We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a fantastic boutique hotel located in a perfect location to explore Quebec city. We stayed in the Condo which is an outstanding room. The value for the size of room is perfect. This would be an ideal room if you're traveling with more than one couple as you could use it for dinners, breakfast, cocktails or just meeting. The only suggestion would be to add a coffee table in the living room. We also didn't get any additional shampoo while we were there (3 days).

I don't think you can go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calabogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    94
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
126
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently spent 2 days at the Manoir Sur-le-Cap prior to a cruise. It's a really nice small hotel located directly across a park from the Chateau Frontenac. We stayed in room 3 on the ground floor in the back. It had it's own small terrace & was nice & quiet, We could pretty much walk throughout the old city.There are numerous restaurants close by. This is a very good location to get to departing cruise ships. One interesting point, the US consulate is about 1/2 block down the street. We'd definitely stay here again.Nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Hotel is 100 yards from the side of Le Chateau Fontenac and a like distance from the Terrasse Dufferin. You cannot get more central. This is a small hotel with, I guess, no more than 15 / 20 rooms on three floors. The building is old, has lots of character and is decorated to a good standard. I don't think there were any facilities, e.g. bar, lounge etc. other for a reception desk.

Our double-bedded room on the second floor was tiny but with a reasonable bathroom which was where we had to park our large suitcase. If you can live out of a small grip for a couple of days then it is not really a problem. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and for two nights suited us well.

At $248 all in for the two nights it seemed extremely good value. Secure parking is available a couple of minutes away, as advised on the Hotel's web site. I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: I am sure there must be some bigger rooms. It is certainly worth checking what size room you are ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrick33, Gérant at Manoir Sur-le-Cap, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your nice review, we always appreciate positive feedback and try our best to make our guests happy and wanting to come back for another stay. We would like to let you and all trip advisor viewers know that we have 14 rooms in all (3 small rooms ,6 medium and 5 large rooms and also a beautiful Deluxe suite). We have rooms for every need and budget. We welcome you and future guests to visit our website to look at the specific room one would need. We wish you a very nice day and hope you come visit us another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location, location, location right across a small park by the Chateau Frontenac! Close to Old Quebec and steps to the funicular to get to lower town. The room was large and well appointed, the front desk helpful with recommendations for sight seeing and restaurants. The only downside is the small bathroom, lack of closet/bureau space and no air conditioning. Our visit was during some of the warmer days of October 2013 and with the ceiling fan we didn't need any A/C despite the heat of the day. In my opinion the charm and location more than made up for the downsides.

Room Tip: If it matters to you make sure you choose a room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msesqct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrick33, Gérant at Manoir Sur-le-Cap, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your room and we appreciate you mentioning our helpful staff .However, we'd just like to clarify for your next trip or for other guests that there is air conditioning in every room in the summertime but we put them away usually around early October for the winter season, we did not expect such hot weather for this period of the year and apologize for any inconvenience. Have a great day and we hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

As stated in other reviews, this inn is in an excellent location. Our room (# 10) was on the 3rd floor with a view of the Chateau. Spacious room, very comfortable bed & pillows. Amazingly quiet. We slept later than we had in years. The bathroom was extremely small - particularly the shower. I can see where a larger person might be uncomfortable using it. The staff was very kind and the room was cleaned well each day. We did find Quebec City to be extremely expensive - not necessarily this inn as I feel it was priced well for what we got. When pricing a room, remember the almost 18% of taxes that will be added onto every bill. We cut our Canadian vacation short by 6 days because of the expense.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very nice - be prepared to carry your luggage up two flights of stairs. Very small showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JL3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Manoir Sur-le-Cap is the ideal location for visiting Old Quebec. It is 1/4 block from the promenade overlooking the St. Lawrence, the Chateau Frontenac is just across the small park in front of the Manoir and the Old Fort is right behind you. All the restaurants & sites are within easy walking distance, the staff made excellent suggestions for restaurants and interesting sightseeing. We stayed in the Condo, 2 floors of space with the bath & bedroom on the 2nd, the kitchen, living room with fireplace on the third. It was immaculate! We'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three days here in late July. We had room #3 with a bedroom, sitting room, small kitchenette and a nice outside patio. The inn is in a perfect location and walkable to everything in Old Quebec. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomMonroeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#52 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Property: Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing