to our rooms as there was nowhere else to eat.

This hotel was simply run down and instead of 2 stars it should be downgraded to 1 star hotel status. The only good thing about the Manoir St. Genevieve is it's location directly across le Parc des Gouverneurs and behind the Chateau de Frontenac in the old town.

Helpful?
15 Thank claulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2004

Charming rooms, furnished in French Que. style. Very clean, roomy, air conditioned.It is located in a very quiet street, even though it is just behind the Chateau Frontenac; a quick landmark if you are prone to getting lost.Very helpful amiable staff.Our vacation was enhanced by our stay at this delightful B&B.

Helpful?
5 Thank georgette_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#43 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#73 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#77 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sainte Genevieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sainte Genevieve

Property: Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Address: 13 avenue Sainte Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manoir Sainte Genevieve 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manoir Sainte Genevieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ste-Genevieve Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sainte Genevieve Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing