We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The seaway is within sight from the front door and there are numerous interesting shops and restaurants in a very short walking distance. The government buildings and the Citadel are also within walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast offered a lot of choices. The room was small but comfortable & clean. (Who goes on vacation to sit in a hotel room anyway?) I would certainly stay here again. The elevator was convenient, but the front steps are steep...not welcoming for luggage carriers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is a good no-frills basic for travelers but is not a good value. The rooms are small and clean, but the halls were littered and dirty. I had asked for an upstairs room but was in the basement looking at the parking lot. My room was cleaned daily but not tidied. The TV remote worked hit and miss and the internet didn't work at all the last day which was a disastrous consequence for me as this was a business trip and I had to cancel the day's classes. The hotel didn't offer any compensation for the inconvenience. The continental breakfast had a lot of bread/carb choices with crepes and homemade jams. Despite the friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff this hotel is not a good choice for working travelers due to the unreliablility of services. At checkout, no one asked how my stay was, as is customary. I guess they already knew the answer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Management, Responsable réception at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We appreciate that you share your opinion with the community of travellers on TripAdvisor. Yes, our rooms are small, for the simple reason that we are in the Old Quebec. As written before as an answer for such comment, we have now different types of room and different sizes for different budgets. However, we cannot have huge rooms, the building were we are, was built in 1899. There are some limitations about what we can or cannot do. About the cleaning, but not tidied room, we give the choice to our clients of using the cleaning services or not. If you want new sheets everyday, you only have to put a sign on your bed asking for it. When you are staying for a few days, we don’t make the room as if you were leaving everyday. The main reasons are that we want to be ecological and because our cleaning staff are not allowed to move your personal things.

Now about the “unreliability of services” meaning that there was a major exceptional breakdown of the server in the hotel, well, sorry, it is not usual. We cannot compensate for a service that is totally free. As for the service that we offer at the checkout time, we appreciate to talk about your stay when we can, and when everybody is receptive on both sides of the front desk. Moreover, we always encourage people to share their opinion about their stay and we always welcome comments or useful suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was staying in Québec City for a convention. My wife came along for the ride.The larger hotels were full so our Union Treasurer booked us in to the Chateau Bellevue. The location was great - right in front of a park.
Although the room was not very big it was comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was included in the price and the choice of food was fair. There was an excellent coffee machine offering espresso and capuccino that was a nice change from monotonous hotel fare.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff. They were all friendly and always helpful.
On the day were were leaving we sat in the front room and had a last coffee while we waited for a cab. The woman who was supposed to vacuum the breakfast area started to clean but discreetly decided to vacuum the hallway instead and to allow us a few minutes to chat before we left the hotel. It was a small gesture that I will remember.
This is not a luxury hotel but it had all that we needed to be comfortable.

Room Tip: A always - far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The room I had on the 3rd floor had a great view (being careful of the dormer ceiling) of the park, the St. Lawrence and the back of the Hotel Chateau Frontenac. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well furnished. The lobby was utilitarian but the price is great for the old city. The breakfast was adequate - I was not hungry but it was pretty basic except for the twist of crepes instead of pancakes for breakfast. The only drawback was it was only open at 7am which was cutting it close since I was in QC for a conference and had to be onsite at 7:30. The staff was very helpful in all cases.

Definitely a place to stay if you want to be in the old city as it was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallschurchva22046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I really liked this place because the staff was so wonderful. They were very accomodating and bilingual. The location was great too; we walked everywhere. The small rooms and the basic breakfast were not really concerns for us. The nice service made up for any minor shortcomings. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinneapolisRhoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made an unfortunate decision by choosing this overpriced hotel. The room was small with no place even for the suitcase. Breakfast was minimal, self service and we had to clear the tables ourselves. The dining area was in an open niche between reception and the rooms. And all this for the measly sum of app. 250 Can$. Location is good, but not worth the price.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We are sorry that our hotel was not as you were expecting.

The buffet continental breakfast is complementary. By definition, a continental breakfast is not a breakfast with warm elements. The breakfast that we offer is composed of four types of cereals (Froot Loops, Mueslix, Frosted Flakes, Harvest Crunch), four types of breads (white, brown, a 7-cereal bread and banana bread), waffles, yogurts (with different fruits or vanilla). There are different kinds of spread for the bread as fruit homemade jam from the caterer George-V and Nutella. We have also added warm crepes to the breakfast and maple syrup. Moreover, there is coffee, juices and tea whenever you want. We don’t charge extra for the breakfast. It is there and you can take it or not. If you prefer a hot breakfast, our agents at the front desk will be able to recommend some places to you.

As for the room, well, as stated before, we have different type of rooms of different sizes. However, you have to note most of the hotels in the Old Quebec are located in old buildings and we cannot do what we want about renovations. We are subjected to the fact that we are located in an area protected by the UNESCO. We cannot have large rooms like in a modern hotel. We try to offer the best and it is the reason why recently we have renovated the rooms and the different public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in wonderful Quebec City and this cute little hotel was a great home base to explore the area. We didn't utilize the free breakfast because there were not any gluten free options but the selection seemed good. The self serve coffee machine was nice to have. The room itself and the TV was tiny as expected but everything else was tres bien!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $86 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing