We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Upper Old Town”
Review of Hotel Marie Rollet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marie Rollet
Ranked #27 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Location in Upper Old Town”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good price for charming, clean, nicely decorated, and extremely central hotel. We parked right across the street in a garage for the two days we spent in QC, and walked everywhere - it's just a few blocks to the Frontenac and the steps to the Lower town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ao-at-peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    62
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
66
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hôtel Marie-Rollet is a nice small hotel located pretty much right in the heart of old Quebec. Named after a woman philanthropist who was active in Quebec during the early 1600’s, it is in a converted residence. If you are reading this, you might be aware that it is listed as a “Bed & Breakfast” although they do not provide breakfast.

We were assigned a room immediately adjacent to the “office”/reception area on the “ground” floor but the quiet nature of this facility kept us from having any problem with noise. The room (#1 as I recall) was large with what appeared to be authentic furnishing and trim. It was a little dark but that was not really an issue. It was clear that the room had been created out of what looked like an old dining room – the small ensuite bath had been wedged into the room by splitting it into two areas and the sink area was poorly lit.

The “ground” floor is accessed by going up a short, steep set of steps. It was quite awkward to carry luggage in. We later learned how we could have at least blocked the doors open. The staff person on duty at the time did not offer help or insight into the blocking mechanism. There are no elevators and, in keeping with construction standards of the time, all of the steps are relatively steep and the halls narrow. There is a small sitting/balcony area on the top floor but it was quite stark and off-putting.

Our GPS struggled a bit with the location – it is right on the corner of Rue St. Anne and Rue Cook. Parking is across the street and convenient. It is in an underground garage that had been (intelligently) developed by several of the hotels in the area and one hotel appeared to have the premium first level but that was not a problem. A very complete and useful Tourist Information office is located about three blacks away.

One feature that was really nice for us is a full-size refrigerator/freezer available to guests. It is located on the basement level and it allowed us to re-freeze our ice packs for a cooler chest.

All in all, M-R is an inexpensive (for Old Quebec) facility in a very good location. We will certainly consider it if/when we return to Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_sailr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a small hotel so you get personal attention from the moment you arrive. Alain immediately upgraded us. We liked the Victorian decor and artifacts in the room. Even better is the location. When in Old Quebec you spend all day walking the cobbled streets so it's great to be able to get to your room in less than 5 minutes from restaurants and pubs, and take advantage of wi fi before hitting the sack.

Room Tip: Room 10 was large and had a view into old Quebec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel, more like an old mansion, for 4 days. It was extremely clean! The staff were very nice and accommodating. There is space in the room to walk around and fit 4 suitcases. Located right in the middle of old quebec city, this hotel is very picturesque :)

Room Tip: Make sure to check if the bathroom is in the room or not. Ours was in the room, so we were very happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have just enjoyed my second stay at the Hotel Marie Rollet - a European style boutique hotel - centrally located within the walls of old Quebec city. It is close to historic sights, lovely little cafes, and delightful shops. The owner, Alain, and his staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. Our room (room 10 shown on the hotel's homepage) was peaceful and its decor helped me feel that "I had gone back in time" as I visited one of the oldest cities in North America. The Hotel Marie Rollet is excellent value and will add significantly to your Quebec city experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nestled in Old Quebec is a wonderful quaint hotel. It's in the heart of the old charm of the city with fabulous restaurants and shops near by. The rooms are updated with all the modern needs a traveler must have i.e. internet, tv, clean facility. The inn keeper was warm and informative of where to go for a drink and restaurant.

We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We opted for the large semi-basement room since it had it's own bathroom and was roomier. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

this place was charming, clean and very great deal. The location is perfect. It is in the center of everything. We were treated very well by Alain and the staff. Alain and the staff was extremely helpful. This was a wondeful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patlanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#59 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#12 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#40 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marie Rollet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marie Rollet

Property: Hotel Marie Rollet
Address: 81, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marie Rollet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marie Rollet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marie Rollet Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing