We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, walking distance from old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we spent one night at le Saint Paul and our room was located on the third floor. It has been renovated and it 's a modern look inside a very interesting outdoor.

We arrive a bit early but our room was prepare and we could leave our luggage there, we appreciated this.

Parking is an extra but there plenty around, not too costly

Breakfast was include in fare and it was good with a very friendly service

You have to had an extra 18% of various taxes to quoted price

even if this hotel has no frills , we like this spot and recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint-Paul, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.
As you just said, our rooms were just renovated.
Sometimes when guests arrive before the check-in time, we offer them to leave their luggage just as you did or if the room is ready, we let them check-in even if it isn't check-in time yet.
Concerning the taxes, unfortunately that is out of our control, those are taxes charged by the province and the country.

We hope to see you soon, you are always welcome at Hotel Le Saint-Paul.

Best Regards.

Hualberto Aguirre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 381 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel the August long weekend of 2013. We got there and the service was fast. As we walked to our room we didn't know what to expect since the hotel looked old from the outside. As we left the lobby we see that there was a lemonade stand off to the side. I was a nice since we came on a hot day.
We open the door with a key, not by swiping a card. I liked that a lot, since it gave the hotel a classic feel. Once we get into the room it was big and vibrant and the bed was extremely comfortable. One day when coming back we spoke to the front desk clerk and asked him what good in this city, he was very helpful and knowledgeable. We loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elias E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint-Paul, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello Elias!
First of all, thank you for choosing Hotel Le Saint-Paul for your stay.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Its true that we try to keep a classic look but with some modern amenities. This mix helps us show our customers that they are still in the Old part of Quebec but with some modern and comfortables amenities so they can still enjoy their stay.
In those hot days, we welcome our customers with ice lemonade and some fresh apples, we do understand what it is to be outside with this hot and humid weather.
Concerning our staff, we keep them informed about things happening in the city so they can help our customers to find things to do while they are staying in quebec.
We hope to see you back soon!
Have a great day!

Best regards.

Hualberto Aguirre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value in the old port. Directly across from the market. Convenient located near the train station and a short walk from Old Quebec. I was in town for a very short business trip and it was the perfect spot! The included breakfast was the perfect start to the day! Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Le Saint Paul. I would go back.

Advantages:
It's in a handy location at the base of the old city's fortifications mean a 10-minute walk uphill to the old city. There are also restaurants within one minute's walk and a good bakery on the same block. The hotel provides free internet in rooms, beautiful gleaming white bathrooms with modern fixtures and nice smelling soaps, and a comfortable bed with nice sheets. The room was very clean and modern looking. They provide a Keurig coffeemaker and coffee in the room.

The hotel has a restaurant/bar and a nice breakfast comes included with the stay. I had eggs but there is a choice of pancakes, bacon and other traditional breakfast items.

Downsides to this hotel: No luggage rack provided in the room - possibly because the room is not large and we had a view of an Esso station across from the hotel, which is brightly lit at night and requires closing the curtains.

There was a flat screen TV on a wall to the side of the bed, not in front of the bed. This strange placement meant you couldn't look at the TV for long from the bed. Perhaps this was just in room 17.

There is parking conveniently located across the street but it doesn't come with the price of the hotel, rather it's $14 per day. Since we arrived at night, we used street parking which means you have to start feeding the meter at 9 a.m.

This is a small hotel and doesn't provide a pool or gym. But for a stay of only a night or two, it was a good choice since it's so close to the old town, its restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikouOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I were married in Vermont on July 19. We booked the St Paul via our Michelin Guide for the first two nights of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time that we will never forget. The room was perfect with wonderful linen, modern upscale bath with wonderful soap and shampoo. Internet, large flat screen tv and a view of the hill to the old upper city. The staff was exceptional with Jean Marie receiving us as a true gentleman. Sara Claude served us a wonderful full breakfast that was included in the price of the room. Hot coffee, mushroom omelette's, crepes and fresh fruit made the perfect way to start the day with seating inside or outside in the hotel's wonderful restaurant. We loved it so much we had dinner there as well. They provided an umbrella for the rain and the parking was convenient as well. I can not say enough about how wonderful our time there was for us. And the price was extremely reasonable for an intimate hotel staffed with incredible people. Everyone treated us with true Quebecois hospitality. Thank you Gabriel for giving us such a kind farewell. You guys are great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first time in Old Quebec city, traveling here with my sister and her husband who came a year before. Hotel was older, but very clean, great shower, wonderful king size bed and modern amenities in room including Keuring coffee maker. We liked that is was a bit off the track, and we could easily walk up to the busier part of the tourist area and still come back "home: to our quieter hotel. Breakfast was very good and the staff was always friendly, and gracious. The big farmer's market is across the street, and there are many galleries, antique shops, and restaurants in almost every direction in walking distance; also the harbor for river and sightseeing cruises is within easy walking distance. Would certainly come again!! Merci!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint-Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Nancy.
We are glad to hear that you loved your stay at Le Saint Paul Hotel.
As you said, we try to keep our look as an old Hotel, but with some modern amenities.
Our location is a little strategic so that guest can be near the upper part of the city, but at the same time not that near so that noise wouldn't disturb your their dreams.

Please feel free to contact us if you ever want to come back again, and please don't forget to recommend us.

Best regards

Hualberto Aguirre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great base for exploring QC for the first time...an easy walk to the lower town, with several options for making it up to the upper town. Super comfy beds - pillow-top mattress and nice linens, a spacious bathroom, plenty of closet and drawer space for our things, and the wifi worked perfectly. Liked the decor of the room too, with a brick wall running along one side in both the bedroom and bath. Nice and bright - not dark at all as has been written by other guests - guess the management took note and painted the rooms lighter! Plenty of light for reading in bed too.

Room Tip: Liked our room facing the water, but there was some street noise - didn't bother us, but rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, General Manager at Hotel Le Saint-Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest.

We are really pleased to hear that you loved your stay at "Hotel Le Saint-Paul". If you think we were very good, next time you will see how excellent we have become.
We are always looking forward to improve our amenities and facilities to improve customers experience.

It will be a pleasure for us to receive you on your next trip to Quebec City.

Best Regards

Hualberto Aguirre
General Manager
Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#39 of 100 in Quebec City
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#74 of 100 in Quebec City
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#46 of 100 in Quebec City
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $81 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing