We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #47 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family spent two nights here in April and had a fantastic stay. Room was perfect for all of us (3 boys age 7-13) and parents. Location is excellent for walking anywhere in the old city. We found free parking on the street behind the hotel. It couldn't be better. The staff was great, as always.

Room Tip: Staff will help pick a room during reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    95
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
128
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio grande,new mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Would highly recommend ! Right across the park from Hotel Fontenac .Easy walk to everything in the upper and lower city. Well kept ,clean, quiet, good sized room, modern in a vintage hotel.
Staff very helpful especially, Veronique. Found parking in front of the door for 3 days free and one night 1/2 block secure parking @ $22. would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 2 downstairs with bath TUB /shower combo.Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When researching places to stay in Quebec City, we felt a little overwhelmed. There are so many cute little places with good reviews, how do you pick just one? But for some reason this little place spoke to us. It's quaint and cozy and well located on a quiet street, across from a park with gorgeous views of Le Chateau Frontenac. It was easy enough to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed in "Romantique" #7 on the second floor. The bed was comfortable and the bathtub was HUGE. We were also happy to see tea and coffee. Our only regret is we didn't pick up a little bottle of something to enjoy in the room as a nightcap - there didn't seem to be anything open nearby after dinner except for the bar at Le Chateau Frontenac - totally not a big deal but something I'd think of for next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Manoir-sur-le-Cap, a boutique hotel, maintained the ambiance of a single family home – its original purpose. It was tastefully furnished and felt like it had historical roots (there was a flagstone wall in the entrance hall which seemed quite old). The location was excellent in that it was situated across the street from Jardins des Gouverneurs (Governor’s Park), and half a block from the entrance to the boardwalk (Terrasse Dufferin) which overlooked Lower Town. On the other side of the small park stood the impressive Le Chateau Frontenac, a landmark which housed an elegant hotel and restaurants (including a Starbuck’s in the basement level).

Parking was available for $15/day – cash only (a practice I chose not to question). It was a worthwhile investment, making the car’s safety and location a non-issue. The staff at the front desk was inviting, personable, and quite helpful for directions and some restaurant recommendations (refer to my restaurant reviews under separate cover). There was high speed Wi-Fi provided with no surcharge.

My room, #15, was on the top floor (as requested) – a 54 step ascent was necessary, although it was not like being in Amsterdam where staircases resemble a ladder and are a significant challenge! The room was cozy, and was designed to accommodate one person comfortably. The bed’s mattress was quite firm, there was a coffee maker en suite, and excellent lighting which was great for reading. It faced the rear, so there was no traffic noise. A private terrace, with a glimpse of the river, (“riv-view” as we say in New York City) was an asset. The bathroom was sparkling, but could have benefitted from a little more water pressure and additional shelving that could fit on either side of the sink. While there were no telephones in the rooms, there was a pay phone in the entrance hallway. (I would recommend contacting your cell phone carrier to see if there are roaming charges that apply whilst in Canada). An excusable shortcoming of the hotel was that there was no public space – no lobby. Given that space was a premium, I can understand why. One other (structural) observation was that the room doors and floors were quite thin, and easily transmitted sound. Hence, if one is sensitive to sound, bring ear plugs – the wax ones (Mack’s) seem to work best for me.

There were alternative rooms which were larger, but I was quite content with my choice. I do not think there were many other guests in the hotel so it was extremely quiet. The proprietors were thoroughly pleasant and helpful and charming!

I would return to this venue without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We found this inn to be very quaint and cozy with its exposed old stone walls and wooden beams. It is located on a quiet block behind the Chateau Frontenac. Although the winding staircase was a little challenging with luggage, it added to the charm of the inn after we were settled in (we stayed on the top floor). There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The staff was very helpful although their English is limited (and so is my French). The inn is kept very clean as guests are asked to remove their boots/shoes in the lobby before going upstairs. (This is a common French-Canadien custom I know). We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the inn after visiting Winter Carnival sites during the day. The room rate was a fair price, although keep in mind the taxes in Canada are significantly more than we are accustomed to in the US. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
697 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

old 4 story place on the same block as the US Embassy, across park from Frontenac. Parking in back. Easy to get to, or at least as easy as anything in a twisty old Euro style city like quebec. Old very tasteful rooms. Do not be misled....this is not a "modern" hotel. No food, few amenities. Hot water, great location, clean as could be, quiet, romantic. two boys loved it. This is the second time my fiancee and I have been there and perhaps her 4th time, and we keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I took my Mom to Quebec for this past Mother's Day weekend, and we stayed here for four days. A stones throw from the Chateau Frontenac, it was perfect. Our room was the first door as you entered, which was perfect for my Mom who is 85. The room was perfect! Comfortable with nice decor. No phone, but there was a payphone right outside the door. My calling card took $1.00 + pennies per minute per call to the USA. There was a coffee maker and a basket of packaged muffins & juice, which would get us to lunch.

The only issue we had was asking the receptionist if the funicular to lower Quebec was free. She said yes. Wrong! $2. So that created a little inconvenience. She must have been new. You who've been to Quebec know it is not an inexpensive city, and everything is taxed fairly high. The room ended up at $200 a night, but that also included parking. I would definitely stay there again, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#55 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Property: Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing