We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I with our 5 children find it difficult to find places to stay without costing an arm and a leg. Hotel Terrasse was absolutely wonderful! We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor. Although we had a hike up a lot of stairs with all of our luggage,it was worth it. We had room 20 and 22. Because the rooms were so close together, it worked out well to have our eldest children (teen agers) to have a room to themselves and we had the beautiful room that faced the St. Lawrence.
I'd recommend taking the breakfast offered as well as the shops in the neighbourhood are far more expensive for a simple cup of coffee.
We plan on staying again this summer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

Room 14 on the third floor was large and had a terrific view of the St. Lawrence and Chateau Frontenac. Very conveniently located above the Terrasse and near the staircase to the Citadel. Also lovely views from the hillside next to the staircase below the Citadel. Our friends stayed in room 1 which had a cute little balcony, large bathroom, and similar view. Continental breakfast in courtyard behind the hotel was very good deal and relaxing. Would highly recommend the Musee de Civilization exhibits.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erinbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in room 1, which has a wonderful little balcony overlooking the Terrasse Dufferin. Though the balcony was basically at street level, it felt separate enough for us to feel comfortable leaving the doors open (during the day). It was also quiet at night, which was a nice surprise, given the location. The room was large enough to accommodate our family of four, with two double beds and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was about as comfortable as you'd expect, but it was nice to have it so that our kids could each have their own bed. Breakfasts were adequate--nothing special (croissants, muffins, a basket of apples). Overall the place was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and very well located--and for us any place that fits that bill AND allows us to cram our family of four into one room is a winner!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Up to the fourth floor on the river side is quite a hike, and there's no balcony up here. The third floor on the river side is the place to be. The amount of space is terrific - kitchen, separate bedroom. Not quite spiff, a little tired but acceptable. Parking is close and convenient enough.

The location couldn't be better. When trying to drive here, go through the reception drive at the Chateau Frontenac - saves a lot of time on one-way streets.

We've stayed here before and will here again, but will want to be on the third floor with the balcony. Will recommend it to friends with reservations noted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife(who is pregnant) and I went to Quebec City during a rare heat wave. We went to our room and thought the a.c wasn't turned on to conserve energy. The room was stifling, so we turned the a.c. on and left for a few hours. When we got back, there was no change in temperature. Obviously the air conditioner was not working. We complained to the manager and were told the a.c. would be working in an hour or so. When we went back to find him he was conveniently not around and tried to dodge us in the morning. When we checked out at noon, he still was not available and we got a COLD apology from the receptionist . Otherwise, great location, clean but dated rooms, short walking distance to shops restaurants and all the sites

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzwolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were thinking of perhaps renting an apartment for a week or 2 as we visit Quebec City often. I read another recommendation for this place and decided to give it a try. It was terrific. For starters, the location can't be beat. We stayed in room #9 for 5 nights. It had a fantastic view of the St. Lawrence, Levis, Ile de Orleans, etc., the same view you pay big bucks for at the Chateau Frontenac, and we love the Frontenac and will stay there again, but this was great. It was like having a french apartment. Seperate bedroom and bath, living room, and small kitchenette, where you could cook stove top but no oven. The building is over 180 years old but is maintained very well. There is no elevator which obviously a problem for anyone who might be handicapped.

While we made our breakfast each day, you can get light fare also each morning for an addtional charge. Parking is also extra. We decided that we are such creatures of habit that anything over a week might be too much, but this place certainly fit our needs and in warmer weather next year we will return.

For a romantic getaway with privacy and the feeling you've escaped to France, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDP112456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Fabulous location overlooking the St Lawrence and quieter than many in the old city. Both beds were great, contrary to reports from some other reviewers. (I changed rooms to get air conditioning). Back rooms are small, but I liked paying only $99. I would stay there again but reserve in time to get a room with river view. Reserved parking nearby at $15/night.

Wifi, but not for those who need big TV.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
3  Thank grannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 102 in Quebec City
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#79 of 102 in Quebec City
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#67 of 102 in Quebec City
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Dufferin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Dufferin

Address: 6 rue Terrasse Dufferin, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $71 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terrasse Dufferin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1830, this hotel is located in the heart of Old Quebec offering direct access to the Terrasse Dufferin and a breathtaking view over the Saint Lawrence River and the majestic Frontenac Castle. Thanks to its central location you can discover the old town of Quebec all on foot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Dufferin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Terrasse Dufferin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing