We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet But close to all attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Dorion, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet But close to all attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This charming boutique hotel is a pleasant blend of old and new. Located in the Old Port area of Quebec City, it is just outside the walled city, and an easy walk to all That Quebec City has to offer. We stayed in a "Superior" room on the second floor of the hotel. The room featured a king bed, a modern bathroom, Wi-Fi connection and a flat screen TV, but featured some old brick on the wall from the original building. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the service good and unobtrusive. The staff are bilingual ( French/English), and most accommodating. The price of the room included breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, which also offered simple and relatively inexpensive meals. I would stay here again if visiting Old Quebec City.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms featuring a king sized bed. Rooms on the west side back onto a quiet stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    137
    47
    14
    3
See reviews for
49
172
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for one night only but wish it was more! We were in a junior suite with a pull out couch. Big room with a huge bathroom. The room included breakfast at the amazing Le Veravin - 90% of their menu is gluten-free which was great given 2 of us have celiac disease. Very pleasant staff. The hotel is just outside the walls of the old city but a very close walk. It is right across from a farmer's market which was nice. Totally recommend staying here. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSApeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Disappointing stay. Luke warm greeting upon arrival. Overall the room was clean but small. Main complaints are no fridge, no mini bar, few tv channels, gloomy hallways with stale smell and no answer at reception after 11:00pm. The complimentary breakfast wasn't available until 8am on the weekend. The breakfast choices were limited and disappointing. We ordered the crepes which came with fruit(very little) but the crepes were cold. We ordered toast and were charged $3.00 for one piece. Overall stay was expensive and lacking in customer service. On a positive note the hotel is ideally situated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I chose this hotel for my recent stay in Quebec city as I was going to see the latest show of the Cirque du Soleil and it is located very close to their grand chapiteau. I had the chance to have a room on the third floor with a view of the Vieux-Port de Québec: even if it was a rainy week end the view was still nice. My room had brick wall so with the view it was very charming. The bed was son comfortable and with all the pillows I could have slept so late if I didn't have to leave so early. I also really liked the modern design of the bathroom and for once, the toiletries given by the hotel actually smelled good! My only regret is that I didn't know breakfeast was included so I already had arrangements to go brunch with friends somewhere else, but next time I will definitely try the breakfeast at le Veràvin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the third floor to have the best experience for your stay at this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the heart of old Quebec, and we loved it. It's an old building, but they've done a great job with the décor and comfort level inside the rooms. Location is great, within walking distance of the main attractions inside the walls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend (3 nights). Pleasantly surprised on our arrival...small hotel,very clean. Our room no. 30 on the 3rd floor was quite spacious with a view of the Market across the street & we also had a view of a side street ..(3 windows in the room & 1 in the bathroom). It has been renovated...quite modern! Large shower equipped with a ''rain shower'' overhead. Roomy bathroom with whirlpool tub.. quite a luxury after a day of visiting & walking up to the central part of Old Quebec City & touring!! It is within walking distance approx. 15 mins. uphill..but we enjoyed the sights as we went along. The front desk gave us a city map. Check-in was easy, desk staff very pleasant! Our King bed was very comfortable, & we had several pillows..Very clean & crisp white linens! You can open the windows for fresh air. Desk & a round table provided with chairs. The large flat screen TV had an excellent picture screen. Our breakfast was included & offered a selection of 5 or 6 choices..quite good! Parking across the street was easy & cost $38.00 for 3 days(incl. taxes). We payed the hotel (for parking) on arrival as previously suggested by others! Left the car & walked everyday to our destinations! Desk staff quite happy to make reservations for us for tours or restaurants etc. Keurig coffee machine & refrigerator in room!!
Esso gas station across the street, next to parking. WiFi also works well!We did not try the restaurant ''Veravin"(connected to hotel) for dinner...only for breakfast...maybe next time! Would definitely recommend this hotel...& if we return to Quebec city we would stay here! Only recommendation would be to add a mirror...maybe a full length one in the room.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room 30...it is the deluxe room...quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzrubylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Hotel Belley
L'Hotel Belley
#66 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing