We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vieux Quebec at its best”
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Fabulous location - walk everywhere. Great view of the Chateau Frontenac and the river from the room window. We had room #14 in the attic; 54 steps and a winding staircase... no elevator so be warned! Worth it, though. Quiet area, facing Governors Park. Ample space to move around the room, spotless, good price, helpful staff, what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask when reserving; they have rooms for all tastes!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvieSoleil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Manoir Sur-le-Cap
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 248 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

very helpful staff, clean rooms, location is wonderful, can't be better, given the price. everything within the walking distance, very quite neighborhood away from the crowds. i will certainly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have been staying at Manoir Sur-le-cap when I stay in Quebec City for many years. I have never had a reason to stay elsewhere. It has remained unchanged in its excellence. Tucked in along the St. Lawrence with lovely views of the park and the river, the ambiance is truly old Quebec. The accommodations are always spotless and the rooms are charmingly Quebecois and comfortable. Recently, my partner fell ill and we found Sandra Roy to be extremely helpful in these circumstances. I am sure you can see why I most heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good but the first floor saves climbing stairs if you are unwell.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcorriveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Manoir-sur-le-Cap is located behind the Chateau Frontenac, about a block away. It's about two blocks from the Tourist Information Office for Old Quebec City. The hotel, in spite of its central location in the "upper town" of Old Quebec, is quiet. The queen-size bed was very comfortable. Towels were large and soft. The room that we occupied (#2) appeared to have been recently painted. (We know that our room was larger than some others.) On the down side there is no elevator, but we were on the first floor. The parking was very secure in a locked garage @ $22 per day. Although no breakfast was provided, coffee was available in our room and in the lobby (along with a basket of fresh fruit).

Room Tip: It was a bit confusing because online you are to select your room. Room #2 was great for a couple.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

As travelers who do more adventuring than relaxing, my boyfriend and I tend to not spend much time in our hotel rooms, but we certainly could have stayed in ours for our five-day trip and been perfectly happy. We stayed in #14, an attic room with a vaulted ceiling, exposed wood beams, and walls of exposed old stone with a view of the treetops of the park across the street and the towers of the Chateau Fontenac practically across the way. Just beautiful. Our shower was a stand-up and on the smaller side, but my boyfriend is 6 feet tall and had no problem with it at all. On reservation, we asked about the options and were given many choices in terms of room size, floor level, and shower size, so if you're curious, ask away. They seem to have something for everyone.

From my terrible French, I believe I read on a plaque that the building was built in the 1800s, and this place had all the character one would have expected. We prefer not to stay in hotels with sterile, cookie-cutter vibes, and this didn't disappoint. From what we could tell, every room here is entirely unique in shape, size, and adornments, much like any home would be.

We meet four different people who worked the front desk, and all of them were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was in the 4th floor (the American counting style: ground floor, 2nd, 3rd, 4th) with a bit a climb, but we knew so ahead of time and never had any issues with it. The Wi-Fi worked great the whole time we were there, as there is a separate connection for each floor. The term "B&B" is a little misused here, as there isn't any breakfast available, but there was always a basket of fresh apples on the foyer and each room has its own coffee maker. The rooms don't have telephones, but the front desk can accept calls if need be, make calls for taxis or reservations for you, and there's a pay phone in the foyer as well.

The location is a real winner, within less then five minutes of walking distance from absolutely anything you'd want to see in town, but on a quieter street with none of the street noise of the busier Saint-Louis and Saint-Jean streets. From the front steps, one can see the St. Lawrence river and the grand boardwalk, which were our pathways to just about everywhere during our stay. We were very happy with everything we encountered hotel-wise during our stay. The Manoir is evocative of all the history of this beautiful city and we were very happy that the historic feelings imparted by the old town didn't have to end when we came inside.

Room Tip: The staff can tell you all about each room and help you find one that fits your needs. If a view is...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AskerFondly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Located across a small park from the Hotel Frontenac, this hotel suited our needs perfectly for the time we spent in Quebec City. My wife and I were traveling with my sister, so, we requested a room with two beds. Room #4 had two separate bedrooms, a kitchenette and private bathroom. Everything was clean and the bed(s) were comfortable. The price we paid for this room was very fair compared to the more popular places.
Our main objective was to watch the Grand Prix Cycliste De Québec. Our hotel was within 1Km of the start/finish line, this was PERFECT!
Overall, we found the staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful when we had questions. I will gladly return to this hotel for next years race.

Room Tip: Room #4 was great if traveling with family or friends. The A/C unit was only in the first room, so i...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Todd_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I visited for 2 nights in September with a couple of friends. The hotel sits across a lovely little park area from the Chateau Frontenac, Walking distance to everything in the Old Town. And wonderful views of the water from outside the hotel. The rooms were very clean and bed very comfortable. The front desk personnel was always friendly and had fantastic suggestions on where to eat and sites to see. If ever back in Quebec I would choose this as my home away from home...loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#70 of 102 in Quebec City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $99 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing