We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2006

What a charming hotel!!! We stayed 3 nights in July with another couple. We had room #1 on 1st floor which was very large with a balcony and they had a room on the 2nd floor which was beautiful. Both rooms had views of the boardwalk and river which was delightful. The service was exceptional and staff was very friendly. The location, was perfect and price was excellent. We even had views of the Frontenac without the expense. Can't wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Disliked — the views
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chinkapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    71
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
93
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2006

My husband and I travel to Quebec every year to oil paint with renowned Delaware artist, Edward L. Loper, and his students. For the past 4 years we have stayed at the Chateau de la Terrasse Dufferin. The room (we have a favorite) is charming. The view is spectacular! And the staff low key, but friendly. Why would you stay any place else??

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

This hotel was just perfect. We are a family of 4 so we had 2 double beds and a pull-out couch. The bedroom and the bathroom were large and clean. Stacks of clean towels every day. We had a superb balcony overlooking the river and a stunning view of the Chateau Frontenac. We had our 2 college student children with us and they were very happy to sit on the balcony and watch people for hours at a time. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful from the very first e-mail contact we had with them. A wonderful location down a dead-end street, that American Consulate next door keeps things pretty quiet on the street. But you can also hear all the street perfomers who are just a few feet down below on the boardwalk which runs in front of this hotel and the Chateau Frontenac. We highly recommend this hotel, really perfect if you want to park your car and see the Vieux Quartier (Old Quarter) on foot. We were very sorry to leave this beautiful old hotel and will certainly go back whenever we are visit Quebec City.

Helpful?
19 Thank Fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2005

This was a marvellous find through tripadvisor for us. We stayed in Room #8 which has two double beds and also overlooks the St Laurence River. We were told where to park our car and also that, since the hotel is next door to the American Consulate, no one be taking anything from our overloaded car! They were right! It's a beautiful location and the staff is wonderful! Highly recommend for any visit to Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tahoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken NJ
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2004

Spent Thanksgiving weekend at the Terrasse Dufferin and enjoyed it. My room was on the river side, third floor. The views of the St Lawrence and the Chateau Frontenac were fantastic. The room was charming with flowered wallpaper, a full size bed with a great floral comforter and nice antique furnishings. There was also a small balcony but they had already sealed the windows and balcony for the winter which was disappointing since the views would have been more enjoyable from outside. The bathroom was small but this seems to be the case for most of the older hotels in Quebec City. The place was very quiet and the location is perfect. I would definitely like to stay there again and highly recommend it to all.

Helpful?
16 Thank luvquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2004

We were told by someone in Montreal that this quaint little place was THE place to stay. Was it ever! The staff was extremely friendly, room was lovely, the sight from the balcony (Room 13) was outstanding (why pay to stay at the Frontenac when you have an excellent view of it from your window??) We enjoyed being able to sit on the balcony and listen to the street musicians on the boardwalk. This place gets an A+++.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2003

The location is great, overlooking the Dufferin Terrace & St. Lawrence River. Service is friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We have stayed there several times and will continue to use their lodging whenever we are in Quebec.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#70 of 101 in Quebec City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Dufferin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Dufferin

Property: Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Address: 6 rue Terrasse Dufferin, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terrasse Dufferin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1830, this hotel is located in the heart of Old Quebec offering direct access to the Terrasse Dufferin and a breathtaking view over the Saint Lawrence River and the majestic Frontenac Castle. Thanks to its central location you can discover the old town of Quebec all on foot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Dufferin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Terrasse Dufferin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing