We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in the heart of OLD QUEBEC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value in the heart of OLD QUEBEC”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I booked for 4 nights - It was a busy time and we were advised they had one room available and could accomodate us for the period we required - in a room at the rear of the hoyel but without a view. We took it. We joked that it most likely is the garden shed. Surprise Surprise.. It was on the first floor and yes it did face the rear of the property. It was more than we envisaged - with en-suite. After all at the end of the day we were only in the room to shower and sleep. The Hotel location was super, The views down onto the St Lawrence when you stepped out the front door were superb - All the Staff were so friendly. They allowed us to sit and have breakfast out on the sunny office balcony taking in the view of people strolling the boardwalk below and beyond them, the busy shipping moving on the St Lawrence. A cold bottle of wine on the same balcony one evening as the sun set was outstanding. We will certainly return...
Don & Rita

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don2k4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    32
    4
    6
See reviews for
37
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Good location.
Hotel modest, but decent. Simple and old furniture. Hotel maintenance is lacking. In the room #10, the wash hand basin is primitive, like as a sink basin. But, on the whole, we were quite satisfied. Warning: the visit at the "chateau" Frontenac doesn't worth at least 1 dollar. If you will made this mistake, you will spend the time walking on the corridors of a hotel (and I suppose that you have been seen hundred as these) not in a "chateau" (castle).

Room Tip: The rooms with view on thw river don't worth the difference in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

the place is perfect for its location, but staff was not friendly as I think they could be. and wen we got the bill .... surprise, surprise! the price for parking was higher than the one they told me in the check in. just to make it worst the bill that i signed there was lower than the one i received in my credit card.... I don't know why or how, but instead of the $292.11 that I signed for my card statement shows $307.46

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiobertuol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I with our 5 children find it difficult to find places to stay without costing an arm and a leg. Hotel Terrasse was absolutely wonderful! We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor. Although we had a hike up a lot of stairs with all of our luggage,it was worth it. We had room 20 and 22. Because the rooms were so close together, it worked out well to have our eldest children (teen agers) to have a room to themselves and we had the beautiful room that faced the St. Lawrence.
I'd recommend taking the breakfast offered as well as the shops in the neighbourhood are far more expensive for a simple cup of coffee.
We plan on staying again this summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Room 14 on the third floor was large and had a terrific view of the St. Lawrence and Chateau Frontenac. Very conveniently located above the Terrasse and near the staircase to the Citadel. Also lovely views from the hillside next to the staircase below the Citadel. Our friends stayed in room 1 which had a cute little balcony, large bathroom, and similar view. Continental breakfast in courtyard behind the hotel was very good deal and relaxing. Would highly recommend the Musee de Civilization exhibits.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erinbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in room 1, which has a wonderful little balcony overlooking the Terrasse Dufferin. Though the balcony was basically at street level, it felt separate enough for us to feel comfortable leaving the doors open (during the day). It was also quiet at night, which was a nice surprise, given the location. The room was large enough to accommodate our family of four, with two double beds and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was about as comfortable as you'd expect, but it was nice to have it so that our kids could each have their own bed. Breakfasts were adequate--nothing special (croissants, muffins, a basket of apples). Overall the place was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and very well located--and for us any place that fits that bill AND allows us to cram our family of four into one room is a winner!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Up to the fourth floor on the river side is quite a hike, and there's no balcony up here. The third floor on the river side is the place to be. The amount of space is terrific - kitchen, separate bedroom. Not quite spiff, a little tired but acceptable. Parking is close and convenient enough.

The location couldn't be better. When trying to drive here, go through the reception drive at the Chateau Frontenac - saves a lot of time on one-way streets.

We've stayed here before and will here again, but will want to be on the third floor with the balcony. Will recommend it to friends with reservations noted.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#77 of 101 in Quebec City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#37 of 101 in Quebec City
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Dufferin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Dufferin

Property: Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Address: 6 rue Terrasse Dufferin, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terrasse Dufferin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1830, this hotel is located in the heart of Old Quebec offering direct access to the Terrasse Dufferin and a breathtaking view over the Saint Lawrence River and the majestic Frontenac Castle. Thanks to its central location you can discover the old town of Quebec all on foot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Dufferin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Terrasse Dufferin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing