We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate in rating that as excellent. Given our room was dated I was impressed with how well it had been maintained and it was indeed perfectly spotless. The only negative comments I have was that the bed was a little uncomfortable and we only had one bedside table.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WorkAllergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Bonjour WorkAllergy,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear our staff was welcoming and helpful. As far as the rooms are concerned, we do have more modern rooms, such as our Distinction and Prestige rooms. Make sure you check them out for your next stay ! We would love to welcome you back again in our so very beautiful city.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We made reservations last-minute during a busy time (not peak season, but during the Jazz Festival). The comments on TripAdvisor were spot-on. The location was excellent -- in the heart of the Old City, on a charming street facing a small park, with a view of Chateau Frontenac and the river from the front stoop (though not from our room, which faced the back). We didn't need our car at all during our two day stay -- everything we wanted was walking distance. The room was indeed very small - a standard double bed, 2 night tables, a small desk, no room for a dresser -- but it was clean and quiet. The hotel staff were very welcoming, pleasant and helpful. I would happily return here for another stay. The hotel has a continental breakfast that is free only if you book through the hotel website, otherwise there's a charge. But for a little more than the hotel charge, we had the best hot breakfast ever at a cafe in the lower town that the hotel staff recommended, so I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyexpatMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Bonjour nyexpatMichigan,

First of all, thank you for your positive review. We are glad you were able to make out the best from your stay in our beautiful city thanks to our perfect location. I would like to underline that some of our rooms are smaller than in more modern hotels because we are in a historical protected environment, which means many rooms can't be widened. Yet, we do have more spacious rooms. Make sure you book a Distinction or Prestige room next time !

Best regards, and hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This boutique brownstone hotel is located in an amazing location in an amazing city! It is on an extremely quiet side street overlooking Governor Park & the St Lawrence & the Chateau Frontenac is about 200 yards away in one direction while the Citadel is about the same distance in the opposite direction. It seems to be one of the meeting places for the horses & carriages in the morning. What a wonderful sight when you walk out of the hotel in the morning to see them all lined up & ready to go.
The continental breakfast (which does not always seem to be included in the room price) is a little expensive for what it is but there are so many cafes within walking distance it really isn't a problem..
The rooms are small but extremely clean. But who wants to spend a lot of time in there anyway! The staff are friendly & very helpful.
This hotel is now my "go to" place in my "go to" city! Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Bonjour Susan W,

Thank you very, very much for your lovely review. We are indeed very lucky to be in such a charming and quiet yet central location. We are also delighted we are your new "go to" hotel ! I would like to mention that if you book directly with us (our website or on the phone) breakfast will automatically be included in your reservation.

I hope we will see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved Quebec City and cant wait to go back! I felt like I was walking through quiant villages in Europe!

Hotel Chateau Bellevue was very charming. We were looking for something close to main square area and close to the Frontenac Hotel (since we had friends staying there) --- We were so happy as we pulled up to our hotel as it is right across from a lovely park and just so Charming (Ok, I said it again)!

Very basic inside but sufficient for what we needed. Our rooms was very small but that was OK with us.....floors creaked a bit and decor was a bit dated....but that seemed to add to the charm.

Nice breakfast in the morning and friendly staff. I would certainly stay there again but maybe upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Bonjour BTessier,

Thank you very much for your... charming review ! It is always a great pleasure for us to receive such positive feedback. I would like to underline that for your next stay you shall ask for a Distinction or Prestige room, which are larger larger rooms and more modern than the room you occupied. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again among us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Chateau Bellevue has an excellent location in Québec City, right behind the Chateau Frontenac,and in front of Dufferin Terrace. The people who work in the hotel were all very nice and pleasant.
Our room was on the small side but it had a king-size bed and a very modern bathroom. It was also very clean. The but in the title refers to the fact that our room was in the basement!
To be fair, we did reserve only one day in advance of our arrival and the hotel was full perhaps,
but I had been told on the phone that the room was on the ground floor and had a view of the park and Chateau Frontenac. Well, there was no view except of people walking on the sidewalk,so we had to keep our curtains drawn if we wanted privacy, which made for a very dark room!
Breakfast was adequate and valet parking was nice, but the price we paid was too high. I`m sure if we had a different room our experience would have been much better. Perhaps another time.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend the rooms in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geniemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Bonjour geniemtl,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very helpful for us to receive such feedback. As you said, we were fully booked the day you were at the hotel. Yet, the rooms located on the ground floor do have a very lovely view once winter hits, since you are able to see the St.Lawrence river, and are mostly very modern rooms.

It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again, and you shall request a room on a higher floor which we will try our best to grant you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Quebec -- the staff was really great. The location was beautiful. We were smitten by the neighborhood, the wonderful architecture, the morning glories on the side of the building, the park, the river, the Fontenac Hotel nearby. OOlala, it was really pretty. The room was smallish but comfortable. It was immaculate, very nice. The front desk was helpful and friendly. We could park our van easily through the front desk, and our stay was comfortable and in a location which allowed us to walk back during the day for a rest or to leave a coat or whatever. The only glitch was that we held the room with one credit card and then decided to change to a different one when we paid. The front desk failed to tell us that the amount was already charged to the other card (or was held by the other card) and that amount was not available for to us for several days afterwards. If we knew the amount was going to be held up on that card, we would have just used the first card and not switched. We don't know if this was a cultural thing or specific to that hotel.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for a room facing the park and the river. There are other rooms which face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miknamrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Bonjour Miknamrok,
Your evaluation on your last visit has been more than constructive and we want to thank you for the information you provided to us. We will use your experience for training. He hope you will visit again. Johanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This couldn't be a better situated hotel in the heart of old Quebec City. Leave the front door, walk across a small park and you're right on the St. Lawrence boardwalk. Room was a bit small compared with usual stateside standards but comfortable and with all the services. Breakfast was the (now) usual eat what you want breakfast and quite adequate for our needs. Staff attentive and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bub_s869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Bonjour bub_5869,
Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. These comments will help us future visitors. We hope you will return. Johanne Caron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $84 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing