We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL ST PAUL great location, comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HOTEL ST PAUL great location, comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is an excellent place to stay when visiting Quebec City. It is near bus stops, shops, the Farmers' Market, restaurants, and the hill climbing Funicular. The convenient parking is across the street (Although an added cost). The free breakfast was an excellent plus. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was small but who stays in a room on a vacation. It was perfect for sleeping. Note: The third floor rooms are painted with an emphasis on black and the limited lighting makes the rooms darker than normal. (The desk clerk said they were going to attend to that problem once the rest of the hotel was repainted and refurbished.) The bathroom was most comfortable and the rain shower was a real plus. It was a great place to stay during our visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first or second floor away from the darker third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BURTLEEWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    149
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
185
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Perfect place to stay, close to the station and just a few mn walk to the old Quebec .
lovely room, warm and well appointed .Very welcoming staff at reception.
Lpoved the coffee machine in the room
Great breakfast delivered to my room on the Monday morning (as the restaurant was closed)
but not so good at the restaurant it self the following day- staff annoyed as I came at 9.30am .... this was the only negative

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surlaroute00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I'm not a difficult person, not looking for a palace, but at 113$ + taxes and parking a night I do expect a little more. First lobby was tiny, floor was dirty, the room was tiny, the bed cover had a a hole (they were suppose to change it but no one came), the carpet had a nasty stain, the room was tiny. From the Web site and with the rating I expected a little more, was not impress and will not go back. Location is great, but there is other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two rooms, a junior suite and a regular room. The location was excellent, and the rooms beautifully modern with a minimalist, black and white decor. The bathrooms were excellent with amazing showers. The included breakfast was very good, as was the service. The room cleanliness was faultless, and the housekeeping terrific. We loved everything about it, including the price. Parking cost extra, but could be paid through the hotel and was conveniently located across the street. The only small suggestions I would make would be to improve upon the lighting, especially in the regular rooms. My parents' room was very dark and the lighting inadequate. My mom was unable to read her book at night. I would also suggest adding a mirror to each room. That way if someone is in the bathroom, there would be a mirror in the bedroom for someone applying makeup, styling hair, etc. Minor this really. We would definitely go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a fabulous experience at the hotel, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast, staff was super nice, great location - all around wonderful time! Booked on booking.com and had a great rate :) only additional cost was parking ($11/day - right across from hotel)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We picked this hotel for the good location in Old Quebec for the price of only $129 a night. We walked everywhere even in the cold and the location was great. Parking across the street was an additional $11 per 24 hours. We were in room 36 which I believe was a premium room. It had a exposed brick wall and a view over the market across the street. However the room was VERY dark. Even with the two windows it almost felt like a cave. The hotel also has very modern touches which I loved, but the updated really nice bathroom has chips in the sink and not one holder for towels. There was not where to put any towels to keep them clean. The bed was also very firm which some may like, but we did not. The breakfast was basic but good.

Room Tip: Room 36 is updated with a view and large glass shower, it is just VERY dark. Also there are no towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 36 (top floor) which overlooks Marche du Vieux-Port. We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the Via station and the start location of the winter canoe races. Great value - Price ($129/night) included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast there was standard, nothing fancy. Room was clean, modern and quiet. Nice touches include exposed brick wall, firm mattress and waterfall shower head in a modern bathroom. Electric baseboard heaters meant it was quieter than those noisy blowing units at most hotels. It is a nice walk to get to the old town (mostly uphill) and Plains of Abraham but we took the Promenades des Gouverneurs which gave us great views of the river as we climbed all those stairs. This is our first time travelling to Quebec City during winter carnival and overall we had a great trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodandTea_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Hotel Belley
L'Hotel Belley
#67 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#60 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing