We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel right near the boardwalk in Quebec City. See the St. Lawrence from the doorstep.
Charming and quaint. No elevator or handicap accessibility, but still worth carrying your own luggage up the 5 flights of stairs (top floor). Service was impeccable, room was an architecture dream. exposed beams in the open ceiling, original brick on the walls, the radiator by the window. Not your typical hotel, more like you're staying with family in the 1800's with all the modern conveniences of air and wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in Room 14 and were very pleased. Check-in was easy and efficient. The room was charming, with exposed wood beams and an updated bathroom. The location is also outstanding, just a short dash down the stairs to the boardwalk and in the heart of upper town, next door to the Chateau Frontenac. It is a short walk to the Citadel and other sights. Be warned there is no elevator, so if you reserve a room on the second or third floor, be ready for the stairs. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their newly renovated condo. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating, even with our last-minute reservation. The location is perfect, too -- everything you could want to explore is withing walking distance, which helps to work off all those pastries and tarte au sucre! I will definitely stay here again, any and every time I come to Quebec City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaina0t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Do not let the " est. 1836 " sign scare you. Very updated rooms with old world charm. I recommend rooms 14 or 16 if you do not mind stairs. These rooms are at the top floor and are very private with vaulted ceilings exposing the old walls adding to your decor. This hotel does not have an elevator, so plan on a spiral staircase no matter where your room is. The staff is beyond helpful. The desk clerk Rosie was a gem. You need to park your car in a garage and it will cost you $18 to $24 dollars a night depending on which lot you choose. The government lots are the cheapest. Drop your bags off and drive to the government lot. The walk is not that far to make and will save you money, especially if you are having an extended stay. The hotel is located in a spot where no car is needed. Walking allows you to really see the sites. It is very close to the fort where you can see the changing of the guards or go on a ghost tour. Rooms with a view are limited due to the small window sizes and most rooms are without any type of balcony.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bjones93444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first visit to the city on a motorcycle trip with two other couples. We were referred at the information station to this wonderful hotel. We had the entire upper level to ourselves. The girl at the front desk was very helpful showing us room choices as each room is arranged differently. Beautifully arranged and decorated with different sizes to suit everyones taste and needs. Loved the personal attention! Her recommendation for dinner was right what we were looking for too. Extremely helpful in giving us a place to park our bikes. It is in the upper part of the city so the street out front overlooks the river and all it's activity. Walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fivecents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our visit was completely enjoyable. Manoir Sur Le Cap was incredibly charming. The staff were so accommodating in every way and knowledgable. The location was even better than we could have anticipated as this was our first visit to Quebec City. Very close to shops & restaurants. Walking distance to Festival D'Ete De Quebec! We stayed in room 14 and loved it. Beautiful high ceilings, just lovely. We intend to return to Quebec City & Manoir Sur La Cap. Thanks for making our visit awesome!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, top floor rooms high ceilings and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked the #1 condo. There were two floors. The first was the bedroom, with a sitting area. A few steps down was the bathroom with a large jetted tub-it was wonderful. Upstairs was a kitchen, eating area, and living area with a gas fireplace. The wall held a Murphy bed. There is also a small deck which offers views of the St. Lawrence River. Look at the website pictures as others have said. Our rooms were so very cosy and charming, and perfectly appointed. It is located right next to all of the Old Walled city attractions, restaurants, a park, and the long huge boardwalk along the St. Lawrence, and the Funicular to the shops down by the river. Staff was very friendly. You cannot beat this place for the charm and location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank retiredtraveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 100 in Quebec City
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#67 of 100 in Quebec City
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#35 of 100 in Quebec City
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#39 of 100 in Quebec City
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $96 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing