We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hideaway for a good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
burgess hill
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A comfortable hideaway for a good sleep”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel with quality bed and bathroom. Breakfast is a choice from the menu in the adjoining restaurant and was good. Parking is easy in the pay car park opposite the hotel. It is a 5 minute stroll past interesting antique and art shops to the main area of the old lower town.

Room Tip: we had a room at the very top and had the most amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    146
    48
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
181
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Massive space, huge bed, a bit dingy but very comfortable for budget travelling. Location was quite good and takes about 10min to walk to the hustle and bustle of Lower Town. It is located outside the walls but honestly, it doesn't make any difference. There's an Esso gas station across the street, several cafe's along the same street which are much less expensive than inside the walls. Excellent for morning breakfast before heading out. Wi-fi is there but no computers. And if you want to rent bicycles, too, they are only about 5min walk away.

Room Tip: 10min walk to Lower Town, cafes along the street, not very touristy, recommend for budget travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsharkfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Myself and three other friends loved this hotel!!!! The front desk was amazing and helped us in everything that we did! As a group of four 18-19 year old girls we were the youngest ones there. The hotel and restaurant is a lot nicers than the photos show (minus the flat screen TV shown in the photos). The beds and pillows were the best we ever slept on and housekeeping does an amazing job:). The best part was the helpfulness of the staff. They always were more than happy to help us, no matter how often we went to them for directios, things to do etc. etc. The restaurant had simply delicious food and by the fifth day the waitress knew what we wanted to drink, eat and where we wanted to stay! I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Its suitable for buisness, couples, families and friends! Its close to the train station (3 minute walk) yet still very close to Old Quebec City (the hotel is right on the other side of the wall!) Loved the trip, hotel and Quebec! As I said before, pictures does not do it justice!:)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back of the hotel because otherwise your view is a gas station. By the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It's not the Frontenac, but it's way cheaper! It's within walking distance of Vieux, the food at the attached restaurant is really good, and our room was very clean. The hotel's website, which shows a renovated room with a flatscreen TV and a luxuriously appointed bathroom, doesn't really tell you that not all the rooms look like that. Our room had a slightly tired bathroom and a very old TV. It was also very dark in the room despite turning on every single lamp. If Internet access is vital to you, don't choose this hotel. Our connection cut out on us constantly, and if you have a problem after 11 p.m. you have to wait until morning because the front desk is not staffed between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Still, we would stay there again, given the price and location. Don't miss the farmers market across the street. There are lots of great shops and food stalls.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotDogColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

After a cruise in October, my family of four adults decided to stay an extra night in Quebec City to explore. Hotel Le Saint-Paul was a real find! It is a lovely older hotel in excellent condition in Lower Quebec. The location was so close to the cruise pier that we pulled our luggage there. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with ideas for sightseeing, finding a rental car, and getting a taxi for our trip to the airport. We had dinner in the restaurant on site as it became a very rainy evening, and we were tired after exploring all day. The food was excellent!! We would definitely stay again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the cost and location. It was a bit small for our luggage we were taking on cruise but the room was great. Very quaint and loved how the windows opened to let in all the fresh air and sounds of Quebec City. We were on the third floor(there is an elevator) and the bed was comfortable and room quiet. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The breakfast, which was included, offered a nice menu to order from and food and service was excellent. Lunch was good there also. Everyone was very kind and helpful. Although there is a gas station across the street it is actually very convenient for the few items we wanted to purchase. We walked several blocks to a liquor store when we could have just purchased it at the gas station. Taxi from airport to hotel was $32.00 and to the ship was $9.00. It is an easy walk to upper town and so much to see. We would definitely stay here again. The only thing we missed was some type of towel bar or hooks in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the St. Lawrence River. The lights at night change color across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Really lovely, small Hotel in the antiques area of Quebec. Easy walking to upper and lower Quebec and the cruise ship port just opposite. Friendly and efficient staff.

We had room 30, almost loft type studio, All roomsl new and modern with every convenience.

Canada is expensive and this was good value for money. Restaurant adjoining Hotel for convenience but not included.

Loraine and Klaus Flury, Basel Switzerland

Room Tip: Definite recommendation for Quebec City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Hotel Belley
L'Hotel Belley
#68 of 101 in Quebec City
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#62 of 101 in Quebec City
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing