We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a room on an upper floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Ask for a room on an upper floor”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Hotel Chateau Bellevue. The location is perfect and the exterior of the hotel is lovely .We never had to use our car while we were there.The hotel is ideally located for walking around the city.The staff is helpful and the breakfast was a cut above what you get in a chain hotel. We were very disappointed in our room. The room "of distinction" was advertised as having an optional park view, which we requested. Our room was on the lower level of the hotel, below the lobby level. When we arrived there was a truck parked in front of our window so there was no view. Once the truck moved, the following day, our view was of people walking by. As a result, it was necessary to we keep the shades closed at all times for privacy. It was a very dark room. While our room faced a beautiful park, instead of overlooking it, we were "underlooking" it. It could not be seen from where we were. If we'd had a room on an upper level, it would have been a great visit. For the money we paid, the accomodations were lacking. Still, we would go there again, if we could be guaranteed a better room.

Room Tip: Be certain you are not booked into a basement room. Ask to overlook the park from a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour marilyn w!

Thank you very much for posting your nice review. First of all, I am glad you had a good stay, that you liked our breakfast and that you appreciated our incredibly location. As far as your room is concerned, I am very sorry to hear about the issue you had with your floor. We indeed have Distinction rooms on higher floors, and it would be our pleasure to guarantee it for you for your next stay. I would like to mention that the location of the room was the only negative - I gather you enjoyed its width, wooden floors, stone wall and therapeutic shower.

Let me underline how appreciative I am of your wish to come back despite this issue, and believe when I say we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    356
    99
    31
    21
See reviews for
111
625
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

In May we visited Quebec City for the first time and stayed at the Hotel Chateau Bellevue. The hotel is clean, and the room size was very nice. They serve a continental breakfast, but we usually ended up going to a restaurant for breakfast. The hotel staff were very nice and we really liked the location. The hotel is situated at the corner of a large grassy square (park) behind the Hotel Frontenac. We found Quebec City to be very charming, and we enjoyed strolling through the village like atmosphere. Lots of hills so be prepared for some serious walking....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lahurdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour lahurdj,

Thank you very much for you review ! I am very happy to see you had a great stay with us. We are indeed blessed, Québec is a marvelous city - history, nature, lovely people... - and our location couldn't be any better ! I am glad you enjoyed your room as well as breakfast, and I am proud to see how kind and helpful our front desk staff is.

We are truly looking forward to seeing you again !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've been a guest for three nights at Chateau Bellevue. The room is small, but adequate and well appointed. The bathroom, likewise is small and lacks a vanity but has been recently remodeled and like the rest of the hotel is immaculate. The bed is comfortable and the ironed linens are wonderful.
Breakfast is nothing special, but it's fine, and it's included in the rate. Because meals in Quebec City are extremely expensive this is a real value.
Service is friendly and welcoming. Everyone speaks English happily, and the morning newspaper selections include a couple of choices in English. The street is quiet, across from Governor's Park, and just a block from the Fontenac and the boardwalk, and two or three blocks from dozens of restaurants. Other than a noisy air conditioner (that I never bothered to complain about) it's been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour Cheryl B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am glad to see you had a great stay with yous, and that everything was almost perfect. I am very sorry for the noisy air conditioner, had you mentioned it, we would have fixed it right away.

I sincerely wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A wonderful place to stay while experiencing old Quebec. Warm friendly staff, eager to assist you in any way necessary. Rooms are quaint and reminder of Europe. We have stayed there twice and look forward to visiting again. The only place we will stay on a return visit!!!!!!

Room Tip: Wonderful place to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Bonjour Vincent M,

Thank you very much for your kind words ! It is so uplifting and thrilling for us to see how happy you were with your stay. We always try our best to make your time with us an unforgettable experience, thank you for giving us the pleasure and the honor to welcome you time and time again !

À bientôt !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have traveled to Quebec City many times. This is our first stay at this hotel.
The pictures online where deceiving. The room with a king sized bed was tiny. Other than the bed you could not move about.
The staff where courteous, but not very friendly.
For the price we paid, the value was not there. Plus the $ 17 per day parking....it was behind the hotel and the $ 8.50 for a small breakfast did not make sense.
We will not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour Angelo A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sad to see you have not appreciated your stay with us as much as we would have wanted you to.

All our king bed rooms are renovated, and if some are wider than others is because we are a very old building. Had you mentioned this issue at the front desk, it would have been a great pleasure for us to give you a room with more space.

The price we charge for parking is less expensive than what you will find anywhere else in the old city. Also, the price includes the valet service, which means you do not have to worry about you car at all. As far as breakfast is concerned, it is our pleasure to offer breakfast to guests who book directly with us.

It would be a great pleasure for us to have the chance to welcome you again in the future, and prove to you how wonderful the service we provide is.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Local was fabulous, room huge shame we were so busy that we didn't spend much time in it. Though rest of the hotel is looking very dated. We booked the room and dinner package a hiccup meant that we had to pay for the meal at the restaurant and the check in staff were unable to charge us just for the room resulting in us paying twice for our meal until the matter could be resolved 3 days later.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour BrisbaneBenni,

Thank you very much for you kind review. It is a great pleasure for us to see you had a good stay. I would like to apologize for the hiccup, and I'm glad everything was solved very quickly!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a small, comfortable hotel in a great location, Hotel Château Bellevue is perfect for you. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just steps away from the Frontenac and the waterfront, charming shops and restaurants, and a funiculaire ride down to Old Quebec's shops and Place Royale. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CSM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Bonjour CSM46,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review ! I am happy to see you had a great stay with us, and that you enjoyed our incredible location as well as our staff's friendliness. Above all, I am delighted to see you would like to stay with us again. We can't wait !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Property: Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing