We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, Great Place to Stay!!”
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I visited for 2 nights in September with a couple of friends. The hotel sits across a lovely little park area from the Chateau Frontenac, Walking distance to everything in the Old Town. And wonderful views of the water from outside the hotel. The rooms were very clean and bed very comfortable. The front desk personnel was always friendly and had fantastic suggestions on where to eat and sites to see. If ever back in Quebec I would choose this as my home away from home...loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Manoir Sur-le-Cap
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place is located across a park from the historic Hotel Frontenac and a block from the river in the old town. It was peaceful and charming. It seemed a bit expensive at first, but turned out to be fairly reasonable for Quebec. No breakfast included, but that was fine for us. We stayed in two places in Quebec and wished we'd stayed at this one longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlovmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

we stayed at the manoir sur-le-cap back in march for 4 nights and had a wonderful time.
the staff were very helpful. we stayed on the first floor, the first room when you walk in from the front. we had two beds and the room was very nice, on the small side but we expected that. the bathroom was very nice as well. the manoir is in a great location- we walked everywhere. we explored the citadel, took the stairs to lower town and the musee de civilazation, admired the chateau frontenac, all in snowy weather so it was wonderful to come back to the manoir sur le cap at night. overall a fabulous stay, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mss_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is small but room is very nice. I stayed in room William Sharples #8. It's a small room but very nice and clean. No bathtub, just stand shower and a bit small. Two people can stay in this room but if you have big luggages, gonna be very tight. It has a small balcony. I checked in with a couple, very nice people. I arrived early, around 9:30am, they kept my luggage for me and once I return around 1pm, my luggage is in my room. The room is a bit noisy, I found. I hear people turn on water next room. People walk and talk in the hallway, I can hear. Overall, I was happy with the room. I didn't need big space.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

this hotel is a wonderful place that is more than inviting. the views and proximity to all it's charm of the city is incredible....just make sure you don't spend the week with a nut

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We really enjoyed this very cozy hotel. Very friendly staff, very romantic room, perfect to be with someone special. Good location, near the Chateau Frontenac.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engenheirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Quebec city is beautiful and it was great to step outside this lovely hotel and be so close to all the fantastic sights in Old Quebec. My husband and I travelled with my adult son and partner. We tried to get the suite and it was unfortunately unavailable so we took a 2 bedroom family rooms. The layout was a little odd as you entered into one small bedroom then into the next and off the second bedroom was the bathroom and a tiny kitchenette. There was a TV only in the first bedroom. So it was a bit small and personal for 4 adults but we made it work and enjoyed staying here. Having the kitchenette was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#69 of 102 in Quebec City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $99 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing